Author Topic: can avast 2015 antivirus turn on VT-X/AMD-V in bios automatically?  (Read 4669 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline subhendu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
can avast 2015 antivirus turn on VT-X/AMD-V in bios automatically?
« on: September 20, 2014, 10:06:03 PM »
hai all

can avast 2015 turn on VT-X/AMD-V in bios automatically during the installation of avast 2015 antivirus, if it is disable by default ? because many novice users will get help from this and it will be easy for them to use NG fully. can avast do it for all their users? may be in final release of avast 2015?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71784
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: can avast 2015 antivirus turn on VT-X/AMD-V in bios automatically?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2014, 10:37:04 PM »
can avast 2015 turn on VT-X/AMD-V in bios automatically during the installation of avast 2015 antivirus, if it is disable by default ?
Nope.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.8.6586.IBC [UI.666] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.14 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 93.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.84
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Andrey,pro

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5016
  • Things happen
Re: can avast 2015 antivirus turn on VT-X/AMD-V in bios automatically?
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2014, 10:48:51 PM »
Quote
5 - VT-x is OFF by default on all boards, be it Asus, MSI, Gigabyte or whatelse, so, aside from the enthusiasts, who turn it on, who will actually use NG?
Even if you have VT-X/AMD-V disabled in BIOS, sometimes it can be turned on programmatically. We know exactly how many our users have VT-X/AMD-V enabled (or we can enable it) or without it (on XP/Vista as I mentioned).

Offline abreuer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: can avast 2015 antivirus turn on VT-X/AMD-V in bios automatically?
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2015, 08:05:51 AM »
hi all,
I need the intel virtual technologies for android development ,
the intel vt-x is used to emulate the actual device on the pc screen.
the avast (10.2)  disables to vt-x in bios.
do you know how to enable  the vt-x and still use avast?
thanks

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9383
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: can avast 2015 antivirus turn on VT-X/AMD-V in bios automatically?
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2015, 08:48:30 AM »
You ca only have one Hypervisor on a PC. But supposedly avast! is working on compatibility that allows additional virtualised environments to co-exist with avast!. I think it's only limited to virtualization software like VirtualBox and VMWare...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: can avast 2015 antivirus turn on VT-X/AMD-V in bios automatically?
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2015, 08:03:53 PM »
Sometimes Avast can enable VT-x if it's disabled in BIOS, but usually it's not possible. VT-x is also not required on 32-bit OSes (except Win8+). Avast detects Hyper-V (or hypervisor for Android development) and then I think Avast doesn't use VT-x. There's also a technology called nested virtualization which allows you to have multiple hypervisors, but it's only supported on newer HW and it's quite slow.