Author Topic: Safe Zone weirdness  (Read 22499 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MrChuck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Safe Zone weirdness
« on: June 29, 2012, 03:35:42 AM »
Hi all,

I'm having trouble with Avast Safe Zone starting for no reason with Avast Free 7.0.1451

This morning I downloaded Pirate Speak as a language just for laughs, and noticed it seemed to download an awful lot of stuff just for another language. Now every few minutes Safe Zone starts, and, while I'm not having any trouble exiting, it's getting really, really annoying.

How do I permanently turn off this feature which I do not want?

Mr. Chuck

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2012, 09:52:05 AM »
Do you say that your desktop is switched randomly to SafeZone? Or you're in SafeZone and new SafeZone browsers starts randomly? Thanks.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 61505
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2012, 09:55:31 AM »
Or you're in SafeZone and new SafeZone browsers starts randomly?

Don't think so, as the OP mentioned avast! Free.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.9.2394.B1 - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.2 [NS/AOS/uBO] - Thunderbird 68.2.2 [EM] - ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2012, 05:56:18 PM »
We found the problem. Webrep plugin sends some requests which cause switching to SafeZone.
It'll be fixed in next program update (next week, I guess).

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 61505
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2012, 06:00:53 PM »
We found the problem. Webrep plugin sends some requests which cause switching to SafeZone.
It'll be fixed in next program update (next week, I guess).

Great news, still I wonder how SafeZone code is related to avast! Free..??
Or was that just a false information from the OP..??
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.9.2394.B1 - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.2 [NS/AOS/uBO] - Thunderbird 68.2.2 [EM] - ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2012, 06:06:15 PM »
Webrep plugin will be able to switch some URLs (e.g. banking sites) to SafeZone (in Pro/AIS only). We didn't finish this feature, but it's already implemented partially in avast. Webrep sent invalid requests which cause SafeZone switch.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 61505
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2012, 06:09:11 PM »
Webrep plugin will be able to switch some URLs (e.g. banking sites) to SafeZone (in Pro/AIS only). We didn't finish this feature, but it's already implemented partially in avast. Webrep sent invalid requests which cause SafeZone switch.

So, if I understand you right, this can't happen in avast! Free...??
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.9.2394.B1 - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.2 [NS/AOS/uBO] - Thunderbird 68.2.2 [EM] - ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2012, 06:12:17 PM »
Yes, it can. It's not fully implemented, so there's no Free/Pro/IS restrictions.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 61505
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2012, 06:13:57 PM »
Yes, it can. It's not fully implemented, so there's no Free/Pro/IS restrictions.

I see. Thanks.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 19.9.2394.B1 - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.2 [NS/AOS/uBO] - Thunderbird 68.2.2 [EM] - ACP/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline dreamsinger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2012, 10:40:13 PM »
In the update will there be a way to disable SafeZone? I don't want it.

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2012, 10:41:29 PM »
Yes.

Offline songbird72884

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2012, 11:33:43 PM »
Just wanted to chime in and mention that I'm experiencing the same problem myself. I'll be doing something outside a browser (most recently playing Portal 2 while Firefox was minimized) and suddenly I'll be looking at 6 newly opened blank browser windows in SafeZone. No trouble closing them, but it's happened two or three times already since the update today.

Pk, you mentioned that the issue will be addressed in the next update. What should we do in the meantime? Do we just continue closing the windows when they open or is there something else we ought to be doing?

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2012, 11:35:39 PM »
You can disable WebRep plugin in your browsers (Additional Protection -> Browser Protection).

Offline songbird72884

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2012, 11:49:03 PM »
Thanks very much :)

Edit: Actually, that doesn't seem to have worked. I disabled WebRep and restarted, but it's happened twice since then
« Last Edit: June 30, 2012, 12:20:15 AM by songbird72884 »

Offline Benedictus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Safe Zone weirdness
« Reply #14 on: July 01, 2012, 11:39:22 AM »
In Avast: Additional Protection tab, then settings tab.
Kill Webrep.
Then do not restart browser, but PC.

Will work.