Author Topic: Avast wont start up properly  (Read 19801 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline spottydog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • I am NOT a Llama
Avast wont start up properly
« on: March 15, 2005, 11:35:24 PM »
This has got me beat. I run xp prof and installed Avast but evertime I boot I get a nice blue box saying that avast cant operate with Kaspersky running. I have never had or used kaspersky and can find nothing in the registry or files or anywhere on the hard drives  which has to do with Kaspersky. I would love to be able to use Avast properly so please someone give me some help. Thanks for reading this.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31344
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2005, 11:51:12 PM »
Did you ever used the online scanner by Kaspersky?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2005, 11:53:11 PM »
Quite strange if you never used or installed Kaspersky  ::)

Anyway, you can try to repair your installation:
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove
Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair).
You must be connected to the internet while repairing.

Or, if this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again

Can you post the contents of these Windows Registry keys in your system?

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet003\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet004\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD

Welcome to avast  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline spottydog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • I am NOT a Llama
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2005, 11:59:31 PM »
I shall try out your suggestions now. I cant remember using the online scanner from Kaspersky but seeing as how I have used these services in the past from Trend and a few others so there is a possibility I used Kaspersky too. Anyhow I shall try to follow your suggestions, thanks for the quick response. I do like the look of Avast and it has helped me (the bits that are working that is).
The newbie

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83935
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2005, 12:51:17 AM »
I believe Kaspersky also has an anti-hijack program (or something like that), although not an anti-virus program it is resident and has caused similar problems with avast mentioned previously in these forums.

However, if you don't have any Kaspersky product installed this is unlikely to be it.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.602) UI-1.0.566/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline spottydog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • I am NOT a Llama
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2005, 10:13:57 PM »
I have tried everything you suggested. Repaired, uninstall and reboot, install and reboot. Still comes up with Kaspersky is running.  ???

I also checked the registry areas you asked for, the only one that doesnt state c:programme\Alwilsoftware\Avast4\aswMONvd.dll is

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD

this states c:progra~1\symantec\S32EVNT1.DLL

What I have found is under controlset2\Enum\Root\Legacy_KAVMONITORSERVICE

Still in need of help and by the way thanks for the welcome.

Offline spottydog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • I am NOT a Llama
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2005, 11:06:05 PM »
Here is a hijack this copy of my system, I cant see anything but then again I am no way an expert.

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 22:55:32, on 16.03.2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXPPS.EXE
C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\AOL\ACS\AOLAcsd.exe
C:\Programme\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe
C:\Programme\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe
C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\Microsoft Shared\VS7DEBUG\MDM.EXE
C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\PERSON~1\MPFSERVICE.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Programme\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe
C:\Programme\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\PERSON~1\MPFAGENT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\AOL\ACS\AOLDial.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\PERSON~1\MPFTRAY.EXE
C:\Programme\Lexmark X1100 Series\lxbkbmgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\pupxpman.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\GEMEIN~1\AOL\AOLPRI~1\AOLSP Scheduler.exe
C:\Programme\Lexmark X1100 Series\lxbkbmon.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\BILLPS~1\WINPAT~1\winpatrol.exe
C:\Programme\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LVCOMSX.EXE
C:\Programme\Logitech\Video\LogiTray.exe
C:\Programme\Google\Gmail Notifier\gnotify.exe
C:\Programme\Muiltmedia keyboard utility\KbdAp32A.exe
C:\Programme\Office Mouse\moffice.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashDisp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Programme\AOL 9.0b\aoltray.exe
C:\Programme\Office Mouse\MOUSE32A.EXE
C:\Programme\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Distillr\acrotray.exe
C:\Programme\SECRETMAKER\secretmaker.exe
C:\Programme\Logitech\Video\FxSvr2.exe
C:\Programme\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasDtServ.exe
C:\Programme\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\aj\Desktop\hijackthis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/sb/*http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/sp/*http://www.yahoo.com
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://groups.yahoo.com/mygroups
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/ymsgr/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/ymsgr/*http://www.yahoo.com
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ycomp/defaults/su/*http://www.yahoo.com
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Companion BHO - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Programme\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn2\ycomp5_5_7_0.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Programme\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - F:\SpywareGuard\dlprotect.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: IeHelper Class - {A491D208-B353-490F-B81A-A8A3DC97042D} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\smiehlp.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEToolbarHelper Class - {AE7CD045-E861-484f-8273-0445EE161910} - C:\Programme\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Programme\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn2\ycomp5_5_7_0.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Adobe PDF - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} - C:\Programme\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AOLDialer] C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\AOL\ACS\AOLDial.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MPFExe] C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\PERSON~1\MPFTRAY.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Lexmark X1100 Series] "C:\Programme\Lexmark X1100 Series\lxbkbmgr.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [mspwr] C:\WINDOWS\system32\pupxpman.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AOL Spyware Protection] "C:\PROGRA~1\GEMEIN~1\AOL\AOLPRI~1\AOLSP Scheduler.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinPatrol] C:\PROGRA~1\BILLPS~1\WINPAT~1\winpatrol.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [gcasServ] "C:\Programme\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LVCOMSX] C:\WINDOWS\system32\LVCOMSX.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechVideoRepair] C:\Programme\Logitech\Video\ISStart.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechVideoTray] C:\Programme\Logitech\Video\LogiTray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [{0228e555-4f9c-4e35-a3ec-b109a192b4c2}] C:\Programme\Google\Gmail Notifier\gnotify.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [FLMK08KB] C:\Programme\Muiltmedia keyboard utility\MMKEYBD.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [FLMOFFICE4DMOUSE] C:\Programme\Office Mouse\moffice.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avast!] C:\PROGRA~1\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashDisp.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [LogitechSoftwareUpdate] C:\Programme\Logitech\Video\ManifestEngine.exe boot
O4 - Global Startup: AOL Tray-Symbol.lnk = C:\Programme\AOL 9.0b\aoltray.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Acrobat Assistant.lnk = C:\Programme\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Distillr\acrotray.exe
O4 - Global Startup: SECRETMAKER.lnk = C:\Programme\SECRETMAKER\secretmaker.exe
O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Programme\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Nach Microsoft &Excel exportieren - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Dictionary - file:///C:\Programme\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Maps - file:///C:\Programme\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Programme\Java\jre1.5.0\bin\npjpi150.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Konsole - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Programme\Java\jre1.5.0\bin\npjpi150.dll
O9 - Extra button: ICQ Pro - {6224f700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - C:\PROGRA~1\ICQ\ICQ.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ - {6224f700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - C:\PROGRA~1\ICQ\ICQ.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Programme\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Programme\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Programme\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: YExplorer1_8US.CAB - http://photos.groups.yahoo.com/ocx/us/yexplorer1_8us.cab
O16 - DPF: {04E214E5-63AF-4236-83C6-A7ADCBF9BD02} (HouseCall Control) - http://housecall-beta.trendmicro.com/housecall/xscan60.cab
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst0401.cab
O16 - DPF: {4A3CF76B-EC7A-405D-A67D-8DC6B52AB35B} (QDiagAOLCCUpdateObj Class) - http://aolcc.aol.de/computercheckup/qdiagcc.cab
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/v5consumer/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1093897218945
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {B9191F79-5613-4C76-AA2A-398534BB8999} (YAddBook Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/suite/autocomplete.cab
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{DAFCB656-6AC8-436B-81FC-C985507FB818}: NameServer = 205.188.146.145
O23 - Service: AOL Connectivity Service (AOL ACS) - America Online, Inc. - C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\AOL\ACS\AOLAcsd.exe
O23 - Service: AOL Privacy Protection Service (AOLService) - Unknown owner - C:\Programme\Gemeinsame Dateien\AOL\AOL Privacy Protection\\aolserv.exe
O23 - Service: avast! iAVS4 Control Service (aswUpdSv) - Unknown owner - C:\Programme\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Antivirus - Unknown owner - C:\Programme\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe
O23 - Service: avast! Mail Scanner - Unknown owner - C:\Programme\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe" /service (file missing)
O23 - Service: avast! Web Scanner - Unknown owner - C:\Programme\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe" /service (file missing)
O23 - Service: LexBce Server (LexBceS) - Lexmark International, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
O23 - Service: McAfee.com Personal Firewall Service (MpfService) - McAfee.com Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\PERSON~1\MPFSERVICE.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2005, 11:16:53 PM »
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
this states c:progra~1\symantec\S32EVNT1.DLL

On Registry you must have the following entry there:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswMonVd.dll

Open the key, backup it first, delete the last two groups of zeros.
You'll have 00 00
and should be only 00
You will see the avast entry appearing by 'miracle'...

What I have found is under controlset2\Enum\Root\Legacy_KAVMONITORSERVICE

Backup the key and delete it.

Let us know the results...
The best things in life are free.

Offline spottydog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • I am NOT a Llama
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2005, 09:50:23 AM »
Well, did everything you said but I still get the same nice screen telling me Kaspersky is running. I deleted the Legacy_KAVMONITORSERVICE entry and also now have Avast running on Controlset1 instead of Symantec. Nothing seems to help. ??? :'(
I am at a total loss now. Any further help would be most gratefull.
Thanks for helping me out on this, awaiting your reply with bated breath.
Tony
« Last Edit: March 17, 2005, 02:21:07 PM by spottydog »

Offline spottydog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • I am NOT a Llama
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2005, 03:27:31 PM »
 I am still trying to get Avast working and at the same time trying to get rid of Kaspersky. I am really at a loss and feel quite exposed without any protection running.
I spend lots of time in the net and know how easy it is to pick up a virus. I just dont know what to do next. Also I see in my Hijack this post a reference to a proxy ip 205.188.146.145 this has me worried as I dont use proxies. The ref is number 017 my hijack this post.
Thanks for all your help you are giving me its much appreciated.
Tony (who is tearing his hair out by the roots)

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44300
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2005, 04:02:54 PM »
spottydog
You can get further info an the IP address you listed at the following:
http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=205.188.146.145
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2005, 04:14:17 PM »
About Kaspersky removal, I can't help you that much...
On the VDD registry key, it should have both avast and Symantec drivers listed.
You could use avast as the first and Symantec after.
The best things in life are free.

Offline spottydog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • I am NOT a Llama
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2005, 06:27:49 PM »
Ok, I only have Avast listed. I used a tool that got rid of all symantec stuff. Its a pity there isnt a like tool for Kaspersky. I hate to say this but I cant be without adequate protection. As much as I like Avast and would really like to use it properly it is no use to me if I cant have real time protection. I just dont know what else to do. I have looked everywhere and I have deleted everything I can find. Installed deinstalled and the same once again but everytime I get the same pic telling me that Kaspersky is running. Is there nobody that can help me. ??? :'(

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2005, 06:44:59 PM »
Hi spottydog,

See here about removing Kaspersky: http://www.kaspersky.com/faq?qid=3605944

Now about your log:

The 017 in your log is your ISP (AOL), so it should be safe.

Also your log looks clean/non infected to me, however there is some non needed start ups you can remove if you want they are:

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Lexmark X1100 Series] "C:\Programme\Lexmark X1100 Series\lxbkbmgr.exe" (lxbkbmgr.exe is a program for the lexmark series x1100 printer)

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechVideoTray] C:\Programme\Logitech\Video\LogiTray.exe (a part of the Logitech Image Studio and is installed alongside the Logitech quickcam range of products. Allows an easy-access traybar icon which gives access to the diagnostics of this product.)

O4 - Global Startup: AOL Tray-Symbol.lnk = C:\Programme\AOL 9.0b\aoltray.exe (tray bar process for AOL. It gives you easy access to AOL and different settings. This process can be removed to free up system resources. )


All the above items suggested to be removed will still be there and work fine, you will just need to activate them manuly if you need them rather then that taking up boot time everytime you start up and shut down your PC.

--lee
« Last Edit: March 17, 2005, 06:47:52 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44300
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast wont start up properly
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2005, 07:40:08 PM »
Here is another link that might help:
http://www.kaspersky.com/faq?qid=158048671
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq