Author Topic: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox  (Read 24790 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« on: March 26, 2011, 04:48:22 PM »
I can start the networking (on a VirtualBox with 512 RAM and 500Mb HDD).
But I can't follow the ping (got an error) neither update (see pictures bellow).
I use NAT networking into VirtualBox.
Should I change any other setting to get avast Rescue CD updated?
The best things in life are free.

Offline wpn

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1450
  • If it ain't broke, fix it! ;)
    • Bevolkingsonderzoek Zuid-West
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2011, 06:26:42 PM »
can you try the bridged option instead of NAT?
if you have a proxy, try using proxy settings

can you get to any other network resource in any way? (ping to a local computer, visit a website)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2011, 11:39:46 PM »
can you get to any other network resource in any way? (ping to a local computer, visit a website)
ping avast.com did not work.
How can I start a browser with avast rescue cd?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2011, 12:02:07 AM »
Tested all modes:
1. NAT
2. Bridged
3. Internal network
4. Host-only
The best things in life are free.

Offline wpn

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1450
  • If it ain't broke, fix it! ;)
    • Bevolkingsonderzoek Zuid-West
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2011, 12:24:30 AM »
actually i meant a LOCAL resource :)  avast website is not local
ping one of your computers on your network...

i do think tho that the bootcd doesnt have drivers for the networkcard from virtual box, can you choose other types of cards in virtualbox?  i dont think its a generic network card for virtualbox


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2011, 02:03:57 AM »
Network?
I'm using Virtualbox... Just to test the avast rescue cd.
I've tried in my computer, but it does not work (update) with wi-fi connections.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2011, 11:23:35 PM »
Any further help with this?
I mean, does it work on virtualbox? How?
The best things in life are free.

Offline wpn

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1450
  • If it ain't broke, fix it! ;)
    • Bevolkingsonderzoek Zuid-West
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2011, 10:08:18 AM »
even 2 computers at home connecting to internet are a network :)
possibly you can hook up another computer (if you have only one) to test


actually...
what is the ip configuration from the virtual HOST computer and what is the ip configuration of the virtual CLIENT computer, when you have the network on virtualbox in BRIDGED mode?


unfortunately i still have no possibility to test a rescuecd so i cant test for you in a virtual environment


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2011, 04:18:27 PM »
what is the ip configuration from the virtual HOST computer and what is the ip configuration of the virtual CLIENT computer, when you have the network on virtualbox in BRIDGED mode?
Both IP configurations are on automatic.
The network type is the default of Virtualbox, NAT one.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2011, 08:05:22 PM »
wpn, if you ever had the chance to test the update within Virtualbox, well, I appreciate if you share your settings with me.
The best things in life are free.

Offline naviathan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2011, 06:48:18 PM »
I just booted the Rescue CD in Oracle Virtualbox and started networking no problem.  It reads my network card as an Intel 100, which is a pretty generic network card.

Offline wpn

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1450
  • If it ain't broke, fix it! ;)
    • Bevolkingsonderzoek Zuid-West
Re: avast Rescue CD update into Virtulbox
« Reply #11 on: June 17, 2011, 11:41:15 PM »
yeah the network card setting was incorrect.

me and tech solved his problem actually by private messages around the time of the last post.... would have been nice of us if we had posted this :)

so with this posting its posted :)  thnx for the reminder and an answer pointing in the right direction