Author Topic: Is 2015.10.2.2213 RTM or not?  (Read 2729 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1639
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Is 2015.10.2.2213 RTM or not?
« on: March 02, 2015, 04:15:32 PM »
I have 3 PCs running 2015.10.0.2208/2209 (or so I was led to believe prior to responding to the news of an updated version.
See responses below - none of which make sense to me.  ::)
« Last Edit: March 02, 2015, 04:17:26 PM by Vladimyr »
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84907
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Is 2015.10.2.2213 RTM or not?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2015, 04:30:42 PM »
I commented about this in a couple of posts https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166883.msg1188635#msg1188635 - https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166883.msg1188743#msg1188743.

Basically it looked like the normal update servers haven't been populated yet (hence the you are already up to date) only the beta servers have been updated to what will ultimately become the release version (2015.10.2.2213) later this week.

I'm surprised you didn't find that as you participated in the topic that I gave my references.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1639
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: Is 2015.10.2.2213 RTM or not?
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2015, 08:00:55 PM »
Thanks DavidR . I did see your post and I should have explained more thoroughly.
I've just got another prompt popping up telling me, "An update to your version of avast is now available..."
"a new version of the program (2015.10.2.2213) is available."
I click to upgrade, steps 1 & 2, "updating statistics" and then"Already up to date. 2015.10.2.2209 - there is no such version.
I guess I'm doubly annoyed because the "cloud" product has a similar glitch. (2015.10.0.2504 vs 2015.10.1.2504)




There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline GTX66

  • AIS User Today
  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 460
  • AIS User Till Today
Re: Is 2015.10.2.2213 RTM or not?
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2015, 10:18:58 PM »
My AIS just updated to 2015.10.2.2014 everything works so far. :)

Offline Dumi86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Is 2015.10.2.2213 RTM or not?
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2015, 10:30:16 PM »
My Avast Free 10.0.2208 update Avast GUI to 10.2.2214  :) ;)
Gigabyte Ga-m68m-s2p(rev 1.0), 6000+X2 3.0ghz, 2gb ddr2 ram, 200gb samsung hdd, gigabyte nvidia 630gt 2gb, Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, Opera 29, Avast 2015 Free (10.2.2218)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84907
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Is 2015.10.2.2213 RTM or not?
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2015, 11:04:17 PM »
Thanks DavidR . I did see your post and I should have explained more thoroughly.
I've just got another prompt popping up telling me, "An update to your version of avast is now available..."
"a new version of the program (2015.10.2.2213) is available."
I click to upgrade, steps 1 & 2, "updating statistics" and then"Already up to date. 2015.10.2.2209 - there is no such version.
I guess I'm doubly annoyed because the "cloud" product has a similar glitch. (2015.10.0.2504 vs 2015.10.1.2504)


Much confusion earlier on, but now the avast 2015 R2 version has been released https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=167184.0 and the final version number has been changed 2015.10.2.2214.

That said it still doesn't look like the all of the update servers have been updated as my win7 netbook, which hasn't been used for beta builds reported 2015.10.0.2208 was up to date.

A further manual check appears to be downloading, however it is very slow and may even be stalled.

That said, on my XP Pro system which has been used in the beta and RC builds has just thrown up a popup program update available.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1639
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: Is 2015.10.2.2213 RTM or not?
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2015, 03:02:10 PM »
2 down (i.e. updated to 2015.10.2.2214), 1 recalcitrant.
Avast Free 2015.10.0.2209 calls itself 2015.10.2.2209 after every failed update attempt.
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3722
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Is 2015.10.2.2213 RTM or not?
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2015, 03:49:22 PM »
Have you tried to manualy update the VPS and close the GUI ? That should fix it !

https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=167184.msg1189704#msg1189704

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec