Author Topic: No User Interface  (Read 17618 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83960
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #30 on: October 30, 2013, 03:04:21 AM »
The UI tray icon being displayed, generally happens well after the main avast service starts - try this, soon after boot open the task manager and check what processes are running for avast, you should see avastSvc.exe and avastui.exe ?

If the avastui.exe is there, but no tray icon, something is blocking that.

The avastui.exe isn't a security based element of avast, but the interface and it also performs other interface tasks, but not security related.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.602) UI-1.0.566/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #31 on: October 30, 2013, 05:26:46 PM »
DavidR,

I did as you suggested, looked at the WTM/Processes and Avastscv.exe is running but no Avastui.exe until I click on the desktop link.

HankJS

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83960
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #32 on: October 30, 2013, 06:00:31 PM »
I'm at a bit of a loss with this, I haven't seen anything as resistant to being resolved having tried the most common issues for this problem.

Can you check the msconfig again, startup list, you said the entry was there for avastui.exe, but is the box checked (as assume it was (or you would have said), but confirmation is better than assumption ?

Something else that we used to do in very early avast versions (4.x and 5.x) where there was this issue was to create a shortcut in the Start Menu > startup folder (essentially the command in the msconfig, startup tab), see image example.

For me on XP this would be the location - C:\Documents and Settings\David\Start Menu\Programs\Startup, I have no problem creating these startup shortcuts on this system.

However, for Win7 it should be here C:\Users\UserName\Start Menu\Programs\Startup, but you come up against a bit of a brick wall when trying to get into the Start Menu folder (bl00dy permissions). I use win7 on my netbook and I really don't like it. Hopefully you will have better luck or someone more familiar with win7 can point the way.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.602) UI-1.0.566/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #33 on: October 30, 2013, 06:15:44 PM »
Then something is blocking the automatic start of this process/file.  Is this entry in msconfig ticked to start automatically?  Avast Antivirus>Avast Software>"C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\avastUI.exe" /nogui  This is under the Startup tab in msconfig.

If it is not, enable by ticking it and reboot.

You can look to see if it is missing in the registry under the registry key:  HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run  Use REGEDIT to view only.

IMPORTANT:  Do not make any changes here if missing or present.  Just report back what you see.  You don't want to cause any damage.



Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #34 on: October 30, 2013, 07:50:00 PM »
MSCONFIG has that line in and it is checked.

I try to stay out of the registry, but I find HKEY not HKLM prefixes.

I did a string search on "Wow6432Node" but it didn't appear in the location string you gave.

HankJS


Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #35 on: October 30, 2013, 08:10:13 PM »
Here is the screenshot of msconfig Win 7 64-bit SP1 below:

Offer still stands to ask a certified malware expert come in to help.  Many tricks up their sleeves other than removing malware.  Interested?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #36 on: October 30, 2013, 08:40:01 PM »
Sorry, I was looking in the registry for that line.

There are no "Wow*" lines anywhere in the msconfig startup list.

HankJS

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #37 on: October 30, 2013, 09:09:37 PM »
Well, we are now at a point where I know my limitations.  I always follow a motto adhered to by all certified malware experts here at Avast! forums:  "Do no harm to a victim's system" and can go no further without any guarantee that any advice I would propose would not harm your system.

Making a manual settings change to your registry would fall into that category, as I cannot know if you've used absolutely the correct syntax and spelling as I am not in front of your system, and if you've also completely backed up your registry before making the recommended change, so you could later restore that known good, and clean registry if there is a problem. 

Absolutely not why I provide help for free; integrity plays a definite role here.

Other than follow the recommended advice above, I do not know what else to do for you.

Which is why I never run a registry cleaner on any system I am responsible for; editing a key or other is limited to only the keys affected by the current issue and no other, ever.

[EDIT:]  Fixed typo.

The fact there are no WoW lines may be your issue.  You really need the help of a certified expert to verify that fact, and address it with some of the tools they know how to use.  As an evangelist, I cannot do that for you.  Not trained, nor am I certified here to do so.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2013, 09:29:16 PM by mchain »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #38 on: October 30, 2013, 09:46:32 PM »
I certainly appreciate your position.  But as mentioned in this thread, this is a six year old system and have already spent $170 on a software repair service I will more than likely nerve use again.  The problem existed before they went to wot on the system.

It appears Avast anti virus free is working, but I have to manually invoke the UI.  Not perfect.  I know the UI is working because I added a site to allow javascript that I use frequently.

I checked the HDD partitions.  There is a 5GB partition which is probably the factory reinstall.  If I use that, XP comes back plus all the updating to SP3.  The other option is to do a complete reinstall of Windows 7.  If the problem is in the registry, I'm afraid the registry error might still be there with the install that doesn't lose the data.

HankJS
Newark, DE

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #39 on: October 31, 2013, 02:23:20 PM »
Just be sure to only run a Windows 7 repair only.  Do not re-install the operating system as you will lose all your personal files if you do so.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #40 on: October 31, 2013, 02:55:31 PM »
If I do the Windows 7 repair, which leaves installed programs and personal files intact, if the problem is in the registry won't the problem migrate over as well?

It's been awhile since I used the OS install disks, but I think there is a backup utility which was meant to transfer the old configuration (XP) to the Windows 7 system.

I'm tempted to backup personal files and do a complete reinstallation.

HankJS

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #41 on: October 31, 2013, 03:57:20 PM »
Bad News-  I have Win 7 laptop I don't use that often which I installed Avast Antivirus free and it has the same problem....no UI.

What neither of the two problem systems have in the msconfig are those "Wow6432node" location strings.  My primary desktop system has those and everything works fine

??
HankJS
Newark, DE

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #42 on: October 31, 2013, 06:13:38 PM »
Are both systems 32-bit or 64-bit?  WoW is present only in 64-bit systems.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.

Offline HankJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #43 on: October 31, 2013, 06:33:58 PM »
After a little bit of reading, that's what I concluded.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5416
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: No User Interface
« Reply #44 on: October 31, 2013, 07:01:10 PM »
OK, so they are each 32-bit?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 Avast Premier Security version 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.559) UI version 1.0.460.