Author Topic: HP ScanJet 3970  (Read 6187 times)

twore

HP ScanJet 3970
« on: August 07, 2004, 02:23:53 AM »
I am a computer tech in a shop in NC. I had a machine that was having some problems with IE script errors and the HP software for a ScanJet 3970. The customer said that he also got a error message saying that his anti virus may be giving him a problem. His anti virus is Avast of course and I have had no complaints about the product untill now. I uninstalled Avast and the errors remained.  

I finally found the fix on Microsofts website and the script errors vanished. The scanner worked great. I then rebooted and checked the scanner again and all was fine. I then loaded Avast and tried the scanner and it couldn't make contact with computer. I uinstalled Avast and the scanner worked fine.
Any thoughts?

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:HP ScanJet 3970
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2004, 02:51:07 AM »
More details please. Like:

Waht where the exact errors?
What was the kb number that had the "fix"?
What os?
What version of Avast?
What vps version?
What was saying that the av software could be the problem?

You say "I then loaded Avast........" but you never said you removed/disabled it. What do you mean?

twore

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2004, 02:48:28 PM »
The OS is Win98se.
The version of Avast is the home version.
The script error was line 292 char 4 error expected file//c: program files\hewlett packard\digitalimaging\bbfg\scan.htm.
I will have to post the kb Monday seeing that that information is at work.
as I stated I uninstalled Avast and the scanner worked fine.
I never saw the message about the antivirus causing the problem, the customer told me about that message. I couldn 't see the correlation so I didn't get any more information.

Thanks for responding so quickly. I have pushed Avast for about four months now with great results.

Offline .: Mac :.