Author Topic: ASHQUICK caused an invalid page fault  (Read 4196 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GeOS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a little teapot!
ASHQUICK caused an invalid page fault
« on: August 22, 2003, 12:21:49 PM »
Hi
When I right click a file and scan it, at the end of the scan I get the error message:

"ASHQUICK caused an invalid page fault in module <unknown> at 0000:1b10f3dd."

It only seems to happen the first time I scan the file.  If I repeat the process or immediately scan a different file it works fine.

Using Avast 4.0 Home Edition with Windows 98 SE.

Any ideas how to resolve this?


Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software

Offline GeOS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a little teapot!
Re:ASHQUICK caused an invalid page fault
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2003, 01:09:57 PM »
The error message is different although the fix may be the same.

The files mentioned in the second link don't seem to be files that I need generally as all other programs seem to work fine on my PC.  Does Avast need them specifically?
« Last Edit: August 22, 2003, 01:10:58 PM by GeOS »

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re:ASHQUICK caused an invalid page fault
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2003, 01:37:02 PM »
I don't think it needs specifically the new versions, but the older ones may contain bugs...
Many programs use (and install) the Jet drives - MS Office for example.

Offline Spook

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Spirit's Willing!
Re:ASHQUICK caused an invalid page fault
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2003, 03:01:10 PM »
Hi Geos...

Quote
"ASHQUICK caused an invalid page fault in module <unknown> at 0000:1b10f3dd."

It only seems to happen the first time I scan the file.  If I repeat the process or immediately scan a different file it works fine.

That sounds identical to the problem I had with AshSimpl causing an invalid page fault.  I had to update my Jet40 to SP7 because, according to Microsoft's description, Jet40-SP3 is buggy.

Try the trick mentioned by Vlk:

Quote
Try the following: open the file avast4.ini located in the <avast>\data folder, and replace the line

Database=ODBC

to

Database=XML

Then restart the computer and see if it helps.

If that fixes your problem (but does cause another - e.g: you can select specific folders scanning, but always get a full scan) then you will need to update ::)

I am not to sure that you need the MDAC-TYP.exe, but take it anyway in order to "complete" the update.

Avast! uses a Jet database (is it Access 2000? - see the file ...\Avast4\Data\Avast4.mdb) and the SP3 version of Jet40 must :o be updated in order to work with it.

I think I had to change to Jet40-SP3 when I had to install the MS-XML SDK.

Hope it helps  ;)
I'm here in spirit, not in body.

Offline GeOS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • I'm a little teapot!
Re:ASHQUICK caused an invalid page fault
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2003, 05:13:35 PM »
OK will give it a try.  Thanks all.  :)