Author Topic: [603] ashweb running but not working [Issue with NOD32 Imon.dll]  (Read 11669 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nobuddy

  • Guest
[603] ashweb running but not working [Issue with NOD32 Imon.dll]
« on: February 21, 2005, 01:47:29 AM »
anyone else see this?

« Last Edit: February 22, 2005, 08:57:18 AM by Vlk »

nobuddy

  • Guest
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2005, 03:44:39 AM »
ok when I rebooted windows hung so I hit the reset button - well, avast needed another reboot - but now ashweb crashes a few seconds after I reload tabs in firefox

nobuddy

  • Guest
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2005, 04:57:16 AM »
Ok I see that when I reload individual webpages there is no problem. Ashwebsv crashes when I reload all tabs (10-14)

neiby

  • Guest
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2005, 05:18:39 AM »
Works for me on a 2 GHz pentium machine running XP Home SP2 and Firefox 1.0. I just opened up 14 tabs, some of them fairly content heavy, and had no problems when reloading all tabs at once.

What I really want to know is this: why?? why would you have 14 tabs open and need to reload them all at the same time?  :-)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2005, 09:01:47 AM »
Crashes? :o Send me the corresponding <avast>\data\log\unpXXX files then, please...
There should be 1 such file for each crash (XXX is a random number).

My estimate would be that it's again some kind of collision with Outpost...

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

nobuddy

  • Guest
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2005, 08:26:27 PM »
There is a lot. I guess i'll send you the latest one.



edit - this must be it - I will disable IMON and check again:

Quote
Fault source
------------
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe caused an Access Violation at location 20b0a93b in module imon.dll Writing to location 00000008.

« Last Edit: February 21, 2005, 08:30:21 PM by nobuddy »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2005, 08:28:58 PM »
Send me a couple of those, please...

Thanks Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

nobuddy

  • Guest
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2005, 08:42:20 PM »
Where do I send it? Address please..

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2005, 08:43:10 PM »
Click the envelope icon under my sorry picture... ;D
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2005, 08:50:49 PM »
It's crashing in imon.dll which is IMHO part of NOD32 antivirus.
Are you running NOD32 together with avast?!
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

nobuddy

  • Guest
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2005, 08:51:53 PM »
ok sent. It looks like a confliction with NOD32's IMON.dll. which crashes even though NOD32 is disabled at services. Many have said they can run both as resident so I tried it. I worked fine until ashweb was introduced - looks like I will have to uninstall NOD32 and cannont run it as "on demand" as well.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2005, 08:54:04 PM by nobuddy »

nobuddy

  • Guest
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2005, 09:03:28 PM »
Just for "kicks" I renamed the imon.dll with ".bak"  - now ashweb won't start - returned to imon.dll and ashweb starts -



« Last Edit: February 21, 2005, 09:05:26 PM by nobuddy »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2005, 09:10:33 PM »
Sure, renaming imon (not unisntalling it correctly) screws the network subsystem of your PC.
You can use e.g. http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm to disable imon - but be warned that the change is not reversible (AFAIK).

Anyway, it's a clear bug in NOD32 - ashWebSv.exe is quite standard Windows networking application, nothink special. Imon shoulndn't be crashing anyone in any case.

Thanks Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

nobuddy

  • Guest
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2005, 09:14:45 PM »
 How about I copy imon.dll (or the whole application) and when finished testing, delete the old one - or is that not the case
« Last Edit: February 21, 2005, 10:55:22 PM by nobuddy »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: [603] ashweb running but not working
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2005, 09:17:56 PM »
Imon uses so called LSP (layered service provider)-mechanism. This means that it is installed (registered) in about 27 places in your system. To disable it, you'd have to remove (delete) the registrations. This is what LSPFix is doing.

What could work is creating a System Restore check point and then using LSPFix. You may then restore the system to the previous state.


Anyway, the easiest would be to uninstall NOD32 (you can always reinstall it easily).

Cheers
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.