Author Topic: Installation problem  (Read 2271 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zroboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Installation problem
« on: August 27, 2011, 07:46:03 PM »
Yesterday I installed AVAST on a slow running netbook. Somewhere I read that the AVG I was running used more RAM. I had LOTS of problems including what I think is called a crash in windows. I was downloading from cnet. All kinds of errors and talk of corruption! I did not find it advised anywhere but decided to try uninstalling AVG.  Then I was able to install AVAST. I assume that was the problem?

Now I want to put AVAST on my desktop because the free McAfee that came with my Dell is expiring. Should I uninstall it first? Seems a little scary to be without protection even for that little while.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37130
Re: Installation problem
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 07:51:27 PM »
Quote
I assume that was the problem?
ooo..yes only install one AV or you will have lots of problems


Never install two antivirus (see reply from quietman7)
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/index.php?s=7c8217673a726b92cfc91ecfd4294a29&showtopic=260844&view=findpost&p=1441638


and use a removal tool to clear all leftovers after the uninstall

Uninstallers for Security Software - run and reboot
http://thewebatom.net/uninstallers/security-software/


« Last Edit: August 27, 2011, 07:53:46 PM by Pondus »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85959
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Installation problem
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 08:02:21 PM »
Download the avast installation file to your hard disk (save, not install) first. Only then uninstall McAfee, you don't want to be unprotected whilst going on-line and reboot before installing avast.

McAfee can at times leave remnants, should you need it here is the location for its removal tool:
- McAfee has an uninstall tool that you could run to ensure any possible remnants are removed. Check out this page for removal tool and instructions, http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS100507
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline zroboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Installation problem
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2011, 04:37:16 AM »
I also use "Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware" and "spybot seach and destroy". Should this create a problem having them installed along with the AVAST?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85959
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Installation problem
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2011, 01:53:11 PM »
I have both MBAM and SuperAntiSpyware installed and I don't have any problems (but only one can be resident), However, Spybot S&D has been a problem at times with its resident protection blocking new start-up entries, but I don't think it would present itself in the way you describe.

Personally with avast (which incorporates anti-spyware detection) and MBAM there is a question if you even need S&D, plus S&D used to be really good years ago, it isn't in the top flight right now. So at the very least disable its resident protection or uninstall it.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security