Author Topic: Microsoft Security Essentials ?  (Read 42734 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline flyfsher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« on: January 07, 2013, 06:39:42 PM »
In the past I have used and been real happy with Avast free,that computer died and I picked up another XP system,it was loaded with the above and I was told by the shop it's one of the best so that is all I have been using,the first few days it detected a couple of viruses,I have the scan and update set to run every evening,it has detected nothing in about 5 months.
 My questions ,If I add Avast is it compatible with Microsoft Security Essentials or should I disable or delete it.
                        I'm also having some issues with Silverlight/netflix/chrome
 Best Victor

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85959
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2013, 06:52:59 PM »
Having two resident anti-virus scanners installed is one too many and not recommended as rather than provide twice the protection it can cause conflicts that could leave you more vulnerable.

So yes you should remove MSE before installing avast.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2013, 06:59:19 PM »
As DavidR said You'll have to delete MSE before installing Avast, after removing MSE run a search in your system for Microsoft Antimalware and delete remnants.

Personally I don't even have Silverlight installed as I've only ever seen Microsoft sites that require it to view certain things so imo I would uninstall it unless you absolutely need it.

As for netfix or Chrome I use neither so others may be able to help you with them.

Offline flyfsher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2013, 10:18:53 PM »
 Thank you for the replies,should I also delete windows firewall ?
best Victor

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2013, 10:34:59 PM »
Thank you for the replies,should I also delete windows firewall ?
best Victor
No, the Windows firewall plays fine with avast.  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline Jimmy9190

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2013, 01:55:45 AM »
Avast is much better than MSSE. Avast has so many more useable features, it updates every 4 hours instead of once a day like MSSE, Avast has a lot more protection with the different shields and sandbox feature and Avast is easy to customize so you can set it how you need it.

One of the main advantages I see is that MSSE only alerts you after it finds a virus or malware. Avast stops the virus from getting on my computer in the first place. I did a ton of research before installing Avast and MSSE was consistently rated very low in nearly every single AntiVirus review and comparison. I really like how Avast will give me an error window and alert me that it blocked me from accessing a malicious web site.

I do not know about the firewall in XP. I use Windows 7 and also use the built in Windows firewall and it works fine with Avast.

Jimmy

Offline flyfsher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2013, 05:00:54 PM »
thanks for all the replies and tips,guess i'm going back to Avast

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2013, 05:04:24 PM »
Good to hear :)

Offline flyfsher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2013, 06:10:00 PM »
 Problem ! successfully down loaded,installed and registered during installation I noticed it did a quick scan with no issues,I tried a full scan and my system shut down to a black screen then reboot,checked a few sites,e-mail, connection speed, all ok tried a couple more times to do a full scan,same issue

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2013, 06:25:07 PM »
Please follow the instructions in this thread http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0 and post all logs back here when completed for one of the malware specialists to look over.

essexboy has been notified.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 06:28:13 PM by craigb »

Offline flyfsher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2013, 06:50:58 PM »
 I see it's not free,is there any other way to fix this problem I rarely if ever buy anything on line

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2013, 06:56:17 PM »
I see it's not free,is there any other way to fix this problem I rarely if ever buy anything on line
What's not free ???, everything within that logs thread link is free

If your talking about Malwarebytes it is free for manual scans and updating which must be performed first before running a scan.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 07:11:02 PM by craigb »

Offline flyfsher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2013, 08:24:47 PM »
Oh My I'm sorry,I was able to install malwarebytes, ran the quick scan it found three items,and deleted them,I then tried another full Avast scan with same results,straight to reboot. as you can tell I'm no computer expert

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2013, 08:39:03 PM »
I'd suggest for you to run the tools and post the logs so that they can be looked over as there is obviously something wrong within your system that needs investigating.

Offline Yoshi2889

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Microsoft Security Essentials ?
« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2013, 08:58:55 PM »
Just a guess - Is your computer overheating while running the scan?
Don't fix what ain't broken and in most cases don't break what ain't fixed.
Profile @ SMF / Intel Core i5 (2450M) / 8 GB RAM / 256 GB Samsung 830 SSD / Windows 7 / Avast! Free