Author Topic: arguement path for ashquick.exe  (Read 12547 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ProK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
arguement path for ashquick.exe
« on: November 02, 2004, 10:32:26 PM »
hello

i've got a few programs that can run an antivirus program after a file download.

i'm sure the program I should be using is ashquick.exe, but what is the correct arguement for it?

i've tried  " ~programfiles~/ashquick.exe  /S /clean  "  but it doesn't work.


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2004, 10:33:28 PM »
Generally, no argument is needed for download managers...
Wellcome to avast! forums  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline ProK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2004, 10:57:58 PM »
hello

and thanks for the welcome.


what i'm trying to do is this.

instead of having to right click and scan every file i download, i have a new download program that will let me use a automated scan of files that have been downloaded, now i have these two fields:

1:  Anti-Virus location:

2: Arquements:

so this is what I have filled

1:  Anti-Virus location:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashQuick.exe

2: Arquements:
 /S /clean

Ashquick does run after a download but doesn't scan the file, thus I have to right click the file and select "scan with avast" function, then avast will run and scan the file.

I'm sure it's something in the arguements but i can't figure this out.

thanks for the input!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2004, 11:03:12 PM »
Which download manager do you use?
The most of them does not use any argument.
If you want to try, I suggest:
%d or %f  ;)
« Last Edit: November 02, 2004, 11:04:48 PM by Technical »
The best things in life are free.

Offline ProK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2004, 12:26:31 AM »
i recieved an error with those arguements

Offline ProK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2004, 12:27:52 AM »
here is the program.

this is an add on program for Mozilla Firefox.  Same configuration is available for DAP/Getright

Offline ProK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2004, 12:28:48 AM »
thanks for your help  :)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84792
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2004, 01:12:26 AM »
Try it without any arguement, or check getright and see what arguement it requires.

Technical gave you an either or option, you put both arguements in your example pic.

I use star downloader with firefox, it's excellent and it doesn't require any arguement/parameter
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2004, 01:12:52 AM »
Yeah, I noticed that into FlashGet too...
It seems that the file is 'temporary' and when the command is sent to the scanner it does not exist anymore... It's strange (bug?)  ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline ProK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2004, 01:16:14 AM »
I have tried one or the other and then finally both.

If i try it without the arguements, ashquick will run but would scan 0 files.


Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84792
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2004, 01:31:19 AM »
You could also try %1 if that doesn't work you are going to have to go to the help file for the downloader or homesite of the extension/program and check it out.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2004, 01:41:24 AM »
You could also try %1 if that doesn't work you are going to have to go to the help file for the downloader or homesite of the extension/program and check it out.

I think problem is on ashQuick.exe. I mean, the program is the one which requires the argument and not the download manager  ::)  ???
The best things in life are free.

Offline ProK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2004, 06:46:22 AM »
Yes. It's the same thing for any downloader program.  It will require arguements.

I'm sure ashquick.exe is the program to call to, but not sure how to make it recognize the file being downloaded.

Tech is right, seems that when we download a file it comes into Windows temp/cache > and then moves to the destination.

Now, are there arguements that puts pauses or delay ashquick.exe ?

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11791
    • AVAST Software
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2004, 10:05:02 AM »
ashQuick doesn't have any "switch-type" arguments. Its only arguments are the areas (e.g. filename(s)) that should be scanned.
However, making an application to pass the filename to ashQuick.exe - that's another question. Some programs may do it automatically (i.e. there's no need to use any "markers"), some programs may mark the filename as "%d", other programs by something completely different... it's necessary to check the help for the particular application.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:arguement path for ashquick.exe
« Reply #14 on: November 03, 2004, 11:54:50 AM »
ashQuick doesn't have any "switch-type" arguments. Its only arguments are the areas (e.g. filename(s)) that should be scanned.
However, making an application to pass the filename to ashQuick.exe - that's another question. Some programs may do it automatically (i.e. there's no need to use any "markers"), some programs may mark the filename as "%d", other programs by something completely different... it's necessary to check the help for the particular application.

Igor, I used with success ashQuick.exe with both WinZip and FlashGet.
Now, FlashGet gives me the 'file not found' error. I always used without any parameter and posted here a lot of times. There is something different (or new) in ashQuick.exe. The FlashGet version is installed a long time ago...  :-\
The best things in life are free.