Author Topic: How do I keep avast! from constantly scanning?  (Read 16288 times)

cpcarroll

How do I keep avast! from constantly scanning?
« on: November 25, 2010, 05:03:46 AM »
Hello all. I have been using avast for a few months now with no problems at all. Just yesterday I had to do a re-install of Windows 7 Pro 64 bit. Now for some reason it seems like avast is constantly scanning for something. The icon in my task bar is always "spinning." It never did this until this re-install. Would it be one or more of the real time shields? I thought I have them all checked but I'm pretty sure I did before the re-install too but the tray icon never stayed animated all the time like it does now. I can hear my hard drive "working." What I mean is it sounds like it's being scanned for something non-stop. If it's something like the file system shield or network shield, would it be safe to just turn them off and stick with regularly scheduled virus scans? What are your thoughts/suggestions. Thanks.

swarnava

Re: How do I keep avast! from constantly scanning?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2010, 05:26:42 AM »
this is not scanning your computer.it is spinning because of avast scan your network traffic even when you downloading anything or you open any webpage, avast scan the encrypted connection

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2010, 09:18:28 AM »
I had to do a re-install of Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
Then i guess windows i checking for and downloading all updates again!....and avast will then scan all the net traffic

SafeSurf

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2010, 09:21:12 AM »
Since you re-installed your OS, I'm guessing that you also uninstalled Avast and re-installed this as well.  Did you use the Avast Uninstall Utility Tool to uninstall prior to uninstalling your OS?

Have you changed any of the default settings of Avast?  I would not disable any other other shields at this point.  We need to find out what is causing your problem.