Author Topic: Repairing infected files  (Read 6536 times)

wyatt

Repairing infected files
« on: August 11, 2004, 12:05:38 PM »
I've been using Avast Home for about 6 months and have been pretty happy.  Occassionally it's detected a virus, but every time I click "repair", it's failed.  I then have to remove the infected file to the Chest and delete the file.  This has been OK up till now, but I now have a file that I really want to keep but Avast won't repair it for me.  Am I doing something wrong?  How do I repair a file?

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re:Repairing infected files
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2004, 01:48:43 PM »
I've been using Avast Home for about 6 months and have been pretty happy.  Occassionally it's detected a virus, but every time I click "repair", it's failed.  I then have to remove the infected file to the Chest and delete the file.  This has been OK up till now, but I now have a file that I really want to keep but Avast won't repair it for me.  Am I doing something wrong?  How do I repair a file?

To be repaired, as I know, the file must be at the VRDB (virus recovery database).
A file won't be repaired if its informations were not properly stored there (for instance, if your VRDB update period is so long and the file new or, on contrary, you update VRDB so frequently that the 'infected' informations were stored over the clean ones). VRDB stores (if I'm not wrong) the last three 'versions' of the executable files of your computer.

Attached files or non-executables ones, maybe, won't be repaired at all...
Which file are you talking about?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2004, 04:07:38 PM »
What file is it, what is its location and what virus is detected?

wyatt

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2004, 10:32:05 PM »