Author Topic: Problems with Web Shield  (Read 8789 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline HeeHaw5130

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problems with Web Shield
« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2006, 06:41:15 PM »
From Roko:
Quote
Did you have ZoneAlarm installed at any time and uninstalled it?

I had problems like yours with Web Shield. I tried it all and all failed. Then I found that one file from ZoneAlarm was still on my PC after uninstalling it more than a year ago. So if you had ZoneAlarm and uninstalled it, try if the file "vsdatant.sys" is still on your PC. If so, boot XP in save mode and delete the sucker. It solved all my problems, no kidding.
Now that you mention it, I do remember uninstalling Norton Antivirus 2002 (v8.something-something, can't remember) several days ago just before installing Avast!. Since then, Spybot S&D has been giving me registry change alerts from its TeaTimer resident task about four registry changes that are always being deleted at startup which are related to NAV 2k2. These four values are always the same and are always being deleted at startup as I always allow Spybot to allow this to happen. I'm still trying to find a way to get rid of whatever it is that's causing this, but have found no success so far.

Here are the values that always delete at startup (as recorded from Spybot's TeaTimer records):
"NAV Agent" (new data: "") deleted in System Startup global entry!

"Symantec NetDriver Monitor" (new data: "") deleted in System Startup global entry!

"ScriptBlocking" (new data: "") deleted in System Startup global entry!

"{42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6}" (new data: "") deleted in Global browser toolbar!




Would anyone know what's causing this to happen?
Fricken' Symantec......

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7085
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re: Problems with Web Shield
« Reply #16 on: January 14, 2006, 04:28:25 AM »
***

Go to Symantec's website and download the correct un-installer for your version. That's the easiest way to get rid of all of the registry entries that their program installs. Just un-installing the program alone will not get rid of the registry entries. That is where the problem is.    >:(

http://search.symantec.com/custom/update/query.html?filter=all&nh=10&hitsceil=100&st=1&context=gbh&qt=uninstaller

Hope this helps you!    :)


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline HeeHaw5130

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problems with Web Shield
« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2006, 06:58:01 PM »
***

Go to Symantec's website and download the correct un-installer for your version. That's the easiest way to get rid of all of the registry entries that their program installs. Just un-installing the program alone will not get rid of the registry entries. That is where the problem is.    >:(

http://search.symantec.com/custom/update/query.html?filter=all&nh=10&hitsceil=100&st=1&context=gbh&qt=uninstaller

Hope this helps you!    :)


***
Man, this really sucks. I did download the correct uninstaller program, ran it and removed all remaining files and registry entries. Then I deleted anything else even remotely related to Symantec or Norton. After restarting, I tried it again and I'm still getting the same problem.

Are there any other ideas I can try out? I'm not going to give up on this just yet.

Offline RJARRRPCGP

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Problems with Web Shield
« Reply #18 on: January 18, 2006, 01:38:22 AM »

Hi HeeHaw

I also am having Web Shield problems  (See my thread: "NetGear Router will not work with web Shield)  For some reason NetGear will not work with the connection setting~~address 127.0.0.1 port 12080

With those Web Shield settings in, have you tried disconnecting NetGear and hard wiring through your DSL/cable to see if you can then connect to the Internet?  If you can connect to Internet without NetGear being hooked up, then I would think that NetGear just won't accept those settings, and that is the problem. 

Hope this helps!!

DizzyBlonde :)



It's obvious that it's blocking 127.0.0.1, which is bad news, because this problem can even stop some non-internet apps from being usable! 

I already know of a couple of applications that require 127.0.0.1:

Racer (http://www.racer.nl)

and

O&O Defrag
Asus A7V8X-X motherboard BIOS 1005 (5/8/2003)-Athlon XP T-bred 2400+-512 MB PC2700 DDR SDRAM-Maxtor 60 GB 6Y060P0 HDD-eVGA GeForce 4 Ti 4200 64 MB DDR -SoundBlaster Audio PCI 128-Antec True 430 power supply-

Offline HeeHaw5130

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Problems with Web Shield
« Reply #19 on: January 20, 2006, 09:20:59 PM »
But how is it my other two machines able to get through, seeing as my other wireless machine is a laptop running with near-identical settings and configuration?

Offline flyboy_2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Problems with Web Shield
« Reply #20 on: February 05, 2006, 08:48:10 AM »
Same issues here. I setup the connection settings for manual proxy settings of localhost and port 12080 as shown in the Avast online guide. I did this for both Firefox and MSIE. As soon as Web Shield is enabled, I have no internet access. I have tried turning Windows firewall off, but it makes no difference. I am behind a NAT router (D-link), but according to Avast, this makes no difference.

The ONLY way I can get access on port 80 (ie: www), it to disable Web Shield. Strange.

 :-\
Network+ / Linux +