Author Topic: Blackops 2 infected (False Positive)  (Read 10541 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BlueNote

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Blackops 2 infected (False Positive)
« on: November 22, 2012, 07:27:47 AM »
Guys

When i started my BlackOps 2....i got this alart saying this file is infected! Now i cant join the game..Someone Please help me and remove this thing, so i can start playing again!!i Even scan the steam folder which blackops2 is in it!! and says no threat found
« Last Edit: November 23, 2012, 05:21:04 PM by BlueNote »

Offline raakareiska

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2012, 07:48:43 AM »
Same here. File is:
D:\Gamez\Steam\steamapps\common\Call of Duty Black Ops II\binkw32.dll

And I did report it as false positive.

Offline BlueNote

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2012, 07:53:08 AM »
Are you able to start your game ? Tho ?

Offline raakareiska

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2012, 08:12:15 AM »
Sadly no, never starts. I think that binkw32.dll is used for video playback.
EDIT:
Meant those intro movies in game.

Offline HisRoyalDoogness

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2012, 08:41:45 AM »
What's the deal?  Just bought this game and no work arounds are posted on the web.  Do I actually have to uninstall my virus protection to get this to work? Unacceptable!!!!

Offline santoscalero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2012, 08:52:59 AM »
Me too!!!!. I can´t start my Black Ops 2, cause detect the last update as a virus???????? Please fix it!!!!

Offline santoscalero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2012, 08:56:16 AM »
WTF!!!! >:( >:( >:( Avast delete binkw32.dll !!!!!!!!!!!

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69284
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2012, 08:56:43 AM »
You can report a possible FP here: http://www.avast.com/contact-form.php?loadStyles
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2450.Beta#1 [UI.599] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline raakareiska

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2012, 09:03:05 AM »
Or you can report file from window that pop-ups and tell infected file found (bottom of windows has link).

Offline BlueNote

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2012, 09:34:36 AM »
Guys the game works, when u install avast and redownload black ops2...But  i willl wait till someone figure this out ahhhh This is stupid man!! why man why!! i love Black OPS2

Offline Milos

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2227
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2012, 10:37:50 AM »
False positive should be fixed now.

Milos

Offline BlueNote

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2012, 10:44:58 AM »
False positive should be fixed now.

Milos
Have you checked it ? And do we really have to re-install the whole game all over again...cos they did deleted 1 file

Offline raakareiska

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2012, 10:47:23 AM »
False positive should be fixed now.

Milos
Have you checked it ? And do we really have to re-install the whole game all over again...cos they did deleted 1 file

Just restore binkw32.dll from Avast and update the virus definitions and BLOPS2 works! YAY!
EDIT:
THANK YOU :)

Offline BlueNote

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2012, 10:57:30 AM »
False positive should be fixed now.

Milos
Have you checked it ? And do we really have to re-install the whole game all over again...cos they did deleted 1 file

Just restore binkw32.dll from Avast and update the virus definitions and BLOPS2 works! YAY!
EDIT:
THANK YOU :)
Can u please tell me where is the file  binkw32.dll  located at? I know i deleted mine cos of avast..i redownloaded  binkw32.dll  ...does it depend where i keep the DLL ?

Offline raakareiska

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Hello Avast Says Blackops 2 infected...
« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2012, 11:21:24 AM »
I think you better fix Black Ops 2 installation from Steam:
Go to Library > Right click Black Ops 2 > Properties > Local File > Verify integrity of game cache

If you want manually do it, copy binkw32.dll to Black Ops 2 directory. I have Steam installed in D: driver:
D:\Gamez\Steam\steamapps\common\Call of Duty Black Ops II.

If you have installed it on C: it could be here (not sure if that Steam folder is default name for it):
Win7 64-bit
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Call of Duty Black Ops II.

Win7 32-bit and Win XP:
C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Call of Duty Black Ops II.

EDIT:
Fixed missing info on Steam fix section
« Last Edit: November 22, 2012, 11:24:01 AM by raakareiska »