Author Topic: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore  (Read 21076 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline luci5

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« on: March 23, 2013, 04:27:21 AM »
I have had to use System Restore twice in the past week. Both times, after the pc rebooted, I got a red pop up saying that my Avast Pro hadn't been activated and the programme wouldn't update until I did.

Last week I had to uninstall then reinstall it as there was no way around it and it looks like I will have to do that again.

Last time I checked my Avast account and it correctly showed me as having the free version to start with, but it later changed to the Pro version.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Offline nine9s

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2013, 04:43:00 AM »
I remember previous versions would get definitions messed up, but they did not revert to Pro.  I wonder if bug or a marketing trick?  Maybe Avast thinks since you are doing a system restore, something is of concern, so they can hit you up for a subscription when you are messing with other PC problems.

Offline Diddy

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 594
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2013, 06:25:03 AM »
HI yes I did have  the same thing happen to me after a system restore my avast 8 free changed to a pro version.  I did solve this issue by checking my Time on the lower toolbar and when I set the right time I then restarted my computer and when it started back to the desktop avast 8 free was back no other problems.

Thanks.

Windows 10 Home Edition  64 Bit
Avast free 11.1.2253

Offline Mellabella

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2013, 08:19:15 AM »
Have had exactly the same problem. My free version was changed to a Pro version after a System Restore and I then got a red pop up that the Pro version had expired.
Stupidly I paid to update the Pro version, but am still getting alternate message: one saying I have 365 days coverage and the next message saying the Pro version has expired.
Also getting messages that my anti-virus system is not updated.
It takes several attempts, using systems Restore to restart my computer after a re-start, needed to complete the installation pf Pro.
In the last couple of days everything seems to have become screwed up!
Also getting constant messages about vital windows updates, but cannot restart the computer after downloading these.
This is a cry for help from a REAL novice :(

Offline luci5

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2013, 09:53:07 AM »
Thanks for the replies.  I'm glad it's not just me, as the first time it happened I thought I must had done something even though I was 100% certain I hadn't.

I was having huge problems with the pc being unable to connect to anything using any browser as "the proxy sever is refusing connections" and various other messages all to do with proxy settings. I don't use a proxy and had changed anything. I had to do several system restores before I gave up and the Avast problem was an additional problem I really didn't need.

I gave up at 4am UK time and left it doing yet another system restore.  I now have a connection icon and can access the internet using IE.  Will reinstall Avast Free.

Should I be raising a ticket about this?

I have been using Avast for years and really like it, but I am considering trying Avira if this continues to be a problem.  It shouldn't, as I can count on one hand the number of times I have used System Restore since first getting a pc in 1999, but I have had to use it twice in the past wee.  This shouldn't be happening.


I chose the option to receive notification of replies to this topic, but I haven't received any so I apologise in advance if someone replies and I don't acknowledge.

Offline EdFarre03

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2013, 01:10:17 PM »
This is happening to me too after reboot. I downloaded Avast 8. Confirmed that free installed with registration for 365 days. I shut down and next day at boot I have Pro, unregistered refusing to update?

I have run the clear utility at least 3 times on all versions of avast installed or not removed and reinstalled at least three time and this keeps happening.

Win XP SP3

Offline Mellabella

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2013, 10:14:40 AM »
I'm still having the same problems and at present have no antivirus coverage at all!!
Lots of the re-start attempts just end in a black screen
Have tried to uninstall the free version, but without success and cannot install the Pro version either, that I feel I was "conned " into buying.
Help!

Offline EdFarre03

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2013, 09:11:36 PM »
I am going back to avast 7. If that doesn't work AVG. I have been using avast and recommending to many others since V 4. Very sad. :'(

Offline andro22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2013, 11:47:05 PM »
I had the same problem few days ago and posted here. I opened a ticket too. Got almost generic reply with two links for downloads and  removal/reinstallation instructions. The links were pointing to a Avast removal tool and Avast 7 installation program. It looks like, at least at this point in time, the only way to fix Avast 8 problems is to go back to Avast 7.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43711
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2013, 11:50:41 PM »
I had the same problem few days ago and posted here. I opened a ticket too. Got almost generic reply with two links for downloads and  removal/reinstallation instructions. The links were pointing to a Avast removal tool and Avast 7 installation program. It looks like, at least at this point in time, the only way to fix Avast 8 problems is to go back to Avast 7.
If you need to re-install avast! simply use the following instructions:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=93544.msg915130#msg915130
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline EdFarre03

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2013, 01:02:39 AM »
Installed avast 7, registration would not work. Hello AVG

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43711
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2013, 01:24:11 AM »
Installed avast 7, registration would not work. Hello AVG
I guess you aren't interested in solving your problem. It also makes your post fairly unimportant.  :(
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline EdFarre03

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2013, 06:36:08 PM »
Installed avast 7, registration would not work. Hello AVG
I guess you aren't interested in solving your problem. It also makes your post fairly unimportant.  :(

As already stated I have done the procedure you recommend at least three times already. It does not work.

I cannot be without a working AV any longer.

I will not comment on the "importance " of your post.

Offline Rosenkavalier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2013, 08:50:12 AM »
Same problem here! I've AVAST installed on two laptops and one PC. Laptop 1 (Win XP, Celeron, 2 MB RAM) had a problem and switched to the pro version for 30 (testing-)days despite I've had a 1 year free registration. Does it switch to the free version after 30 days? - My laptop 2 (Win XP, Pentium 3, 512 MB RAM) is much slower since updating from version 7 to 8, after 30 minutes it's going a little better. Any suggestions? Thanks.

Offline waking

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
Re: Avast changing to Pro after a System Restore
« Reply #14 on: March 27, 2013, 12:54:49 PM »
Laptop 1 (Win XP, Celeron, 2 MB RAM) had a problem

I'm not at all surprised - even Win 3.1 needed more than 2 MB of RAM.  ;D