Author Topic: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)  (Read 321313 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Toilet+Duck

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #435 on: October 24, 2013, 12:58:50 AM »
You have your opinions, I have mine. :)
Since there isn't anything that I can do, I'll wait to see what happens. :)

That sure makes things interesting isnt it hehe  ::)

And yes, all we can do is playing the waiting game and hope for an better tommorrow  ;D (wishfull thinking)

Offline Arnold72

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 564
  • RIP.Jay "padre" Miner.(May 31, 1932 – June 20, 19
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #436 on: October 24, 2013, 01:08:44 AM »
I have had the new release installed for a few days now and it is running sweetly with no issues.Im perfectly satisfied with this version.
Avast Free V9.0.2006.||Comodo Firewall 6.3||Sandboxie.||SUA.||Firefox Web Browser.

Offline thekochs

  • Speak Your Mind, Who minds don't matter, Who matters won't mind
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1115
  • Hapkido Blackbelt
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006) & W7 Defender ?
« Reply #437 on: October 24, 2013, 05:33:50 AM »
OK....question............

I know from this post below that Avast prior versions could be run with Windows 7 Defender.
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=38283.0
But this version comparison from Avast for v9 shows it to be A/V AND Spyware/Malware
http://www.avast.com/en-us/compare-antivirus
I'm running W7 64bit with V8 now (waiting for v9 to be more stable) with WD....both real time, both have nightly (different time) scans.
My fallback is to MalwareBytes (not real time) for scan if something is missed by above.
I know Windows 8 "Defender" is not same as Windows 7 and should not be used with Avast.....the rule of thumb is one A/V + one MW/Spyware is Ok. However, with Avast V9 is this now both A/V + MW/Spyware (?)....so in other words do not run WD in W7 ?

Thx.
OpenDNS + Avast Free + MBAM Premium + MBAE Free Anti-Exploit + CryptoPrevent + Windows Firewall
Avast FAQ Videos
Avast 2016 Videos
Avast Clean Un/Re-Install How-To

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7078
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #438 on: October 24, 2013, 05:50:24 AM »
If you have Avast 2014 installed you don't need/want another Anti virus.
Avast protection is highly effective, efficient and strong. ;)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline +AdDicT+

  • Anime Otaku!
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 710
  • Defense is the best offense!
    • Watch anime^^
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #439 on: October 24, 2013, 05:58:28 AM »
Love the new UI :) Fresh and clean

Thanks avast team
Currently watching: Detective Conan, Maoyuu Mao Yuusha, and many others!
Avast 9.x Free, Windows Firewall, Firefox 24.x, Win 7 Ultimate
Last updated: Oct 24, 2013

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006) & W7 Defender ?
« Reply #440 on: October 24, 2013, 06:42:31 AM »
OK....question............

I know from this post below that Avast prior versions could be run with Windows 7 Defender.
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=38283.0
But this version comparison from Avast for v9 shows it to be A/V AND Spyware/Malware
http://www.avast.com/en-us/compare-antivirus
I'm running W7 64bit with V8 now (waiting for v9 to be more stable) with WD....both real time, both have nightly (different time) scans.
My fallback is to MalwareBytes (not real time) for scan if something is missed by above.
I know Windows 8 "Defender" is not same as Windows 7 and should not be used with Avast.....the rule of thumb is one A/V + one MW/Spyware is Ok. However, with Avast V9 is this now both A/V + MW/Spyware (?)....so in other words do not run WD in W7 ?

Thx.
I've found WD for W7 to be redundant and not very good at real-time detections/blocks, either.  Rule of thumb here is to run only one real-time antispyware scanner at a time, and avast! antispyware real-time scanner is sufficient for your needs just by itself.  Otherwise, if you choose to run both, greater system resources are used to do the same/slightly different thing by two different real-time antispyware scanners.  This seems to result in the case of wasted system resources that otherwise could be used elsewhere.  So, no.  It's really not a question of whether they are compatible or not, it is just that one is not very good at what it purports to do.  WD, that is.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline quinten22

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #441 on: October 24, 2013, 07:56:55 AM »
Hey,
After installing te update I got a virus. Result : White Screen. ???
It took me houres to get my pc clean. I couldn't get avast of my pc.

Made a clean pc. Re-install avast and.....no fire wall. Now I know the reason for the virus.
I shut down the W7 firewall. Could be a conflict. NOPE  :'(

This is a verry bad update!!!!  >:(
Is there a Dutch version?

Personal help? NO. Can't find the internet page.
Is it possible to install the preveous version?

Greetings,
Quinten


Offline xtinguish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #442 on: October 24, 2013, 12:32:01 PM »
No problems so far on Win XP SP3 with half a gig ram for me apart from having to disable CTFMON file. Hope my luck continues.

Offline aljokerr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #443 on: October 25, 2013, 01:41:17 AM »
Hello problem Avast new you update the new version and everything is okay, but I noticed after using the device for half an hour freezes system windows and becomes everything is unresponsive, but do I Ba restart the machine for two days did not solve the problem and you delete it and go back to a previous version please answer I hope this problemI love avast so much and I can not give it up

Offline KrisM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #444 on: October 25, 2013, 02:18:58 AM »
I get box message  "the avast mail shield encountered a problem with the secure connection to your mail server. you may need to configure the ssl scan feature manually".  All that offers me is to shut off scanning ssl mail.  It does not tell me which mail account it is triggering on.  Win 8.1 current.  Thunderbird.  EDIT: all mail works fine.  But it keeps giving me this message, perhaps once a day.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2013, 02:37:27 AM by KrisM »

Offline roger.pman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #445 on: October 25, 2013, 09:35:07 AM »
Are Avast sorting the problem that when a VPS update is installed the facebook security notice doesn`t pop-up (I don`t have facebook installed) and there is no voice. Not long ago the voice said Avast antivirus had been update and a pop-up notification of the same occurred.
It would be nice to see them both back.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46140
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #446 on: October 25, 2013, 10:41:10 AM »
Are Avast sorting the problem that when a VPS update is installed the facebook security notice doesn`t pop-up (I don`t have facebook installed) and there is no voice. Not long ago the voice said Avast antivirus had been update and a pop-up notification of the same occurred.
It would be nice to see them both back.
A know bug and something Avast is working on I.m sure.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline afix

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1569
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #447 on: October 25, 2013, 02:58:06 PM »
Скажите пожалуйста, обновил Аваст IS до 2014 и во время сканирования при загрузке он обнаружил инфмцированный файл но при попытке что либо с ним сделать он выдаёт ошибку 0x80000006. И ещё при попытке запустить на нетбуке Сей Зона появляется синий экран смерти.
Обращайтесь на русскую ветку форума.Или Вы её не нашли? http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=28.0
« Last Edit: October 25, 2013, 03:03:27 PM by afix »

Offline AlphaUMi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Mumble mumble...
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #448 on: October 25, 2013, 05:25:44 PM »
Are Avast sorting the problem that when a VPS update is installed the facebook security notice doesn`t pop-up (I don`t have facebook installed) and there is no voice. Not long ago the voice said Avast antivirus had been update and a pop-up notification of the same occurred.
It would be nice to see them both back.
A know bug and something Avast is working on I.m sure.

When I updated avast! to version 9.0.2006 through the GUI three days ago, I was one of the guys that encountered no problems at all except for this bug. Then, today I decided to uninstall through the uninstall utility, then reinstall avast!, just to have a clean installation, not expecting anything but... I have the voices and the correct pop-pup now! I already noticed this twice: the first just after re-installation, the second half an hour ago. I'm using the Italian language, and the OS is XP SP3.

Note that after uninstalling avast! I also deleted two remaining folder containing settings and located in appdata (or documents and settings). Not sure if this is relevant, just saying.

Strange...
"Vitam impendere vero"

Offline skinnypops

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • backup, backup, backup
Re: AVAST 2014 (9.0.2006)
« Reply #449 on: October 25, 2013, 06:47:12 PM »
hi guys.

got normal update popup and sound this am.   i have not reinstalled. all seems entirely normal with avast now, as popup problem is only problem i have found so far.
to AlphaUMi: probable coincidence

vista 32 bit, avast 2014, private firewall

skinnypops
new HP , amd a10-8700p quad core @ 1.8 gig radeon r6 graphics ,dedicated radeon r8 2gb graphics card, 8 gig ddr3-1600 memory, 1 tb hdd, win 10x64 home 1607 build 14393.1066, avast free 17.3.2291,  windows firewall, mbae free, mbam free, open dns, cryptoprevent, mcshield, paragon bu & recovery 2015,system explorer