Author Topic: Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall  (Read 10555 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

parachutestx

  • Guest
Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« on: November 30, 2004, 06:39:40 AM »
I noticed that security center  in the area that says security essentials says its on and I check my network connections but when I go down to where it says firewall the option keeps saying its not on how does that work ?

neal62

  • Guest
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2004, 06:45:08 AM »
With WinsXp, SP2 the Windows Firewall comes on automatically when you turn on your pc and boot up. Or, if it doesn't it should.
If you go to start, settings, control panel, you should see an icon called "Windows Firewall". If you left click on that you should see whether it's turned on or off.... :)
« Last Edit: November 30, 2004, 06:47:52 AM by neal62 »

PigDog

  • Guest
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2004, 09:58:21 AM »
A friend of mine had a problem with the SP2 firewall switching itself on and off and security centre and system tray giving confilcting information.  We found out it was because he installed SP2 without having previously installed SP1.  Installing SP1 (without rolling back the SP2 install) fixed the problem.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86506
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2004, 05:54:34 PM »
There is no requirement to install SP1 before SP2 as it is a cumlative update of all patches up to and including SP2. There is obviously some other issue.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.2.6003 (build 22.2.7013.717) UI 1.0.697/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

parachutestx

  • Guest
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2004, 06:05:42 PM »
I found out why :)

I have the Zonealarm program and thats my default firewall.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47024
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2004, 09:55:05 PM »
ZA and XP2 Security Center work well together: ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2004, 12:57:27 AM »
ZA and XP2 Security Center work well together: ;D

Bob, I have a doubt...
If you have a third party firewall like ZA, do you have to turn off the Windows internal one?
I use Outpost and does not disabled the internal Windows one.
When I open the Central Security, I does not see Outpost there?

Sasha, how does it work for you?  ::)
The best things in life are free.

inthewildteam

  • Guest
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2004, 01:54:11 AM »
Just a reminder sp2 firewall only stops inbound traffic .......not outbound, although it does load before the o.s loads, so in theory, provides protection as the system boots fully into windoze before other add-on software firewalls load.

My opinion (he adds quickly) I don't rely on it alone.  Compatability issues with sp2 firewall and other software firewalls seem to come down to individual machine configurations.  Personal opinion here  ;)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47024
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2004, 03:01:39 AM »
Technical
I have both running Windows Firewall and ZA and neither one balks about the others presence.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

inthewildteam

  • Guest
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2004, 03:13:29 AM »
Technical
I have both running Windows Firewall and ZA and neither one balks about the others presence.

I agree with you about both firewalls running together (za and sp2) unfortunately za completely "hides" my machine and results in unwanted network traffic from my isp trying to establish a connection.  I had to un-install it for that reason............. my cable provider needed to have a response to allow connection.


Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47024
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2004, 03:22:14 AM »
Technical
I have both running Windows Firewall and ZA and neither one balks about the others presence.

I agree with you about both firewalls running together (za and sp2) unfortunately za completely "hides" my machine and results in unwanted network traffic from my isp trying to establish a connection.  I had to un-install it for that reason............. my cable provider needed to have a response to allow connection.



I'm sorry, you lost me??? I also use cable and don't have that problem.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

inthewildteam

  • Guest
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2004, 04:02:21 AM »
bob

my cable connection requires a response to it's network ping, if it gets no response, I'm offline as far as my isp sees.

They can then allocate my network address to another customer, although it's still in use by me.

Convention dictates that any machine connected should be "pingable" so that the address isn't allocated to another machine.  Full on zonealarm disregards this network protocol and causes problems.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47024
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2004, 04:06:44 AM »
inthewildteam:
So what did you do to satisfy your cable co.??
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

inthewildteam

  • Guest
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #13 on: December 01, 2004, 04:08:10 AM »
inthewildteam:
So what did you do to satisfy your cable co.??

Changed to outpost firewall

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:Have a question about the service pack 2 Firewall
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2004, 05:58:52 PM »
Changed to outpost firewall

Does it appear into the Central Security?
I mean, can you read Outpost there like Bob reads ZoneAlarm?
The best things in life are free.