Author Topic: CCC.exe bug still there  (Read 24582 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hard_ROCKER

  • Guest
CCC.exe bug still there
« on: February 27, 2011, 09:25:08 AM »
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=71008.0

This bug still has not been fixed, at least not for me. CCC.exe still being blocked at startup and needs to be started manually, uninstalling the Behavior Shield get's rid of the problem but obviously i don't want to be running without the Behavior Shield.

EDIT: Running Win 7 x64 SP1 and avast! IS 6.0.100 over here. Catalyst 11.2 whql installed but the problem was there with 11.1 aswell.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2011, 09:27:07 AM by Darth.Mikey »

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1556
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2011, 09:28:10 AM »
You could add CCC.exe to the Trusted Programs inside of the behavior shield settings.
OS: Windows 11 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox
PC Specs: Intel i5-12400f, Nvidia RTX 3050, 16gb ram, 1.5TB SSD(s).

Hard_ROCKER

  • Guest
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2011, 09:40:14 AM »
Disabling the Behavior Shield doesn't work, putting the program on the exclusion list doesn't work. The only thing that works is uninstalling the Behavior Shield.

ace11

  • Guest
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2011, 09:45:38 AM »
Same bug here .

AIS 6.0.1000
Win7 SP1 X64.

Catalyst 11.2

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1556
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2011, 09:51:30 AM »
I have Catalyst installed on my computer but I'm thinking its a old version. I haven't had any bug with it yet (Knocks on wood)
OS: Windows 11 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox
PC Specs: Intel i5-12400f, Nvidia RTX 3050, 16gb ram, 1.5TB SSD(s).

Hard_ROCKER

  • Guest
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2011, 10:34:14 AM »
And i've been having compatibility probs with the Behavior Shield and Catalyst ever since the Catalyst team introduced the new Catalyst Control Center(CCC 2). These 2 just don't play well together, at least not on my rig.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lOuVvRLvkd8

EDIT: Just for info, the first driver with the new CCC2 was the 10.12 CCC 2 Preview driver(the regular release still had the old CCC) but with 11.1 and onwards the new CCC2 is now standard with the drivers.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2011, 10:37:16 AM by Darth.Mikey »

Hard_ROCKER

  • Guest
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2011, 11:14:52 AM »
Some further testing, both CCC.exe and MOM.exe are not being started, the ATI services start up normally it's just these 2 CCC processes that don't start. My profile settings still get loaded just fine though(i have a customized profiles.xml file).

Hawk

  • Guest
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2011, 01:31:33 PM »
same here...i guess the behavior shield blocks them before the user interface is initialized and no alert to add to trusted is given:)

anyways add "clistart.exe" to trusted in behavior shield. it works for me  ;)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48701
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2011, 01:43:56 PM »
If you're using AIS, you should also add CCC.exe as a trusted program to your firewall.
Just something I read because it's apparently causing problems with other firewalls etc.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Hard_ROCKER

  • Guest
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2011, 01:49:04 PM »
@Hawk: No dice, still not working.

@Bob: I don't see how my firewall blocking the CCC from connecting to the internet could be causing this but yes i do allow it to connect in my FW(avast FW btw). This is a Behavior Shield issue...

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48701
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2011, 01:58:23 PM »
@Bob: I don't see how my firewall blocking the CCC from connecting to the internet could be causing this but yes i do allow it to connect in my FW(avast FW btw). This is a Behavior Shield issue...
Only because I know it's causing problems with other firewalls....
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Hard_ROCKER

  • Guest
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2011, 02:15:57 PM »
I think you are talking about HIPS here and not the firewall, cause that would block the whole process from starting and the firewall part would just block internet access. CCC does not need internet access to work so even if it were blocked it would still run just fine. The only reason CCC needs to connect to the net is to download some silly banners(commercials for games) that are then displayed on the welcome page.

Offline hectic-mmv

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 240
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2011, 02:49:28 PM »
Darth.Mikey,

We dont have a computer with ati card here yet, its already ordered. Please, can I ask you for a help with this issue? You wrote, you are using avast! 6.0.1000.

1. When ccc.exe starts, is there displayed any error code or it immediately closes?
1.1 if process hangs, would it be possible to create minidump

2. If you go to behavioral shield expert settings and uncheck - monitor system for unauthorized modifications, does the problem persists?
2.1 if uncheck monitor system for unauth... helps, please download asbstool.exe from  http://av-testing.xf.cz/tools/asBsTool.exe, disable selfdefence modul, start asbstool and separately uncheck hooks. Disabling which one causes problems?

If possible create the minidump of ccc.exe and send it to ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming/

thanks a lot

Hard_ROCKER

  • Guest
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2011, 08:36:08 PM »
Darth.Mikey,

We dont have a computer with ati card here yet, its already ordered. Please, can I ask you for a help with this issue? You wrote, you are using avast! 6.0.1000.

1. When ccc.exe starts, is there displayed any error code or it immediately closes?
1.1 if process hangs, would it be possible to create minidump

2. If you go to behavioral shield expert settings and uncheck - monitor system for unauthorized modifications, does the problem persists?
2.1 if uncheck monitor system for unauth... helps, please download asbstool.exe from  http://av-testing.xf.cz/tools/asBsTool.exe, disable selfdefence modul, start asbstool and separately uncheck hooks. Disabling which one causes problems?

If possible create the minidump of ccc.exe and send it to ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming/

thanks a lot

1. No error code and no it doesn't immediately close. The prob here is that the process doesn't get started at all on system boot. I repeat again, IF i start the Control Center application manually(via right click on desktop and selecting Catalyst Control Center) then both CCC.exe and MOM.exe start normally(no errors, it just works) and everything is well. But both of these processes should be started at system boot and they are not.

1.1 Again the process doesn't hang or at least i cannot see that in Task Manager, it simply isn't listed there(neither CCC.exe or MOM.exe).

2. Yes this does the trick, i disabled the monitor system for unauthorized modifications setting and after restart the problem goes away.

2.1 Not sure what you want me to do here. This is what i see when i start this tool. There are two settings and both are ticked, unticking them doesn't do anything, after i restart they are ticked again. Sorry need a bit more clear instructions on this one.


rbeane

  • Guest
Re: CCC.exe bug still there
« Reply #14 on: March 01, 2011, 03:04:35 AM »
I have the same problem.  I didn't notice until today so I don't know if it was happening before 6.0.1000.  MOM.exe and CCC.exe are not running.  Should be started by CLIStart in the run section of the registry.  Starts up fine if I run clistart manually.