Author Topic: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails  (Read 6257 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline _seven_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« on: September 07, 2015, 10:11:39 AM »
Hi

I noticed that I can neither connect through SecureLine VPN nor sign in to account (Displayed error: The online content is unavailable) but when I disable Avast firewall these issues are resolved. I also added avastui.exe manually to the firewall allowed list (Rule: Allow all in/out connections) but yet I have problem in connecting and signing in while firewall is on.

Using Avast IS 2015 and Windows 8.1 Pro firewall is disabled at the moment.

Any help is really appreciated.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2015, 10:15:05 AM by _seven_ »

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3729
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 01:18:00 AM »
Hi _seven_ :)

No, you shouldn't have to make a firewall rule for SecureLine in AIS.
So this is really strange for me as well.

If you have saved your AIS and SafeZone license files, you could try a clean install of AIS.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline _seven_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2015, 08:19:45 AM »
Hi _seven_ :)

No, you shouldn't have to make a firewall rule for SecureLine in AIS.
So this is really strange for me as well.

If you have saved your AIS and SafeZone license files, you could try a clean install of AIS.

Greetz, Red.

Thanks Rednose, but it's just for 2 days that I installed avast after some years. Do I really have to reinstall it again?

Offline _seven_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2015, 08:26:52 AM »
This is SecureLine.log content while SecureLine is trying to connect with having Firewall on:

Code: [Select]
Tue Sep 08 10:50:49 2015 --- SecureLine driver is installed
Tue Sep 08 10:50:49 2015 --- StateConnecting
Tue Sep 08 10:50:49 2015 --- slw-lon
Tue Sep 08 10:50:50 2015 --- OVPN: OpenVPN 2.3_git Windows-MSVC [SSL (OpenSSL)] [LZO] [PKCS11] [eurephia] [IPv6] built on Apr 21 2015
Tue Sep 08 10:50:51 2015 --- OVPN: UDPv4 link local: [undef]
Tue Sep 08 10:50:51 2015 --- OVPN: UDPv4 link remote: [AF_INET]77.234.43.88:1194
Tue Sep 08 10:50:52 2015 --- OVPN: WARNING: this configuration may cache passwords in memory -- use the auth-nocache option to prevent this
Tue Sep 08 10:51:08 2015 --- OVPN: [lon36.ff.avast.com] Peer Connection Initiated with [AF_INET]77.234.43.88:1194
Tue Sep 08 10:51:10 2015 --- OVPN: do_ifconfig, tt->ipv6=0, tt->did_ifconfig_ipv6_setup=0
Tue Sep 08 10:51:10 2015 --- OVPN: open_tun, tt->ipv6=0
Tue Sep 08 10:51:10 2015 --- OVPN: TAP-WIN32 device [Ethernet 2] opened: \\.\Global\{A44A6F31-BDC9-4F06-8C39-DDECA6782DAD}.tap
Tue Sep 08 10:51:10 2015 --- OVPN: Set TAP-Windows TUN subnet mode network/local/netmask = 100.100.48.0/100.100.48.48/255.255.240.0 [SUCCEEDED]
Tue Sep 08 10:51:10 2015 --- OVPN: Notified TAP-Windows driver to set a DHCP IP/netmask of 100.100.48.48/255.255.240.0 on interface {A44A6F31-BDC9-4F06-8C39-DDECA6782DAD} [DHCP-serv: 100.100.63.254, lease-time: 31536000]
Tue Sep 08 10:51:10 2015 --- OVPN: Successful ARP Flush on interface [10] {A44A6F31-BDC9-4F06-8C39-DDECA6782DAD}
Tue Sep 08 10:53:17 2015 --- OVPN: WARNING: Failed to renew DHCP IP address lease on TAP-Windows adapter: The semaphore timeout period has expired.   (code=121)
Tue Sep 08 10:53:17 2015 --- OVPN: [lon36.ff.avast.com] Inactivity timeout (--ping-restart), restarting
Tue Sep 08 10:53:17 2015 --- OVPN: SIGUSR1[soft,ping-restart] received, process restarting
Tue Sep 08 10:53:19 2015 --- OVPN: UDPv4 link local: [undef]
Tue Sep 08 10:53:19 2015 --- OVPN: UDPv4 link remote: [AF_INET]77.234.43.88:1194

and this loop continues.

Offline _seven_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2015, 03:11:36 PM »
1- Uninstalled AIS
2- Deleted left directory completely
3- Restart Windows
4- Installed AIS
5- Restart Windows

Yet SecureLine doesn't connect while Avast Firewall is On (stuck in connecting to server) it will connect immediately on turning off Avast Firewall.

Update #1

While SecureLine is connected (and Firewall is off), if I turn Firewall on again it will block SecureLine VPN and network will switch back to its origin
« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 03:16:17 PM by _seven_ »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45412
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2015, 04:02:09 PM »
To totally remove Avast, you should have used the Avast Removal Tool after the regular uninstall in Programs and Features.
You can download the removal tool from: https://www.avast.com/en-us/uninstall-utility
What AV program did you use before installing Avast and how was it removed ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline _seven_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2015, 04:05:50 PM »
I've been using Avira Antivirus!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45412
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2015, 04:10:37 PM »
I've been using Avira Antivirus!
To properly remove Avira, follow the link in my signature for Successfully Installing Avast.
It is important to totally remove one AV before you install another. More than one resident AV is never a good idea.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline _seven_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2015, 05:08:07 PM »
Steps I took:

1- Downloaded Avira uninstall tool
2- Downloaded Avast uninstall utility
3- Uninstalled Avast Internet Security 2015 (Normal)
4- Restarted to Safe Mode
5- Ran Avira uninstall tool (It worked well as I saw removed keys from registery in details pane)
6- Ran Avast uninstall utility (Finished successfully)
7- Restarted Windows
8- Installed Avast Internet Security 2015
9- Shutdown Windows (wait 10 seconds)
10- Started Windows

Weird! Exactly the same problem is out there. I can't use SecureLine while Avast firewall is on. I sent SecureLine log already.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45412
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2015, 05:15:20 PM »
My Secure Line is on a system that uses the free version of Avast so it's using the Windows 10 firewall
and I have no problems connecting through Secure Line.
I've alerted Avast let's see if they have an answer.
 

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline _seven_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2015, 05:43:24 PM »
Yes, it seems the problem only exists with Avast firewall. At the moment some logs are available that they show, firewall somehow blocks avast servers. I just got these logs of blocked traffics type. Please see both images.


Offline _seven_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2015, 05:56:23 PM »
Notice: Openvpn.exe couldn't be seen in firewall live "Network Connections" window when only firewall is on.

Offline RedvonBaron

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • RedvonBaron
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2015, 05:59:08 PM »
Really not trying to hijaak this thread but I just joined and the forum search tools really stink...
A Google search for "Avast firewall blocking vpn" returns very old and unuseful posts with no solutions!

I'm trying to find out why my VPN:
  (Client - PPTP from Win7 MS connection)
  (Server -  ASUS RT-AC68U setup for PPTP default)
isn't working unless I also disable Avast Firewall.

I'm using AIS 2015 v10.3.2225 (paid version)
If someone can direct me to where to move this post to that would be great. TIA

Offline moroni

  • Avast team
  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 632
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2015, 06:11:47 PM »
Hi _seven_!

This is really strange. Could you please open a ticket from within the application using the ? symbol in the top-left corner of the Avast window?
This will both create a support ticket and generate a support package we can use to investigate it.

Thank you!

Offline _seven_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: SecureLine connecting and built-in account login fails
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2015, 06:19:21 PM »
Hi _seven_!

This is really strange. Could you please open a ticket from within the application using the ? symbol in the top-left corner of the Avast window?
This will both create a support ticket and generate a support package we can use to investigate it.

Thank you!

Hi Moroni, I created a ticket with referring to this topic as well as explaining the main issue.

P.S. It was at top-right corner.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 06:21:12 PM by _seven_ »