Author Topic: Installation problem  (Read 2059 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zroboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Installation problem
« on: August 27, 2011, 07:46:03 PM »
Yesterday I installed AVAST on a slow running netbook. Somewhere I read that the AVG I was running used more RAM. I had LOTS of problems including what I think is called a crash in windows. I was downloading from cnet. All kinds of errors and talk of corruption! I did not find it advised anywhere but decided to try uninstalling AVG.  Then I was able to install AVAST. I assume that was the problem?

Now I want to put AVAST on my desktop because the free McAfee that came with my Dell is expiring. Should I uninstall it first? Seems a little scary to be without protection even for that little while.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36553
  • Weihrauch Airguns
Re: Installation problem
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 07:51:27 PM »
Quote
I assume that was the problem?
ooo..yes only install one AV or you will have lots of problems


Never install two antivirus (see reply from quietman7)
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/index.php?s=7c8217673a726b92cfc91ecfd4294a29&showtopic=260844&view=findpost&p=1441638


and use a removal tool to clear all leftovers after the uninstall

Uninstallers for Security Software - run and reboot
http://thewebatom.net/uninstallers/security-software/


« Last Edit: August 27, 2011, 07:53:46 PM by Pondus »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82724
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Installation problem
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 08:02:21 PM »
Download the avast installation file to your hard disk (save, not install) first. Only then uninstall McAfee, you don't want to be unprotected whilst going on-line and reboot before installing avast.

McAfee can at times leave remnants, should you need it here is the location for its removal tool:
- McAfee has an uninstall tool that you could run to ensure any possible remnants are removed. Check out this page for removal tool and instructions, http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS100507
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.561) UI-1.0.502/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline zroboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Installation problem
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2011, 04:37:16 AM »
I also use "Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware" and "spybot seach and destroy". Should this create a problem having them installed along with the AVAST?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82724
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Installation problem
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2011, 01:53:11 PM »
I have both MBAM and SuperAntiSpyware installed and I don't have any problems (but only one can be resident), However, Spybot S&D has been a problem at times with its resident protection blocking new start-up entries, but I don't think it would present itself in the way you describe.

Personally with avast (which incorporates anti-spyware detection) and MBAM there is a question if you even need S&D, plus S&D used to be really good years ago, it isn't in the top flight right now. So at the very least disable its resident protection or uninstall it.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.561) UI-1.0.502/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro