Author Topic: "Avast Free 6" can not open "Firefox 6" and "Internet Explorer 9"  (Read 3184 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Politic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
I have installed avast! Free Antivirus 6 (6.0.1203) on my PC and on occasions not let me open Firefox Internet Explorer 6 and 9. To fix momemtaneamente disables and enables the shields of Avast. But the problem occurs again early in my PC. I use "PC Tools Firewall Plus ™ 7
Free", and my OS is Windows 7 professional 32-bit.

Please could help me solve the problem. Thank you very much.
We apologize for errors is my first post. My language is Spanish.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84764
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "Avast Free 6" can not open "Firefox 6" and "Internet Explorer 9"
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 11:14:09 PM »
Well commonly this is something blocking avast's Web Shield, but what I can't get around is the "on occasions not let me open Firefox Internet Explorer 6 and 9." It shouldn't be intermittent problem, it should either work all of the time or none of the time if the Firewall were blocking the Web Shield.
Does the PC Tools Firewall allow avastSvc.exe internet access ?
- If it does delete the entry for it and reconnect to the internet, this should force the firewall to ask permission again.

Also "But the problem occurs again early in my PC." do you mean this happens early after starting your PC ?

If so I wonder if the PC Tools Firewall isn't running at that point and blocks all connections until it is established ?
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3150
Re: "Avast Free 6" can not open "Firefox 6" and "Internet Explorer 9"
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 11:25:24 PM »
I can tell you that there is a known problem with the PcTools Firewall on 64 bit Windows 7 if you are also using Avast. It was confirmed to me by a PC Tools moderator that there are conflicts with their firewall and the Web Shield of Avast on 64 bit systems. It may be the same for all versions of Windows 7. There are currently two ways to resolve the problem. One is to disable Avast's web shield and I would not recommend that at all. The second option is to move to a different firewall product. I was having a problem with rules never being created for some apps so I have taken that second option.

 The problem is in PC Tools and not in Avast. I had no major issues on XP. There was just a 30 second delay on first access of some apps using that OS. PC Tools is very buggy at this time.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 11:31:19 PM by Dch48 »
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84764
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: "Avast Free 6" can not open "Firefox 6" and "Internet Explorer 9"
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2011, 11:37:32 PM »
The OP is using win7 32bit.

Quote from: Politic
and my OS is Windows 7 professional 32-bit.

Though as you say may extend to all win7 OSes, I'm not a great fan of PC Tools firewall.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline iroc9555

  • CCS, Vzla.
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7462
  • No soporte por PM.
Re: "Avast Free 6" can not open "Firefox 6" and "Internet Explorer 9"
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2011, 01:41:26 AM »
Politic welcome to Avast Forum.

I would disable PC Tools for a while, let Windows firewall take over, and see what happens. Dch48 might be right.

Suerte.

BTW the Spanish forum is here:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=25.0

You will not have too many members with high degree of experience but at least is in Spanish and it is a start.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 01:48:55 AM by iroc9555 »
Hernan.
Dim 9200. C2D E6600; 2.40GHz. 4GB DDR2RAM. XP Pro_86. Spk3. IE8 & FF41. Avast FREE 2015. CIS 5.12(FW/D+). MBAM Premium. MCShield. WinPatrol +. SpywareBlasterOpenDNS. uBlock. WOT. Sandboxie