Author Topic: Firefox and the script shield  (Read 10025 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1556
  • Bronies make the web go round
Firefox and the script shield
« on: April 24, 2012, 07:52:36 PM »
The script shield stopped working with firefox 12 ::) anybody else having problem or is it just me?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2012, 05:23:33 AM by Coolmario88 »
OS: Windows 11 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox
PC Specs: Intel i5-12400f, Nvidia RTX 3050, 16gb ram, 1.5TB SSD(s).

Alievitan

  • Guest
Re: firefox and the script sheild
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2012, 08:36:14 PM »
I just noticed it too.  I have a Firefox 3.6 portable edition handy and I fired that up to see if script shield was working correctly for that old version and it was, so something changed in version 12 that is the cause.  What I also noticed about Scriptshield and Firefox 12 is that it does intercept video scripts or flash scripts.  Just check out any youtube video and another video site like NFL videos and script shield will detect the scripts related to all video playing, but nothing else. 

Edit: Forget to mention.  Windows 7 64 bit.  Avast 7.0.1426
« Last Edit: April 25, 2012, 03:36:56 AM by Alievitan »

Offline MrMaxaMan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: firefox and the script sheild
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2012, 02:00:19 AM »
I just updated to Firefox 12, and the script shield is working fine for me.
Avast Free 20.3.2405 - Comodo 12.2.2.7036 Firewall with D+ - Winpatrol Free.
On demand - MBAM - Super Antispyware.
Windows 10 64bit - 16GB Ram.

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1556
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: firefox and the script sheild
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 02:05:40 AM »
Doing a fresh install of avast to see if it is just my computer..  I shall be right back.
OS: Windows 11 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox
PC Specs: Intel i5-12400f, Nvidia RTX 3050, 16gb ram, 1.5TB SSD(s).

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: firefox and the script sheild
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 02:19:22 AM »
I just noticed it too.  I have a Firefox 3.6 portable edition handy and I fired that up to see if script shield was working correctly for that old version and it was, so something changed in version 12 that is the cause.  What I also noticed about Scriptshield and Firefox 12 is that it does intercept video scripts or flash scripts.  Just check out any youtube video and another video site like NFL videos and script shield will detect the scripts related to all video playing, but nothing else.

I can confirm that Script Shield is not working for me with Firefox 12, except as you noted for plugins' scripts.  It worked fine with Firefox 11, unless Firefox was started from Avast update popups.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1556
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: firefox and the script sheild
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2012, 02:40:42 AM »
reinstalled avast and the script shield still not working with firefox 12.    :-\
OS: Windows 11 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox
PC Specs: Intel i5-12400f, Nvidia RTX 3050, 16gb ram, 1.5TB SSD(s).

Offline MrMaxaMan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: firefox and the script sheild
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2012, 03:13:42 AM »
I'm using Avast version 6.0.1367, so maybe that is why it's working for me.
Avast Free 20.3.2405 - Comodo 12.2.2.7036 Firewall with D+ - Winpatrol Free.
On demand - MBAM - Super Antispyware.
Windows 10 64bit - 16GB Ram.

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: firefox and the script sheild
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2012, 03:18:04 AM »
FWIW, I also see no Script Shield activity with Opera 11.62.  However, it is working still in IE8.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

aztony

  • Guest
Re: firefox and the script sheild
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2012, 04:39:09 AM »
I have noticed that the script shield works sporadically with Firefox, a little bit more consistently with Opera, but is seems most consistent with IE.



_____________________________________________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+ sp3 2.17GHz, 1.50Gb ram, avast!7.0.1426, Privatefirewall 7, Malwarebytes free, superantispyware free, Winpatrol free, Slimcleaner 3, 360Amigo sys.optimizer.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2012, 04:58:38 AM by aztony »

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1556
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: Firefox and the script shield
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2012, 05:25:20 AM »
i think the reason the reason the script shield isn't working with firefox 12 is because firefox updates to fast for avast maybe  just like chrome?  but i like firefox because it updates less than chrome.   but the main reason i think IE works with the script shield still is because it updates less... am i right?
OS: Windows 11 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox
PC Specs: Intel i5-12400f, Nvidia RTX 3050, 16gb ram, 1.5TB SSD(s).

Alievitan

  • Guest
Re: Firefox and the script shield
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2012, 06:10:20 AM »
i think the reason the reason the script shield isn't working with firefox 12 is because firefox updates to fast for avast maybe  just like chrome?  but i like firefox because it updates less than chrome.   but the main reason i think IE works with the script shield still is because it updates less... am i right?

Something changed between Firefox 11 to Firefox 12 that is for sure.  This was what 6 week beta period was for and Chrome has an even longer beta period.  I don't use beta software in general, but I am surprised none of the potentially millions of Firefox 12 beta users did not post about this problem sooner.  So Avast users can stay with Firefox 11 for now, but the problem is that Firefox 12 has a whole host of security fixes (7 critical, 4 high, 3 moderate), although none are being actively exploited to my knowledge anyways. 

https://www.mozilla.org/security/known-vulnerabilities/firefox.html

jrace

  • Guest
Re: Firefox and the script shield
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2012, 04:59:09 PM »
The script shield stopped working with firefox 12 ::) anybody else having problem or is it just me?

Same situation over here!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89331
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Firefox and the script shield
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2012, 05:13:56 PM »
Script shield is working in FF 12.0 on my XP system, though it doesn't rack up a lot of scans only 20 so far today and not all of those are likely to be firefox related.

In order to test this I first has to enable the Behavior Shield, 'Monitor the system for unauthorised modifications.' Why this would be the case as I can't for the life of me see the logic/direct linkage in that option and the script shield not working.

I do know that the script shield relies on the behavior shield being enabled (I can't see the logic in that either), so perhaps it also needs all of the options in the behavior shield to be enabled. Having done my test I will disable the Behavior Shield, 'Monitor the system for unauthorised modifications' option again.

So any that are experiencing problems ensure that you have the Behavior Shield enable, including all options.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1556
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: Firefox and the script shield
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2012, 05:56:36 PM »
So any that are experiencing problems ensure that you have the Behavior Shield enable, including all options.
I have the Behavior Shield at its default settings. I never change that shield's setting ever :)
OS: Windows 11 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox
PC Specs: Intel i5-12400f, Nvidia RTX 3050, 16gb ram, 1.5TB SSD(s).

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89331
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Firefox and the script shield
« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2012, 07:44:56 PM »
Just doing a test on my win7 system with FF 12.0 and Behavior Shield set to defaults and so far some activity 24/0 from the script shield. So it is also working on win7 Starter 32bit with FF 12.0.

So perhaps this is a 64bit OS thing as that appears to be the only difference on your signature to mine working with win7.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security