Author Topic: what does setting mean?  (Read 2093 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jart

  • Guest
what does setting mean?
« on: September 03, 2004, 07:00:06 AM »
I have looked for this but not recognizing  it.  I would like to know when under the  internet mail>customize>advanced>silent mode, if this is checked what does generAL ANSWER YES MEAN OR GENRAL ANSWER NO IN TERMS OF THE VIRUS NOTICE?  I want deletion to be dfault but once it is in silent  mode no way to tell

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87438
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:what does setting mean?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2004, 02:18:20 PM »
1. When in interactive mode you are asked questions about what to do Yes or No, this is simply asking what your general answer to questions would be.

2. Unless you have the Pro version, the only option in Silent Mode available to Home users is send to Chest, not Repair or Delete.

This is outlined in the avast Help file.

HTH David
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.1.6049 (build 23.1.7883.774) UI 1.0.746/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67212
Re:what does setting mean?
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2004, 02:37:21 PM »
Automatic deletion is only possible into Professional version.
In Home version, the Silent Mode has two options (general answers):

'No' means that all avast! questions that would be displayed on the screen under common circumstances, will be replied 'No' or Cancel, i.e., the infected file will be sent to Chest.

'Yes' means that all avast! questions that would be displayed on the screen under common circumstances, will be replied 'Yes' or Ok, i.e., pressing the OK button will be simulated and the scanning will continue (leaving the virus untouched!).
The best things in life are free.