Author Topic: a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?  (Read 5255 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jim193

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« on: November 18, 2004, 05:51:17 PM »
This is probably a simple fix, but apparently too complicated for me.  I just had the box pop up to tell me that there was a new version of Avast available.  I downloaded it, and it seems as if the version I downloaded is corrupted or something.  Right now I am NOT being protected.  I click on the Avast icon and get a message, "The operation could not be completed", and the top is written in red saying "The AAVM subsystem detected a RPC error."   I try to start Avast and i get the message, "The parameter is incorrect"  and, "The scan completed with error: 87 = The parameter is incorrect".  What happened?  and, How do i fix this?

Thanks,

        Jim

Offline jim193

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2004, 06:20:28 PM »
Hey all,

     4.5 is simply not working.  I downloaded kazaa to see if anything would happen... nothing.  I know, for a fact that downloading kazaa ALWAYS gives me a trojan warning (kind-of like a test proggy if you will).  So any help to theses error messages would be greatly appreciated.

   thanks,

           Jim

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9385
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2004, 06:23:11 PM »
Actually we prefer to use EICAR sample to test if AV is working or not.
Check the tests section (EICAR Standard Antivirus test) on my page www.security-ops.tk
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2004, 06:26:08 PM »
Go to Start>control panel>Add or remove programs>select avast anti-virus and then click change/remove>select change and click next>make sure everything is checked/ticked that you want at this point and click next to repair the installation

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2004, 06:27:37 PM »
Opps RejZor got there before me, try what he said first then if it fails try what i said

Good Luck

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2004, 06:50:22 PM »
If that has failed use this tool Here to remove avast compleatly, then reboot/restart your pc, download avast installation again, then install avast again, then reboot.

--lee
« Last Edit: November 18, 2004, 06:51:04 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline jim193

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2004, 06:51:07 PM »
Thanks for the help,

     I went to the website :
http://www.eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm
and in the download area, I selected "eicar.com", opened it to my computer, got a DOS screen, and that was it.

     I also went the control panel route and got the message "The product was successfully updated".  However, I still have my blue icon in the taskbar with the red circle through the middle of it.

    Also, do I now have a virus on my computer since downloading from that site?

Thanks,

         Jim

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2004, 06:52:18 PM »
jim193, the problem is caused by the fact that you are using a beta/relase-candidate version of WinXP SP2. Please update the Service Pack to the official release version and you should be all set.


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline jim193

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2004, 06:52:50 PM »
Thanks Lee,

"If that has failed use this tool Here to remove avast compleatly, then reboot/restart your pc, download avast installation again, then install avast again, then reboot."

  You were a little quick for me.  LOL.

Jim

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2004, 06:53:27 PM »
Quote
jim193, the problem is caused by the fact that you are using a beta/relase-candidate version of WinXP SP2. Please update the Service Pack to the official release version and you should be all set.

Ahh i did not know this, forget what i have just suggested and do as VIK suggested

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2004, 11:07:46 PM »
Lee, it's not VIK, it's VLK...  (Short for VLCEK) ;)
« Last Edit: November 18, 2004, 11:08:17 PM by S.Z.Craftec »

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:a bug in my new version (0447-0) or (4.5)?
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2004, 02:25:16 PM »
Quote
Lee, it's not VIK, it's VLK...  (Short for VLCEK)

Opps, sorry VLK, ill remember for the futer

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!