Author Topic: How much RAM does your computer have?  (Read 31384 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11141
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #30 on: April 27, 2013, 04:36:44 PM »
...What is full transparency?
No transparency to the explorer windows taskbar or the browser taskbar.

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2219
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #31 on: April 27, 2013, 04:41:50 PM »
...What is full transparency?
No transparency to the explorer windows taskbar or the browser taskbar.
I've never seen that before.. What about regular transparency? How does transparency look on Windows 8..
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11141
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #32 on: April 27, 2013, 04:50:59 PM »
Do the pic's help ???

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2219
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #33 on: April 27, 2013, 05:22:51 PM »
idk about Windows 8...



Personally, I like the transparency featured in Windows 7. This is an old screenshot from my friend's computer.



He has 16gb ram btw.
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11141
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #34 on: April 27, 2013, 05:38:04 PM »
Transparency alone would not be a factor in my decision as to whether I bought win7 or win8 as you have to take the other system optimised benefits into consideration that win8 has over win7.

They are both still good OS's so the choice is yours in the end :)

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2219
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #35 on: April 27, 2013, 05:53:51 PM »
I guess you're right.

What are the benefits of Windows 8 that are not featured in Windows 7?

Remember: I am coming from the Vista perspective.

Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85740
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #36 on: April 27, 2013, 06:23:36 PM »
<snip>
What are the benefits of Windows 8 that are not featured in Windows 7?
<snip>
<snip image>

That is a question that I have been trying to get an answer to for some time, I have yet to find a killer function/feature that is in win 8 that isn't in an earlier version and I need/require.

As they say 80% percent of users only use 20% of functions/features in most applications and that I would say includes OSes. Looking at win8 and all of the default cr4p on the home screen it seems they concentrate a lot on social networking, which I have no need/interest/requirement for.

For me I still believe this has more to do with flogging windows phones by trying have a common interface for everything.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.693) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37104
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #37 on: April 27, 2013, 06:28:57 PM »
16GB ram..... you have almost more ram then i have HD    ;D

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11141
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #38 on: April 27, 2013, 06:33:24 PM »
Better memory usage for starters, quicker boot times, taskmanager is much more usable and better detailed, more user friendly tools and features in the explorer toolbars.

As David mentioned there is no killer function that makes win8 so much better than win7 but there are small pieces like mentioned above, I wouldn't spend the money to upgrade win7 to 8 but if purchasing a new system I would go for the win8.

The apps you can have installed are an extra feature if you use them and pretty much replace the need for the sidebar in vista and win7.

Personally I only have one app installed in the metro screen and that is weather, other than that I don't use the metro screen at all and never even see it as my start menu replacement boots me straight to the desktop.

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2219
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #39 on: April 27, 2013, 07:04:19 PM »
Putting an OS such as Windows 7 on the SSD will drastically improve the overall speed and boot times. Even if I did use Windows 8, the change from 2-4 seconds to maybe 1-3 seconds isn't something that would make me want to switch.

In all honesty, I find Windows 8 somewhat complicated, despite having a simple interface. It's like one of those GUIs that try to hide all the common tasks that the user would want to use behind huge buttons.

I believe that I would be more productive with Windows 7 as my primary OS. The transition from Vista to 7 would be easy and Windows 7 looks prettier IMO.

~!Donovan
« Last Edit: April 27, 2013, 07:05:50 PM by !Donovan »
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11141
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #40 on: April 27, 2013, 07:42:00 PM »
In all honesty, I find Windows 8 somewhat complicated, despite having a simple interface. It's like one of those GUIs that try to hide all the common tasks that the user would want to use behind huge buttons.
If you don't use the metro/modern screen as I don't then the functionality is the same as win7 imo.

Go with whatever you feel comfortable with Donovan, if your used to vista then win7 will seem more familiar to you for sure and it's still a great OS.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46113
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #41 on: April 27, 2013, 09:57:51 PM »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46113
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2219
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #43 on: April 27, 2013, 10:27:16 PM »
Have you used this one before? http://www.iobit.com/iobitstartmenu8.php

I still have strong thoughts towards Windows 7. Windows 8.1 is planned to have a start menu, so I might wait for that.

Edit: Some resources say that its just the button and not the menu. Let's hope that the menu is implemented.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2013, 12:45:52 AM by !Donovan »
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: How much RAM does your computer have?
« Reply #44 on: April 27, 2013, 10:41:00 PM »
Have you used this one before? http://www.iobit.com/iobitstartmenu8.php

I still have strong thoughts towards Windows 7. Windows 8.1 is planned to have a start menu, so I might wait for that.
Well, if Win 8.1 does come out with a start menu, then you would not need to put something like iobit on.  imo, iobit is software I'd stay away from, has had corporate integrity issues in the past, not to mention some of their software is just plain junk.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.