Author Topic: Avast Free/ Question about RealTime Shields  (Read 7342 times)

Slider51

Avast Free/ Question about RealTime Shields
« on: December 29, 2010, 02:24:13 AM »
I'm new to Avast but so far really like what I see.  I do have a question about the use of the RealTime Shields.  When I have them "On" I get a long (4-5 minute) period at boot-up where my hard drive just chugs away like I'm doing a major download or the processor is maxing out.  This is a bit unnerving, and slows my computer performance down considerably.  When I deactivate the real-time shields, I don't get this.  Are the real-time shields really that much of a resource drain?  Is this flurry of processor/hard drive activity normal?  I'm really trying to avoid AV bloat, a serious flaw in other AV solutions out there, but I like the idea of real-time protection.  I intend to buy Avast after a reasonable amount of evaluation time, but I don't want to end up with more of the same resource hogging that other companies end up causing with all kinds of real-time stuff going on.  Am I still reasonably protected not using the RealTime Shields?

Thank you very much in advance for any guidance you can offer.

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast Free/ Question about RealTime Shields
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2010, 02:29:40 AM »
Give STARTUPDELAYER a try.

YoKenny

« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2010, 02:41:34 AM »
You could try to delay loading avast! after other system services in SETTINGS then Troubleshooting

How much RAM does the system have?

Slider51

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2010, 10:10:19 PM »
Thanks, Eddy and YoKenny!

I will definitely give the star-up delay a try as soon as I leave here.