Author Topic: AVAST not running  (Read 16916 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dagsdotter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
AVAST not running
« on: February 02, 2013, 10:37:38 AM »
I have tried almost everything now, followed all recommendations on how tu get avast free edition to run correctly on my computer. Ive cleaned the computer with ccleaner, I have uninstalled avast with aswclear, restarted in safe mode, uninstalled other antiviruse program, run a malware detection program and errased troyan, a keylogger, etc., but no luck. Can anyone give other recommendation on what to do? Thanks and have a nice weekend!  :)

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10944
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2013, 10:42:36 AM »
What AV were you using previously and how did you remove ? many removal tools can be found here http://singularlabs.com/uninstallers/security-software/ to remove remnants after a normal uninstall, after removing remnants of old AV you maybe required to repair or even reinstall avast as it could have been corrupted.

Offline Dagsdotter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2013, 10:46:50 AM »
Thank you for your reply.

I was using AVG, but it was not running either so after recommendations I downloaded AVAST, but having problems as well.......?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10944
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2013, 10:52:25 AM »
Sounds like you may have a few other issues on that system, see here http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0 for running the necessary tools and supply the logs requested back in this thread when run.

Offline Dagsdotter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2013, 11:42:52 AM »
this is the first from OTL

Offline Dagsdotter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2013, 11:50:54 AM »
This is the log from aswMBR.exe

Offline Dagsdotter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2013, 11:57:14 AM »
This is the log from Malware

Offline Dagsdotter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2013, 11:59:58 AM »
This is the log from AdWcleaner

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10944
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2013, 12:06:27 PM »
Thankyou for the logs, I've notified one of the malware experts who will be on later due to time zone differences.

Offline Dagsdotter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2013, 12:08:09 PM »
Thanks a million!  :)

I will get back on and check later. Have a great day!

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40632
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2013, 12:12:14 PM »
Just checking the logs now.. There is a rootkit that needs removing

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10944
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2013, 12:13:58 PM »
Thanks a million!  :)

I will get back on and check later. Have a great day!
Your welcome, it'll probably be around 4 hours or so.

No it wont, he's turned up early :)

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40632
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2013, 12:20:47 PM »
Warning This fix is only relevant for this system and no other, using on another computer may cause problems

Be advised that when the fix commences it will shut down all running processes and you may lose the desktop and icons, they will return on reboot

Run OTL
  • Under the Custom Scans/Fixes box at the bottom, paste in the following


Code: [Select]
:Commands
[CREATERESTOREPOINT]

:Services
824f8eefdcb0657c

:OTL
DRV - [2013/01/29 22:35:32 | 000,031,576 | ---- | M] (AVG Technologies) [Kernel | System | Stopped] -- C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\avgtpx86.sys -- (avgtp)
O2 - BHO: (Babylon toolbar helper) - {2EECD738-5844-4a99-B4B6-146BF802613B} - C:\Archivos de programa\BabylonToolbar\BabylonToolbar\1.8.7.2\bh\BabylonToolbar.dll File not found
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {5C255C8A-E604-49b4-9D64-90988571CECB} - No CLSID value found.
O2 - BHO: (DVDVideoSoftTB Toolbar) - {872b5b88-9db5-4310-bdd0-ac189557e5f5} - C:\Archivos de programa\DVDVideoSoftTB\prxtbDVDV.dll File not found
O2 - BHO: (Yontoo) - {FD72061E-9FDE-484D-A58A-0BAB4151CAD8} - C:\Archivos de programa\Yontoo\YontooIEClient.dll File not found
O2 - BHO: (uTorrentBar_ES Toolbar) - {db131c55-60c8-4adc-84dc-9e76ab06e2dc} - C:\Archivos de programa\uTorrentBar_ES\prxtbuTo2.dll File not found
O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (DVDVideoSoftTB Toolbar) - {872b5b88-9db5-4310-bdd0-ac189557e5f5} - C:\Archivos de programa\DVDVideoSoftTB\prxtbDVDV.dll File not found
O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (Babylon Toolbar) - {98889811-442D-49dd-99D7-DC866BE87DBC} - C:\Archivos de programa\BabylonToolbar\BabylonToolbar\1.8.7.2\BabylonToolbarTlbr.dll File not found
O3 - HKU\S-1-5-21-1417001333-2052111302-1801674531-1003\..\Toolbar\WebBrowser: (DVDVideoSoftTB Toolbar) - {872B5B88-9DB5-4310-BDD0-AC189557E5F5} - C:\Archivos de programa\DVDVideoSoftTB\prxtbDVDV.dll File not found
O3 - HKU\S-1-5-21-1417001333-2052111302-1801674531-1003\..\Toolbar\WebBrowser: (uTorrentBar_ES Toolbar) - {DB131C55-60C8-4ADC-84DC-9E76AB06E2DC} - C:\Archivos de programa\uTorrentBar_ES\prxtbuTo2.dll File not found
O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (uTorrentBar_ES Toolbar) - {db131c55-60c8-4adc-84dc-9e76ab06e2dc} - C:\Archivos de programa\uTorrentBar_ES\prxtbuTo2.dll File not found
[C:\WINDOWS\$NtUninstallKB26733$] -> Error: Cannot create file handle -> Unknown point type

:Files
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Drivers\824f8eefdcb0657c.sys
c:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Datos de programa\BrowserProtect
C:\Archivos de programa\DVDVideoSoftTB
C:\Archivos de programa\BabylonToolbar\BabylonToolbar
C:\Archivos de programa\Yontoo

:Commands
[resethosts]
[emptytemp]
[Reboot]
  • Then click the Run Fix button at the top
  • Let the program run unhindered, reboot the PC when it is done
  • Open OTL again and click the Quick Scan button. Post the log it produces in your next reply.
THEN

Download and Install Combofix
 
Download ComboFix from one of the following locations:
Link 1
Link 2
 
VERY IMPORTANT !!! Save ComboFix.exe to your Desktop
 
* IMPORTANT - Disable your AntiVirus and AntiSpyware applications, usually via a right click on the System Tray icon. They may otherwise interfere with our tools. If you have difficulty properly disabling your protective programs, refer to this link here
  • Double click on ComboFix.exe & follow the prompts.
  • Accept the disclaimer and allow to update if it asks




  • When finished, it shall produce a log for you.
  • Please include the C:\ComboFix.txt in your next reply.[/b]
Notes:
1. Do not mouse-click Combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.
2. Do not "re-run" Combofix. If you have a problem, reply back for further instructions.

3.  If after the reboot you get errors about programmes being marked for deletion then reboot, that will cure it.


Please make sure you include the combo fix log in your next reply as well as describe how your computer is running now

Offline Dagsdotter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2013, 12:34:08 PM »
Here comes the OTL log, moving on with the Combofix now.

Offline Dagsdotter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: AVAST not running
« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2013, 12:55:09 PM »
When installing the ComboFix I get the message that I dont have "Microsoft Windows recovery console" and that "Alternately, an existing installation of the recovery concole may be present but require updating. Without it, ComboFIx shall not attempt the fixing of some serious infections"

The ComboFix asked if it should update the Microsoft Windows recovery console. I pressed the button YES, but got the answer that it is not possible, ENTRY DENIDED.

Any recommendations?