Author Topic: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan  (Read 23992 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #45 on: July 21, 2014, 10:28:38 PM »
Heard back from Avast Technical Support, and they said development has stated that the opening of the UI after a scheduled scan completes is a bug and will be fixed as soon as possible.

Thanks, priest_lucas, for following up on this!  I got sidetracked by unexpected medical issues for both me and my mother, and lost track of developments about it.

Maybe I should recruit you to track down the reason why my car's "Check Engine" light has recently decided to to show up at some very inopportune times, but, of course, not when my dealer is watching it! :)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47144
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #46 on: July 21, 2014, 10:43:06 PM »
Heard back from Avast Technical Support, and they said development has stated that the opening of the UI after a scheduled scan completes is a bug and will be fixed as soon as possible.

Thanks, priest_lucas, for following up on this!  I got sidetracked by unexpected medical issues for both me and my mother, and lost track of developments about it.

Maybe I should recruit you to track down the reason why my car's "Check Engine" light has recently decided to to show up at some very inopportune times, but, of course, not when my dealer is watching it!<$1alt="" title="" onresizestart="return false;" id="smiley__$2" style="padding: 0 3px 0 3px;" />
Check your gas cap....
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #47 on: July 21, 2014, 10:55:33 PM »
Hey, Bob,

We have actually fiddled with the cap, and even replaced it and a fuel sensor sending unit, or something like that;  the sensor appeared to instantly stop the code, so they cleared the ECU, and off I went.  For about four days.  The new theory is that, since the ECU is now storing a "mixture too rich" code, an ECU software flash to a newer version might be called for.

I might have offended the d**n thing when I swore at it after the first gas cap replacement didn't do the trick.  Maybe I need to quietly whisper an apology into its tailpipe...

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #48 on: July 22, 2014, 01:13:24 AM »
@ Crashman
I had something similar the engine warning light would come on - if I pulled over and switched the engine off and shortly after restarted it would be off again.

This was found to be a sensor (lamda sensor or something like that) in the exhaust (tail pipe) system, so your idea of talking to the tail pipe might not be too far from the possible problem.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #49 on: July 22, 2014, 03:16:34 AM »
Maybe I should recruit you to track down the reason why my car's "Check Engine" light has recently decided to to show up at some very inopportune times, but, of course, not when my dealer is watching it! :)
I recently discovered that by turning my Dodge's key on and off 3 times (ending up with it on) I can read a code out on the dash that describes what the onboard computer has complained about recently via the Check Engine light.

I got a good laugh out of that, because the repair facilities would have us believe they hook into the car with a giant, expensive diagnostic system to determine what's wrong.

Maybe your car has a similar capability.

-Noel

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #50 on: July 22, 2014, 05:09:06 AM »
Maybe I should recruit you to track down the reason why my car's "Check Engine" light has recently decided to to show up at some very inopportune times, but, of course, not when my dealer is watching it! :)
I recently discovered that by turning my Dodge's key on and off 3 times (ending up with it on) I can read a code out on the dash that describes what the onboard computer has complained about recently via the Check Engine light.

I got a good laugh out of that, because the repair facilities would have us believe they hook into the car with a giant, expensive diagnostic system to determine what's wrong.

Maybe your car has a similar capability.

-Noel
@ Crashman
I had something similar the engine warning light would come on - if I pulled over and switched the engine off and shortly after restarted it would be off again.

This was found to be a sensor (lamda sensor or something like that) in the exhaust (tail pipe) system, so your idea of talking to the tail pipe might not be too far from the possible problem.

Thanks, guys, for the input!

DavidR, I think you're sensor idea is on the right track.  My service adviser thinks that maybe once the new fuel level sensor began reporting the tank level correctly, the ECU saw that information and thinks that more gasoline is being pumped to the engine than actually is (since it had learned based on a too-high fuel tank level being reported before).  So, the new sensor starting reporting accurate tank level data, but the ECU is reacting to that based on old learning using data from the faulty sensor, and it thinks it's running too rich when it really isn't.  Or, something like that... I'm giving myself a headache...

NoelC, once we get all the onboard chips reflashed/reset and stand on our heads and sing the South Korean national anthem ;D or whatever we end up doing to clear this up, I'll try poking around to find a neat trick like yours.  Nice to know that a repair shop has a way to find this stuff out that doesn't require the expensive equipment that customers past their warranty pay a nice penny for using!

At least I have a new game to play:  Which will get ironed out first, the "avast! UI popping up" thing or my "Mixture too rich" thing?

Thanks to both for sharing your experience...

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #51 on: July 22, 2014, 05:15:48 PM »
You're welcome, happy hunting & good luck.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47144
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #52 on: July 22, 2014, 05:22:53 PM »
Quote
At least I have a new game to play:  Which will get ironed out first, the "avast! UI popping up" thing or my "Mixture too rich" thing?
Let's hope they aren't related. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #53 on: July 22, 2014, 07:53:14 PM »
Quote
At least I have a new game to play:  Which will get ironed out first, the "avast! UI popping up" thing or my "Mixture too rich" thing?
Let's hope they aren't related. :)

You know, Bob3160, I never thought of that possibility.  Since I am the only link between the two, maybe I need my karma reflashed!  That could explain a fair number of strange events over the past several years.

BTW, my money is on avast winning this race...

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47144
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #54 on: July 22, 2014, 07:56:20 PM »
Quote
BTW, my money is on avast winning this race...
For it's 220 Million users sake, I sure hope so. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #55 on: May 07, 2015, 04:05:47 PM »
I'd like to bump this as I'm still having this UI popup issue in the latest version of Avast.  Will this bug get fixed anytime soon?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #56 on: May 07, 2015, 04:14:06 PM »
I'd like to bump this as I'm still having this UI popup issue in the latest version of Avast.  Will this bug get fixed anytime soon?
It's happening for me too.
The best things in life are free.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #57 on: May 07, 2015, 04:44:12 PM »
Still happening for me, too, with the latest version.

Offline merckxist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #58 on: May 07, 2015, 06:48:05 PM »
+1. The behavior in the latest version (2015.10.2.2218) has changed somewhat for me. So far, I only get sporadic pop-ups for "no virus found" after the scheduled scan. Previous versions also produced, as well, occasional pop-ups for "virus found" that seemed to be false positives since the logs always showed zero threats found. I haven't seen one of those yet for the latest version.

Also, since I haven't been keeping a formal log of these events, I can't say for certain, but the frequency of the pop-ups seemed to dwindle over time with the prior version, but happens more often again after the upgrade. Not logical, but just a feeling.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast UI opens after scheduled scan
« Reply #59 on: May 08, 2015, 01:38:26 AM »
I heard from Lukas at Avast and he said this will be fixed in the next release, sometime in June or July