Author Topic: avastSupport.exe tune up  (Read 30237 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1427
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2015, 11:59:18 AM »
Awesome. Hope final testing and release of final version is nearby. This tool should be bug free  ;)
statistics says there is nothing like bugless software ;)

Agreed 100%  :). Today I have found one minor bug in the latest version of Avast Free and reported it via AvastSupport.exe. Let me find software bugs inside avastSupport.exe and I will kick them out lol... we all will wait for the final release  :). Out of all the antivirus i.e. McAfee, MSE, Norton, and etc that I have used so far in many years. I sticked to Avast since version 7 and since then till now I don't have any regrets. Avast is awesome in it's main program (Avast antivirus), an awesome forum, and it's support to it's customers.
Equation: Awesome antivirus+awesome support+awesome forum=happy customers  :).

Goodnight. Have an awesome week Avast Team  :).
« Last Edit: March 06, 2015, 12:15:58 PM by Staticguy »
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1237), Trend Micro Maximum Security 2021 (17.0.1333), Avast SecureLine VPN (5.12.5655), Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.2

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3739
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2015, 01:23:53 PM »
Every time I run the tool I get this error.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 17 / Debian 12 / Tails 5
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Threat Protection ( Lite )

Offline lukas.hasik

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 928
  • Product manager of Avast Security for Windows
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2015, 01:28:23 PM »
Every time I run the tool I get this error.

Greetz, Red.
Could you try to go to Options and turn off the "Automatically send to AVAST" check box?
12029 means that server cannot be contacted. There are two actions when server is contacted now - 1) check the latest version 2) upload the generated package to FTP
Quality is also a feature.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3739
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #18 on: March 06, 2015, 01:36:56 PM »
Yes that worked :)

I did in fact turned that off in the previous versions tests.
Wanted to do the full test now, and didn't realise that would cause the error.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 17 / Debian 12 / Tails 5
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Threat Protection ( Lite )

Offline VladimirKaspar

  • Avast team
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #19 on: March 06, 2015, 01:47:38 PM »
Yes that worked :)

I did in fact turned that off in the previous versions tests.
Wanted to do the full test now, and didn't realise that would cause the error.

Greetz, Red.

Hi Rednose,
please, can you try find a support.log in your user folder and read what is going wrong with connection to the ftp server?
Support log is located in:
\Users\[user name]\AppData\Local\AvastSupport\support.log

thanks,
vladimir

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3739
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #20 on: March 06, 2015, 01:57:10 PM »
This is what you need ?

Last scan with the error :
Quote
6-3-2015 13:16:12:691     InitSupport
6-3-2015 13:16:12:707     Start generating support package: "C:\Users\Erik\AppData\Local\AvastSupport\20150306_1216_F1XHR_3491510297.zip"
6-3-2015 13:16:39:149     Win32 error: Het systeem kan het opgegeven pad niet vinden.   (AddDirToArchive persistent data)
6-3-2015 13:16:39:289     Win32 error: Het systeem kan het opgegeven pad niet vinden.   (AddDirToArchive Business\var\)
6-3-2015 13:16:39:289     Win32 error: Het systeem kan het opgegeven pad niet vinden.   (GetLatestFromDir, directory: C:\Windows\Minidump)
6-3-2015 13:16:39:289     End generating support package
6-3-2015 13:16:39:305     Cleaning
6-3-2015 13:16:39:305     RpcDestroyBinding failed
6-3-2015 13:17:00:334     Cannot connect to server ftp6.avast.com [error: 12029].

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 17 / Debian 12 / Tails 5
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Threat Protection ( Lite )

Offline VladimirKaspar

  • Avast team
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #21 on: March 06, 2015, 02:15:58 PM »
This is what you need ?

Last scan with the error :
Quote
6-3-2015 13:16:12:691     InitSupport
6-3-2015 13:16:12:707     Start generating support package: "C:\Users\Erik\AppData\Local\AvastSupport\20150306_1216_F1XHR_3491510297.zip"
6-3-2015 13:16:39:149     Win32 error: Het systeem kan het opgegeven pad niet vinden.   (AddDirToArchive persistent data)
6-3-2015 13:16:39:289     Win32 error: Het systeem kan het opgegeven pad niet vinden.   (AddDirToArchive Business\var\)
6-3-2015 13:16:39:289     Win32 error: Het systeem kan het opgegeven pad niet vinden.   (GetLatestFromDir, directory: C:\Windows\Minidump)
6-3-2015 13:16:39:289     End generating support package
6-3-2015 13:16:39:305     Cleaning
6-3-2015 13:16:39:305     RpcDestroyBinding failed
6-3-2015 13:17:00:334     Cannot connect to server ftp6.avast.com [error: 12029].

Greetz, Red.


yes, thanks a lot.
No new info is included.
Support package is uploaded via SFTP, this might be a problem...
Could you try to ping to ftp6.avast.com?

regards
vl.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3739
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #22 on: March 06, 2015, 02:29:40 PM »
Here you go.

( Having some problems with attachments in the sandboxed browser. Different problem lol )

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 17 / Debian 12 / Tails 5
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Threat Protection ( Lite )

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #23 on: March 06, 2015, 02:55:05 PM »
Just generating a test file now.   I am not having any problems as usual :)

File name  20150306_1351_IGW2K_3194315567.zip
Package ID : IGW2K

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3739
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #24 on: March 06, 2015, 03:17:18 PM »
I found the problem :)

It is Avast! SecureLine that is causing this.

- With SecureLine on I get the error.
- With SecureLine off all goes well.

I double checked it !

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 17 / Debian 12 / Tails 5
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Threat Protection ( Lite )

Offline VladimirKaspar

  • Avast team
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #25 on: March 06, 2015, 03:24:46 PM »
I found the problem :)

It is Avast! SecureLine that is causing this.

- With SecureLine on I get the error.
- With SecureLine off all goes well.

I double checked it !

Greetz, Red.

Great work!

thanks
vladimir


REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #26 on: March 06, 2015, 11:02:08 PM »
It took about 2 mins to analyze my sys and to send the package. Very easy to use.

My download automatically chose Spanish but every word in the UI was in English and with the ? missplaced. After changing to English and then back to Spanish, the UI showed all in Spanish.
- strange that it didn't show up in Spanish. We'll need to check it. What is locale on your OS?

- about the "?" - it's as designed. As this tool will be used even by "non-techies" we don't want to bother them with too many details. The details are there for advanced user however they are more hidden

No problem found. Language issue fixed.
Generated and sent report # 20150306_2150_RFHBY_912214455.zip

Good job. Thanks.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3739
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #27 on: March 11, 2015, 01:26:30 AM »
Any idea why SecureLine is causing a problem with this tool ?

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 17 / Debian 12 / Tails 5
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Threat Protection ( Lite )

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48476
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #28 on: March 15, 2015, 08:16:10 PM »
I have SecureLine running and have no errors ???

Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3739
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: avastSupport.exe tune up
« Reply #29 on: March 15, 2015, 08:29:31 PM »
If everyone had the same problem, there would be no fun in Beta testing Bob ;)

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 17 / Debian 12 / Tails 5
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Threat Protection ( Lite )