Author Topic: firefox 23 and shield of script  (Read 10696 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Admin ForoAntispyware
    • Foroantispyware
firefox 23 and shield of script
« on: August 02, 2013, 09:22:42 PM »
I installed Firefox 23 release candidate and script shield does not detect anything .. I'm back to version 22 and works .. possible bug ???
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Seguridad:Avast Premium Security- Malwarebytes Premiun-

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84612
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2013, 10:02:11 PM »
Avast has only supported regular release builds of firefox (for the webrep), not alpha/beta/RC, etc. Don't know if that would also extend to the other avast shields such as the script shied that you mention (or web shield), but I wouldn't have thought so. But I really don't know what has changed in firefox 23.0.

So I don't know if that is the case here.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Admin ForoAntispyware
    • Foroantispyware
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2013, 10:39:37 PM »
Only happens in the shield of script..something very strange..i reinstalled version 22 and everything is ok.
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Seguridad:Avast Premium Security- Malwarebytes Premiun-

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84612
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2013, 10:46:27 PM »
Strange, I would have though it would be the webrep with non-regular release versions of firefox.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Admin ForoAntispyware
    • Foroantispyware
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2013, 11:03:10 PM »
I think I know what happens.. If you disable javascript in the browser there is no activity on the shield of avast.. In Firefox 23 have been removed the option to enable or disable the scripts from the options menu. Although it is assumed that it is enabled by default and can be modified only in about: config.. But while I have not had any problem when navigating with the version 23 can be that something is wrong with avast.. There is a release candidate 2 that is about to leave..we will see

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=98764.0  firefox 11 to firefox 12 Similar thing happened ..............In addition the uninstaller firefox 23 was executed in autosandbox..
« Last Edit: August 02, 2013, 11:27:19 PM by miguelgrado »
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Seguridad:Avast Premium Security- Malwarebytes Premiun-

Offline iroc9555

  • CCS, Vzla.
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7462
  • No soporte por PM.
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2013, 11:48:35 PM »
... In Firefox 23 have been removed the option to enable or disable the scripts from the options menu...

There is a topic somewhere here in the Forums about that. I can not find it. If this is the issue affecting Script Shield, I am sure Avast! will turn it around and find a fix.
Hernan.
Dim 9200. C2D E6600; 2.40GHz. 4GB DDR2RAM. XP Pro_86. Spk3. IE8 & FF41. Avast FREE 2015. CIS 5.12(FW/D+). MBAM Premium. MCShield. WinPatrol +. SpywareBlasterOpenDNS. uBlock. WOT. Sandboxie

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Admin ForoAntispyware
    • Foroantispyware
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Seguridad:Avast Premium Security- Malwarebytes Premiun-

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84612
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2013, 01:16:59 AM »
I can't see how this act (not being able to disable javascript) would effect the script shield. I mean if javascript was able to be disabled then technically there wouldn't be any scripts to scan, but that isn't the case.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline been

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2013, 11:13:42 AM »
There was a previous Firefox release (I think it was v17) that was incompatible with the script shield. Hopefully Avast will catch this before the release version of Firefox 23.

Offline jrace

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2013, 01:24:36 PM »

I am sorry I could not contribute to this issue with a satisfactory technical background.
But I thought I should bring to attention that since I installed "Firefox 23.0 beta (x)" the "Script Shield" does not pick up any event from internet.
The same thing goes for "Internet Explorer 11 for Win7 (Dev. Prev.)"

When I start "Windows Media Center" the "Scipt Shield" records just 1 event per Start!
Sony VGN-SZ71VN/X, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD, win7/32_ult_SP1-U
avast! pro 11.2.2255, Win7 Firewall, MBAM 2.2.0.1024
FF 45.0

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Admin ForoAntispyware
    • Foroantispyware
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2013, 02:36:51 PM »
firefox 23 rc 2 idem..shield of script dont work
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Seguridad:Avast Premium Security- Malwarebytes Premiun-

Offline Alievitan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2013, 05:23:15 PM »
I mentioned it here earlier. 

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=129747.msg965382#msg965382

Firefox 23 is about to drop in about a couple of days usually on tuesday.  Like I posted before, if any official Avast people have updated scripshield dlls they would like to distribute b/c Avast doesn't want to release a patch, we would welcome it.   
Latest Avast Stable, Windows 8.1 64 bit

Offline Tetsuo

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 594
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2013, 06:32:22 PM »
Firefox 23 is about to drop in about a couple of days usually on tuesday.  Like I posted before, if any official Avast people have updated scripshield dlls they would like to distribute b/c Avast doesn't want to release a patch, we would welcome it.

Script Shield stuff is updated via "Virus Definitions Updates". Basically, they could just use the virus definitions updates to ship the "patch".

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Admin ForoAntispyware
    • Foroantispyware
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #13 on: August 05, 2013, 01:51:28 PM »
tomorrow relase final version firefox 23,,,Will be solved.?
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Seguridad:Avast Premium Security- Malwarebytes Premiun-

Offline miguelgrado

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 618
  • Admin ForoAntispyware
    • Foroantispyware
Re: firefox 23 and shield of script
« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2013, 12:31:31 PM »
Any news ?  todat relase firefox 23..is fixit?
miguel:CPU:intel core 2 quad q9400 2.7 ghz-ram 8 g ddr3 1333 mhz-grafica nvidia g force 220gt 1 g ram-SO windows 10 pro 64 bits-Seguridad:Avast Premium Security- Malwarebytes Premiun-