Author Topic: [SOLVED] Do you add Sandboxie excluded from automatic sandboxing  (Read 3144 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3312
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
G'day all,

Do you add Sandboxie to Avast to excluded from automatic sandboxing yes or no?

Cause a friend I've mind have installed avast free version as he was worried about avast autosandbox might conflict with 'Sandboxie v3.68 it the latest version', because he used sandboxie a lot while browsing through firefox as I'm not 100% sure as I don't used 'Sandboxie'. I need Avast to confirm the correct settings if 'Sandboxie' can work together with avast free version, while he still currently using firefox together with 'Sandboxie' so I can double check his settings correctly with avast autosandbox so they don't conflicted with each other.

Ta ;)
« Last Edit: May 09, 2012, 06:56:35 AM by SpeedyPC »
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v21.2.2455 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: Do you add Sandboxie excluded from automatic sandboxing
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2012, 06:30:24 PM »
Hello SpeedyPC,
sandboxie works on-demand, i.e. he must specify which process will be executed in sandboxie (e.g. his Firefox browser) whilst autosandbox should sandbox usually only unknown/untrusted apps. There's a big probability that such autosandbox app won't be also run in sandboxie. If it does, it may not work correctly (sandboxing is quite complex in sandboxie/avast autosandbox and we never tested it together). If the sandboxed process is executed in sandboxie, or in avast autosandbox, there shouldn't be a conflict.

-pk

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3312
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: Do you add Sandboxie excluded from automatic sandboxing
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2012, 06:49:41 PM »
Thanks PK and why haven't avast tested it together to make sure their no conflicting between two programs, any way I double check this when I see him tomorrow afternoon to make it's working. Also while browsing through firefox with sandboxie can avast web-shields communicate together side by side while browsing through firefox with sandboxie, while I still have no idea until I see him tomorrow afternoon to double check.

Ta
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v21.2.2455 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84777
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Do you add Sandboxie excluded from automatic sandboxing
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2012, 08:49:46 PM »
I have sandboxie on my win7 netbook and avast free 7.0.1426 and I have made no exclusion for sandboxie. On the occasions that I use it with my browser I have had no issues with the autosandbox and I can't recall if the autosandbox ever recommended sandboxie should be sandboxed.

I have just checked and sandboxie isn't in the autosandbox exclusions, so avast must recognise it and not offer sandboxing.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3312
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: Do you add Sandboxie excluded from automatic sandboxing
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2012, 06:56:10 AM »
I have sandboxie on my win7 netbook and avast free 7.0.1426 and I have made no exclusion for sandboxie. On the occasions that I use it with my browser I have had no issues with the autosandbox and I can't recall if the autosandbox ever recommended sandboxie should be sandboxed.

I have just checked and sandboxie isn't in the autosandbox exclusions, so avast must recognise it and not offer sandboxing.

Thanks DavidR I've checked his PC as PK & DavidR have said everything seem to be working and I didn't see any conflicting between two programs, if anything happens he'll let me know as I don't used sandboxie.
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v21.2.2455 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84777
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: [SOLVED] Do you add Sandboxie excluded from automatic sandboxing
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2012, 02:05:00 PM »
You're welcome.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security