Author Topic: Basic question for a basic user  (Read 2665 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Basic question for a basic user
« on: October 11, 2005, 09:01:11 PM »
First I want to apologize for my english which is probably horrible... I hope I will be understandable...
I use to have a demo version of Avast and I recently bought a full version...

My problem is that when I upgrade the Virus data base or the programme I have not the window I use to have...

On the last version It was something like
"Your data base is curently up to date"
Download8.avast.com
Number of files downloaded = x

Now I 've just a window which tells me that "x seconds elapsed during instal" I'm not sure that he really upgrade anything...

Offline Abraxas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 730
  • Perseverance Furthers...
    • PCLinuxOS-Forums
Re: Basic question for a basic user
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2005, 09:27:51 PM »
wis welcome to the Forum!  :)
If you are familar with the Home (free) version of Avast! try going through your settings and make sure you have everything configured as before.
START>PROGRAMS>AVAST! ANTIVIRUS. Then select SETTINGS;from the simple user interface check through and see they are o.k.
Go to UPDATE (BASIC) and select AUTOMATIC.
It's advisable to have Automatic Updates 'Enabled' .
From reading your post it sounds that maybe you are 'Manually' updating, which should be O.K. but could be where your problem lies.
Also, as a quick remedy, try going to ADD/REMOVE programs in Windows CONTROL PANEL  and selecting Avast!, then select  Option> REPAIR. This will re-install Avast! and update  in case there's been an error with your installation.

Offline wis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Basic question for a basic user
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2005, 10:16:35 PM »
Thanks for answering so quickly, there were no result after I've repaired AVAST
So I decided to upgrade AVAST from the same menu...
It seems to say that I've the latest version of the Pgr/VDB etc...

So my opinion is that It is a bug of the french full version that do not mention on the "log" window (after upgrades)
    How many files have been updated
    On which servor did the upgrade takes place
    etc...

what do you think about it ?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Basic question for a basic user
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2005, 10:45:23 PM »
So my opinion is that It is a bug of the french full version that do not mention on the "log" window (after upgrades)
No, it's not a bug...
Just dig a little bit more into avast settings (or into the help file) and you'll find it.
Right click the 'a' blue icon and choose Program Settings.
Then Update (Basic) tab, click Details.
There you can choose 'Normal' update and see the progress of updating  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline wis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Basic question for a basic user
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2005, 12:13:13 PM »
Hi, the problem is that i'm already in 'Normal' Update as you say...
here is what I see when I go in the avast log viewer (in Warning...not error but anyway...)...

11/10/2005 20:42:54   Wis   1616   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0xC0000005, dwRes is C0000005. 
11/10/2005 20:54:27   Wis   1616   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0xC0000005, dwRes is C0000005. 
11/10/2005 21:45:45   Wis   3012   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0xC0000005, dwRes is C0000005. 
11/10/2005 22:03:52   Wis   3012   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0xC0000005, dwRes is C0000005. 
12/10/2005 12:04:12   Wis   2696   Function setifaceUpdatePackages() has failed. Return code is 0xC0000005, dwRes is C0000005. 


I'm still perplex may be it's time for me to go and say hello to Kaspersky...

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Basic question for a basic user
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2005, 03:12:32 PM »
here is what I see when I go in the avast log viewer (in Warning...not error but anyway...)...
Why are you worried about it? Just verbose of the logs...
Isn't your computer being updated after all?  ::)
The best things in life are free.