Author Topic: forced dropbox  (Read 5949 times)

REDACTED

forced dropbox
« on: July 15, 2014, 04:26:23 AM »
i do not enjoy having programs installed on my PC without my consent.. with this last update when i restarted my computer, Avast FORCED me to install dropbox.. it said it was finishing the update and installed it. no option to stop the install.. so I will no longer be using Avast and as a Staples resident tech i will no longer be recommending it to my customers..

Offline Staticguy

• Super Poster
Re: forced dropbox
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2014, 05:04:37 AM »
Prior to installing Avast! it gives u options to whether or not to install Dropbox or Google Chrome you just need to read it and deselect if you don't want them! All it takes for us is effort to read them properly and choose our decisions based on the installer.

For now you can simply uninstall dropbox via add/remove no harm done.
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1237), Trend Micro Maximum Security 2021 (17.0.1333), Avast SecureLine VPN (5.12.5655), Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.2

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2014, 11:32:18 AM »
avast didn't forced you at all.
It was your own choice to install Dropbox.
As Staticguy said, you should have read first.

Another pebkac error.

Offline Skakara

« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2014, 02:36:54 PM »
It was your own choice to install Dropbox.
This actually would be correct IF it would be opt-IN.

REDACTED

« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2014, 04:13:13 PM »
While I agree that Avast acts a lot like some of the malware we're trying to block with it, in this day and age of aggressive marketing it would be naïve to the extreme to think you can just blaze through everything pressing the biggest, shiniest buttons.

You would be wise to take responsibility for your own actions - or inactions.