Author Topic: 4.5 beta install  (Read 8984 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mal76

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • I'm a llama!
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2004, 12:26:57 PM »
Hello again Igor,
                         sorry if I have confused you. It is me at fault.
When I look at about avast from ball in system tray. I see that it says.
build nov2004 (4.5.512) avast version4.5 home edition. so it seems I have this but not installed. Not sure about this. How do I tell if I actually have 4.5 working?
It is when I  choose update in menu  I freeze up my comp. and system tray icons go missing.
Is it best if you send me the installer link or uninstall and get back to 4.1.
How do you send the link?
Thanks again   Mal


I notice that nearly everyone else do things different to me

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11786
    • AVAST Software
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #16 on: November 10, 2004, 12:32:02 PM »
OK, so you actually are running avast! 4.5 beta (the latest build)... can you e.g. start the Simple User Interface?

You get the freeze only when you invoke program update? Does it freeze right then, or after a restart? (it's very strange anyway, since there's no newer version available, as far as I know)

Offline Mal76

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • I'm a llama!
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #17 on: November 10, 2004, 12:47:02 PM »
yes I can start the interface, but it appears to be the same as before with 4.1.
I thought I was back to 4.1 having used system restore.
The computer is running normally but no indication I am on 4.5 other than when I look at about avast to see version.
After restart icons were missing and when I attempted to do anything the comp froze.
   Hope this helps after my confusing you.
                          Mal
I notice that nearly everyone else do things different to me

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11786
    • AVAST Software
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #18 on: November 10, 2004, 12:55:41 PM »
Well, if the About box says it's 4.5, it probably is. If you want to do some additional checking, you can go to the program settings and on the page "Common", look for the checkbox "Enable Skins for Simple User Interface". If it's there, it's avast! 4.5 - avast! 4.1 didn't have this option.
Or, just rightclick on the avast! tray icon; is the 4th item "Program settings"? If yes, it's definitely the latest build of avast! 4.5.

So, now you can work and restart the computer normally unless you try to update the program... right? If you invoked the program update from the avast! menu... what happened? It said that the program has been updated, asked you for restart and when you restarted, the computer was frozen? Did you try to restart (manually) at that moment?

Also, please check avast! logs (Log Viewer). Are there any errors there? (e.g. in "Error", "Critical" or higher cathegories)?

Offline Mal76

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • I'm a llama!
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #19 on: November 10, 2004, 01:18:27 PM »
hello Igor,
   Yes to enable skins for simple user interface.
Yes to 4th item Program settings.
Yes to work and restarting computer normally
Restarted after being asked not Manually but had to do that when comp froze through safe mode.
In avast logs.  Appliication 1304 error inASW chestc open list error 1753.
AlsoASW chest interface progam error description CChestLi

                     Mal
I notice that nearly everyone else do things different to me

Offline Chuck58

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #20 on: November 10, 2004, 04:39:18 PM »
I have a friend who is having a similar problem moving from 4.1.501 up to the Beta 4.5. I got him to move from AVG to AVAST. He downloaded the version 4.1 two days ago. When I mentioned the new Beta 4.5 and how good it was, he decided to try it.

The wife and I visited them last night and he and I got the .dll changed in 4.1 and tried to update to 4.5. We got an antivirus update but the program itself wouldn't update. We tried several times until our wives called us for dinner. He said that if the new version was coming out at the end of the week, he would just wait.
Home, vehicle, and person protected by Smith and Wesson.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11786
    • AVAST Software
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #21 on: November 10, 2004, 05:17:39 PM »
Those Chest errors don't seem to be relevant...
Well, I don't know... seems like you are running the latest build right now without problems... but what could have caused the freeze? Didn't you install anything else?

Offline Mal76

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • I'm a llama!
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #22 on: November 10, 2004, 05:22:22 PM »
Igor,
      Many thanks for your help and patience with me today.
I do indeed have 4.5 Beta running and seems to be all ok now.
I did have to set pop3 into outlook express to get that working.
I was also able to set skinless simple interface.
The only thing I feel I should keep an eye on is that yestrday when I tried avast repair it reported error. This may have been because other things were not running correctly, so I will see how it goes.
I do not see network shield, Should I?
I was expecting to see something different when I first installed 4.5 so probably messed it up trying to upgrade further.
Hope I am right on that.
    Best Wishes to you and all,
                                              Mal
I notice that nearly everyone else do things different to me

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67259
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #23 on: November 10, 2004, 08:13:16 PM »
I do not see network shield, Should I?

Yes you should.
Can you go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Change
Then choose Change function in the popup window and check Network Shield.
I'm not sure, anyway, this is not only for Windows XP  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline Mal76

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • I'm a llama!
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #24 on: November 10, 2004, 09:40:14 PM »
hi Technical,
                  I don't see network shield in avast add remove/ change but when I clicked next it said updated. To what I don't know.
                   Mal
I notice that nearly everyone else do things different to me

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67259
Re:4.5 beta install
« Reply #25 on: November 10, 2004, 09:54:39 PM »
hi Technical, I don't see network shield in avast add remove/ change but when I clicked next it said updated. To what I don't know. Mal

I'm talking about the 'Change' button. If you don't have it, no way...
Better is wait for the 4.5 setup file on Saturday  8)
The best things in life are free.