Author Topic: Avast 2014 Rescue Disk  (Read 13466 times)

jtrainer

Avast 2014 Rescue Disk
« on: October 30, 2013, 06:26:42 PM »
Hey all,

I've got  an odd problem with creating a rescue disk on USB or CD (iso file).  I'm new to Avast so I tried looking at online information and searching the forums before posting but didn't find much to my situation.  I'm running Windows 8.1 Enterprise 64 bit on my laptop and install Avast 2014 Free Edition (2014.9.0.2006).  I saw in the user interface for avast to create a rescue disk and since I have found those helpful in the past, I decided to create one.  If I click on "USB" to install on USB, it goes through the motions but nothing is written to USB Flash Drive.  The flash drive is 4GB and not write protected.  I then decided to try to create a CD ISO file but when I select folder (local hard drive) to write the ISO file, again it acts like it creates it but nothing is written to the folder specified.

Now one thing I noticed that is odd to me is when it starts the process to create a rescue disk (usb or cd).  I see a progress bar that shows "installing toolkit" and it starts off around 1/3 of the bar already filled (so it doesn't look like it start at 0) and progresses for about 5-10 seconds, then I end up at the regular "rescue disk screen" so I never see a completion message.

I have uninstalled and reinstalled Avast 2014 Free but still had the same problem.  I also used the avast clear utility to remove Avast and then reinstall Avast but still see the same problem.  I've run out of ideas so I was curious if anyone else has seen this behavior.  Also, I was hoping to confirm if the Rescue Disk feature is supposed to work on the Free Edition (just wanted to make sure its not a "paid edition" feature).

Thanks for your help!

Offline giogio

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
Re: Avast 2014 Rescue Disk
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2013, 06:43:47 PM »
Hi ,