Author Topic: Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS  (Read 8004 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ladybug

  • Guest
Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« on: October 13, 2004, 06:30:12 AM »
Hi,
Downloaded & installed Avast 4 Home today.  After every bootup I get the same message - "You have upgraded your operating system.  Current installation of avast cannot run on this operating system.  The avast antivirus system needs to be reinstalled."  
I have not changed or upgraded my OS.  I click "ok" on the message window & it disappears.  Without doing anything else, it seems that I am able to  continue to use all the programs, including scanning with avast with no visable problems.  My OS is winXP Home Edition 5.1 service pack 2, Pentium II, MMX, ~440MHz, 128 MB RAM, Directx 9.0c, win firewall - off, Outlook Express, IE 6.0 xpsp-sp2.

What do I need to do to correct problem?  New user so hope I will be able to follow all instructions.  Thanks

Offline radicalb21

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 438
  • Be Safe. Be Smart. Use Common Sense.
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2004, 10:11:56 AM »
Hey Ladybug,
First let me say welcome to the forum. What I would try first is download a new copy of Avast! 4 Home Edition:

http://files.avast.com/iavs4pro/setupeng.exe

ALSO download the following the uninstall tool AvClear4:

http://files.avast.com/files/eng/avclear4.exe

Then I would save it to my desktop or my documents so it is easy to find.

Then I would uninstall the current version you have on your system by going to the control panel then clicking on ADD/REMOVE Programs. Then wait for Windows to populate the list of programs you have installed then select Avast antivirus and then click remove. Then restart your system.

Once you get back to the desktop then run the avclear4.exe to remove any remaing remnaints of avast antivirus. Then restart your system.

Once you are back on the desktop. Try and reinstall the program. I hope this helps.
iMac 21.5 " Mid 2011 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5
4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB

ladybug

  • Guest
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2004, 12:10:27 AM »
Thank you radicalb21,
Completed your instructions & corrected message on OS system.  
Got new message "AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error.
Read previous forums - RPC is on "automatic".
What's next?
Thanks again for your time.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2004, 12:30:08 AM »
Quote
I have not changed or upgraded my OS.

Yes you have... you upgraded your OS to SP2... Service Pack 2.

avast! should be reinstalled after upgrading to SP2.

Cheers !
« Last Edit: October 16, 2004, 12:31:14 AM by S.Z.C »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88128
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2004, 01:01:08 AM »
Quote
I have not changed or upgraded my OS.

Yes you have... you upgraded your OS to SP2... Service Pack 2.

avast! should be reinstalled after upgrading to SP2.

Sasha, ladybug already had SP2 installed prior to installing avast!

Quote
Downloaded & installed Avast 4 Home today.
In the same post she stated "My OS is winXP Home Edition 5.1 service pack 2"
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.9.6082 (build 23.9.8494.792) UI 1.0.781/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2004, 01:09:14 AM »
Quote
I have not changed or upgraded my OS.

Yes you have... you upgraded your OS to SP2... Service Pack 2.

avast! should be reinstalled after upgrading to SP2.

Sasha, ladybug already had SP2 installed prior to installing avast!

Quote
Downloaded & installed Avast 4 Home today.
In the same post she stated "My OS is winXP Home Edition 5.1 service pack 2"

OK, she just sent me PM. But this...
Quote
Downloaded & installed Avast 4 Home today.

doesn't tells much. It could be downloaded and installed today at 8:00 AM, and after that, at 10:00 AM SP2 was downloaded and installed...  ;)
« Last Edit: October 16, 2004, 01:10:14 AM by S.Z.C »

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2004, 02:49:57 AM »
avast! should be reinstalled after upgrading to SP2.

Cheers !

Ok, I must have a totally weird system -- avast has continued to work just fine for me after upgrading to SP2, without having to do the uninstall-reinstall thing.   ???
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2004, 02:54:18 AM »
Yeah Mike, same here. Both systems were upgraded with SP2 and avast was already installed. I never uninstalled them and reinstalled again. Everything works just great... but the reason I mentioned that, is because I saw some threads where people advised those who experienced some problems with avast! after upgrading to SP2. I thought, maybe it's the same case in here...

Cheers !

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67200
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2004, 04:45:19 AM »
Got new message "AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error.
Read previous forums - RPC is on "automatic".
What's next?

Without RPC you won't have even Windows... It must be automatic  ;D
Generally, RPC errors are corrected by the 'repair' function on the Control Panel > Add/Remove programs or, at least, by uninstall/boot/install/boot  ;)
The best things in life are free.

ladybug

  • Guest
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2004, 09:25:37 AM »
Great!....did the uninstall/boot/install/boot.  Everything just came on automatically, sooo easy.  I think now I'll even try to download avast on my note book which also has WinXP sp2.  IT DOES WORK!!
Thank you everybody.  This is a great forum.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31089
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2004, 10:04:37 AM »
Always nice to hear a problem is solved. And by telling us that, others who read this thread will know that this solution is working.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2004, 02:55:31 PM »
Great!....did the uninstall/boot/install/boot.  Everything just came on automatically, sooo easy.  I think now I'll even try to download avast on my note book which also has WinXP sp2.  IT DOES WORK!!
Thank you everybody.  This is a great forum.

Ladybug - remember my PM ? Was it true everything I said ? I told you, there is no problem that can't be solved. Stick around and if you have problems in the future, you know where to ask.  ;) This is greatest bunch of people, avast! users, forum members, Alwil team members, but in the same time - bunch of great friends !  :)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11657
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2004, 03:21:50 PM »
Avast doesn't have to be reinstalled after applying a service pack.

The message ladybug was seeing only appears when taking the following upgrade paths:

1. Windows NT/2000 --> Windows XP
2. Windows 9x / ME-> Windows NT/2000/XP

If you really haven't upgraded your OS as above, then maybe the avast setup program was originally run in 'compatibility mode' (a feature of WinXP that allows you to pretend you're running a different OS).


Cheers
Vlk
« Last Edit: October 16, 2004, 03:22:17 PM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

ladybug

  • Guest
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2004, 09:55:27 PM »
Avast doesn't have to be reinstalled after applying a service pack.

The message ladybug was seeing only appears when taking the following upgrade paths:

1. Windows NT/2000 --> Windows XP
2. Windows 9x / ME-> Windows NT/2000/XP

If you really haven't upgraded your OS as above, then maybe the avast setup program was originally run in 'compatibility mode' (a feature of WinXP that allows you to pretend you're running a different OS).


Cheers
Vlk

ladybug

  • Guest
Re:Current installation of avast cannot run on this OS
« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2004, 12:09:25 AM »
Vlk,

I Was using WinXP sp2 for several weeks before I downloaded avast two days ago.  I did change the 'Compatibility' mode on the original avast setup, ran setup again, rebooted and the error message on the upgrade was gone.  Than I received the RPC error.  

The RPC error was corrected after I uninstalled/booted/reinstalled/booted the avast 4 program.  (I also ran avclear 4 when I uninstalled, and avast External Control Center to clear any Norton Antivirus files left after an uninstall, which I think helped) The program is now running great.

I wanted to explain how I applied everybody's help and used it which corrected my problems.

When I get stuck & need help again,  I'll simply dial .....avast.com.

See Ya
Ladybug