Author Topic: My Avast Firewall Doesn't Scan Anything (Doesn't work) [Avast IS v7]  (Read 9078 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2233
I think there is something wrong with my Avast firewall. On my PC it scans bytes in and out however on my laptop it never does anything. Is this usual?

Print screen : http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=xfu49u&s=5

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Avast IS Latest Version
Malwarebytes Pro
« Last Edit: February 26, 2012, 12:50:43 AM by Alikhan »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

MAG

  • Guest
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2012, 04:25:32 PM »
No - assuming you are connected to the internet (browsers work, programs update etc) then that does not look right.

First thing I would do is to make sure that windows firewall is turned on (it is compatible with avast firewall)  to make sure you have some software firewall protection (you are hopefully behind a router hardware firewall anyway?)

What previous security software/FW did you have on the machine before AIS, and how was it uninstalled? Did you use the manufacurers dedicated uninstaller in windows safe mode? If not, get it from eg here http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN146
and do so now.

Then you could try an avast repair - but personally I have never found it to repair anything.

I would remove and reinstall the firewall component.

(i) Control panel-uninstall-AIS-uninstall/change-change-next-uncheck FW component-reboot.

(ii) Then repeat the above but this time check FW component.

If you have ccleaner installed run it between (i) and (ii) until it finds no more registry issues (but that shouldn't really be necessary). If you do run registry cleaner save its changes when prompted in case you need  to restore

Let us know if that works.

(If the above doesn't work then you could do a complete unintall/reinstall of AIS (with aswclear.exe (download from avast.com) run in safe mode between the two).
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 04:40:28 PM by mag »

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2233
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2012, 04:39:19 PM »
Okay, I will try this now. Thanks.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

MAG

  • Guest
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2012, 04:41:21 PM »
Alikhan - see them mod to my post - forgot to ask about previous securitiy software

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2233
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2012, 05:28:31 PM »
My previous AV was AVG which I uninstalled with the respective tools.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 05:31:37 PM by Alikhan »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2233
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2012, 05:43:41 PM »
I've done what you told me to but It has not made a difference. I've  even tried the aswclear tool. Anyone need any logs?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

MAG

  • Guest
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2012, 05:47:45 PM »
So a clean install didn't solve it either?

What do you see under Firewall/Network connections? Any sign of bytes in or out?


Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2012, 05:48:26 PM »
you'd be better off checking actual connections in the connection panel ;) ... other than that Avast uses flash player for animations (graphs etc...), make sure you got it installed (and updated) on the system where you see no apparent traffic - at graph level only.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2233
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2012, 05:50:07 PM »
Which Flash player? Adobe?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

MAG

  • Guest
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2012, 05:53:45 PM »
Thanks for dropping in to help logos - this is looking beyond me!

(I don't have flash player installed by the way - so I can't see avast! traffic history graphs - but I can see the activity display fine - which is what Alikhan seems to be missing)

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2012, 05:55:24 PM »
Which Flash player? Adobe?

yes ... you know of any other Flash Player ? ;) (so again Adobe and not any other Linux like replacement)

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2233
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2012, 05:56:04 PM »
I have Adobe Flash player but no difference. Updated and rebooted too.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2233
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2012, 06:20:51 PM »
Done a clean uninstall and reinstall with the aswclear tool. No difference.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2233
Re: Question regarding Avast Firewall
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2012, 06:34:14 PM »
Whenever I do an avast repair I get this message. Please help. After a reboot, my avast Firewall is gone.

Print Screen : http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=vzvtle&s=5
« Last Edit: February 25, 2012, 06:37:31 PM by Alikhan »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

MAG

  • Guest
Re: My Avast Firewall Doesn't Work v7
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2012, 07:21:15 PM »
I'm afraid I'm well out my depth now - but just a thought that might provide info to someone better informed.


After you have uninstalled and run aswclear, what drivers starting asw.. are left in C:windows\system32\drivers folder (if any)?