Author Topic: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics  (Read 13114 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1440
Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« on: March 22, 2014, 11:58:57 AM »
Hello everyone! I think this is a dumb question to ask or not lol. Whenever I do a manual VPS update if there is an vps update or not at the end it always says this "Sending statistics".

Question: What statistics does Avast send to the Avast Team after an update or no update?
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1237), Trend Micro Maximum Security 2021 (17.0.1333), Avast SecureLine VPN (5.12.5655), Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.2

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2014, 03:59:07 PM »
Non-personal stats. Malware detected, scans run, number of files scanned, avast version number, number of infected URLs visited, etc.
Avast does not and will not give out any personal private data.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline plsrepli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2014, 04:48:04 PM »
The problem for me is that it is taking forever to send those stats. Anyone else try the manual definition update and run into the same problem on v2016?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71878
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2014, 05:00:40 PM »
The problem for me is that it is taking forever to send those stats. Anyone else try the manual definition update and run into the same problem on v2016?

Nope, it runs smooth here.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6605.IBC [UI.666] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.14 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.1.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 93.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline ManfromUN

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2014, 07:32:48 PM »
Sending statistics at the end of the update procedure takes about 1,5 minute. Screen freezes.
Is this new this sending statistics? Please new version with option to switch off this nonsens.
(Win 8.0, XP)
« Last Edit: March 22, 2014, 08:28:46 PM by ManfromUN »

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2014, 07:45:27 PM »
GUI>Settings>Updates>Settings>make selection.

Whether you choose auto or manual each time avast updates there will always be a certain amount of housekeeping.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline ManfromUN

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2014, 08:19:53 PM »
It's only since the latest release yesterday (vs 2016) that avast freezes for about 2 minutes after update. Instup.exe stays active.
I only use manual updates b.t.w.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2014, 08:29:25 PM by ManfromUN »

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1440
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2014, 10:04:36 PM »
Thanks for the infos guys.

@plsrepli: Nope mine works just fine
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1237), Trend Micro Maximum Security 2021 (17.0.1333), Avast SecureLine VPN (5.12.5655), Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.2

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2014, 10:17:10 PM »
It's only since the latest release yesterday (vs 2016) that avast freezes for about 2 minutes after update. Instup.exe stays active.
I only use manual updates b.t.w.

Try a repair...Control Panel>Uninstall a Program>double click "avast">click "repair">reboot  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline iroc9555

  • CCS, Vzla.
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7458
  • No soporte por PM.
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2014, 10:34:21 PM »
The problem for me is that it is taking forever to send those stats. Anyone else try the manual definition update and run into the same problem on v2016?

You can see how long it took when Update finishes it in the UPDATE window.
Hernan.
Dim 9200. C2D E6600; 2.40GHz. 4GB DDR2RAM. XP Pro_86. Spk3. IE8 & FF41. Avast FREE 2015. CIS 5.12(FW/D+). MBAM Premium. MCShield. WinPatrol +. SpywareBlasterOpenDNS. uBlock. WOT. Sandboxie

Offline plsrepli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2014, 11:53:58 PM »
Thanks to all who have responded. It seems like only some have this issue. The update completes very quickly but the sending stats part took forever. Here's what I did to address my issue. So, I have a laptop and a desktop. Both were provisioned via a clean install of v2016 (after running avastclear). Now, initially, my laptop showed the lag during (sending stats) but the desktop did not. FYI, my wifi speed is just as fast as my desktop (57/11) so that was not an issue. I finally did an Avast repair install on my laptop and that seems to have fixed my issue. Why or how? Who knows...

Edit: The only noticeable difference is my laptop has an OEM Win 8.0 installation and my desktop is running Win 8.1 (clean install).
« Last Edit: March 23, 2014, 12:09:12 AM by plsrepli »

Offline ManfromUN

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2014, 08:52:36 AM »
In the Total Time display after update, sending statistic is not included. It shows 9 seconds or so, while sending stats is about 2 minutes.

This morning on both the machines, sending stats took about 3 seconds while yesterday it took 100 seconds or more. Without doing any repair. So is it possible that the Avast server used for receiving statistics is overloaded? Like a DDOS?


Offline been

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2014, 09:08:08 AM »
I had assumed that opting out of 'community participation' would mean that there would be no submission of stats (that's what the text against the tick box suggests). Is this not the case?

Offline plsrepli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2014, 09:45:51 AM »
In the Total Time display after update, sending statistic is not included. It shows 9 seconds or so, while sending stats is about 2 minutes.

This morning on both the machines, sending stats took about 3 seconds while yesterday it took 100 seconds or more. Without doing any repair. So is it possible that the Avast server used for receiving statistics is overloaded? Like a DDOS?

That's a very good point IMHO; however, it just seemed too coincidental that mine did not work "right before" the repair and then started to work properly "right after" the repair. I wonder if it has something to do with their specific server arrangement and we were just assigned an overloaded server as "first choice?" For the record, I always seem to access Avast9 when doing a manual update. Does that mean there are also Avast servers 1 thru 8 as well?

Offline been

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Avast! 2014.9.0.2016 - Sending statictics
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2014, 10:14:37 AM »
Avast9 probably refers to the update stream for Avast v9 (2014), which is separate from that for earlier versions.