Author Topic: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu  (Read 18383 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdamusPL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
"avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« on: November 07, 2014, 08:48:37 PM »
Hi
i have avast free 2015.10.0.2206 and when i open "program and features" on windows 7sp1 x64
"avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu until i close that window.
everything is fine then avast service is off.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2014, 09:21:02 PM »
Install the latest version (2015.10.0.2208) and see if problem is solved.

Offline NoelC

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 569
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2014, 05:35:10 AM »
Are there release notes for these program updates somewhere?  I've not run across them.

Thanks.

-Noel

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72228
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2014, 05:38:05 AM »
Are there release notes for these program updates somewhere?  I've not run across them.
-> https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=159528.0
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6675.IBC [UI.671] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.15 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 94.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline AdamusPL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2014, 07:42:24 PM »
after update nothing change
still using >90% after open "program and features"

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72228
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2014, 07:32:41 AM »
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6675.IBC [UI.671] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.15 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 94.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Giraffe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 241
  • I'm not a Lama!
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2014, 11:12:47 AM »
I had to remove 2015 due to AvastSvc.exe using ~50% of CPU. It added about 100% to boot time and around 50% to opening programmes.
Customised installation: 3 Shield and Rescue Disc, nothing else.
W7 Pro SP1 32 bit
Intel Core i5 5675C; 4GB DDR3 1600 RAM
Avast!: 2328; Comodo Firewall

Offline NoelC

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 569
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2014, 04:31:32 PM »
after update nothing change
still using >90% after open "program and features"
Avast of course has to scan all the installer packages referenced when you open Programs & Features, but it normally settles down after the Programs & Features panel is filled with all the software you have installed.  Are you saying it's not settling down even after the panel stops filling?

-Noel

Offline AdamusPL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2014, 07:46:02 PM »
after update nothing change
still using >90% after open "program and features"
Avast of course has to scan all the installer packages referenced when you open Programs & Features, but it normally settles down after the Programs & Features panel is filled with all the software you have installed.  Are you saying it's not settling down even after the panel stops filling?

-Noel

But it takes more then 5 min and cant use a computer for that time :(

Offline AdamusPL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2014, 07:50:25 PM »
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
i'm using only avast and never had other AV

Offline gelabel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2014, 08:18:46 PM »
Disabling the Avast Firewall makes AvastSvc stop using that huge amount of CPU...
At least in my case it worked that way.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72228
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2014, 05:02:41 AM »
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
i'm using only avast and never had other AV
1. Download Avast Free Antivirus: http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
2. Follow instructions: http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (Run this tool for all prior installed Avast versions..!!)
3. Reinstall Avast with the downloaded installer from point 1.
4. Reboot.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6675.IBC [UI.671] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.15 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 94.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Giraffe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 241
  • I'm not a Lama!
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2014, 06:23:35 PM »
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
i'm using only avast and never had other AV
1. Download Avast Free Antivirus: http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
2. Follow instructions: http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (Run this tool for all prior installed Avast versions..!!)
3. Reinstall Avast with the downloaded installer from point 1.
4. Reboot.
I did this twice and also cleaned out the Registry and still AvastSvc.exe churns away - NG not installed.
W7 Pro SP1 32 bit
Intel Core i5 5675C; 4GB DDR3 1600 RAM
Avast!: 2328; Comodo Firewall

Offline runningwolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2014, 08:33:38 PM »
I've recently been experiencing intermittent freezes on my Dell desktop running XP pro.  While monitoring Task Manager I noticed that the freezes occurred when avastSvc.exe was at a very high CPU usage (over 90%).  As soon as the high usage dropped to a lower value (0% to 5%) the computer would continue to run normally.  At the time my version of avast was Internet Security 2014.  Upon consulting the avast web forum I found the same problem from another user using a 2015 version (but not the latest).  One of the suggestions was to reload the latest version of avast (fixed this users problem).  When I loaded the latest 2015 version the problem now appears to be corrected.  Have no idea what was causing the original problem but hopefully this will take care of it.  Can anyone explain why the avastSvc.exe would have such a high CPU usage?

Offline runningwolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2014, 08:53:09 PM »
On my last post I stated after reloading the latest version of avast 2015 the problem appeared to go away.  But I've noticed it occasionally still kicks up to a high usage, but not nearly as often or remain in that status for as long.  Are there any other suggestions as to how to correct this situation?