Author Topic: VDNT32.SYS, VDNT_16.SYS, and possibly others  (Read 6868 times)

Alobar

VDNT32.SYS, VDNT_16.SYS, and possibly others
« on: December 30, 2004, 09:20:29 AM »
I am new at having these sorts of problems so I am unsure what details to give.  I have been using one form of virus protection or other for years with no problem. I always update my virus defs 2 or 3 times a week.  I recently switched to AVAST free.   Not complaining about any of my anti-virus programs -- just delineating what is going on here.   Below is my best recollection of the past 2 days.   Sorry if I give more info than is useful, but I I really don't know what is useful info & what is not.  I did not keep good notes until recently so some of the info is a bit sketchy.  

I have a dual boot system.  Win-98(SE) and Win-XP (SP1 installed).   I was backing up my system with Cobian 6 backup.   I had just re-formatted the partition where backups were stored, so no chance of just restoring from backups.   There are no full backups.   Most all my work is done from Windows-XP.  Win-98 no longer has internet access.    Unless otherwise noted, all the paragraphs below are events which happened while I was working in Win-XP.

I am not sure if the problem arose from a malicious e-mail which had gotten past AVAST or from something ancient on my hard drive which became active during the backup process.   AVAST found some problems during system scan earlier (which my previous ant-virus software had not found), and had moved the files to the CHEST.      I was doing the backup while reading my mail.   I got a notice from AVAST.   I pressed the button to send to CHEST, but AVAST was unable to move to CHEST.  I was not paying attention to the name of the problem file.  I told AVAST to delete.   This repeated itself a few more times.  Each time I told AVAST to delete the file.   I probably deleted 3 or 4 files, maybe 5.