Author Topic: Avast Beta 17.4.2294  (Read 21200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hectic-mmv

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 240
Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« on: April 28, 2017, 03:00:36 PM »
Hi everyone,

new beta version 17.4.2294 is here  8).
 
What's new:
- fixes and things under the hood
- fixed several crashes in web shield
- fixed crashing setup during VPS update on 32b OSes

 
Download links:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179943.0


Enjoy this beta!
We are looking forward to your feedback.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2017, 09:10:50 AM by hectic-mmv »

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2017, 04:22:07 PM »
Thanks for the update! Went smooth as usual.

EDIT:
Same on second PC.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2017, 07:20:16 PM by Lord_Ami »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2017, 04:52:42 PM »
Testing it asap...
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5460
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2017, 06:48:21 PM »
Thanks for the new beta ;D
Desktop: Win10 Pro 22H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 32GB RAM / Avast 23 Premium Beta(Icarus) / Comodo Firewall
Notebook: Win10 Pro 22H2 64bit / Core i5-3340M 2.7GHz / 12GB RAM / Avast 23 Free / Windows Firewall Control
Server: Win11 Pro 23H2 64bit / Core i3-4010U 1.7GHz / 12GB RAM / Avast One 23 Essential

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88791
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2017, 06:59:26 PM »
Just updated from the UI of 17.4.2293.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3739
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2017, 12:22:00 AM »
Thnx guys :)

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 17 / Debian 12 / Tails 5
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Threat Protection ( Lite )

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2017, 08:35:57 AM »
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5460
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2017, 09:31:20 AM »
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Desktop: Win10 Pro 22H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 32GB RAM / Avast 23 Premium Beta(Icarus) / Comodo Firewall
Notebook: Win10 Pro 22H2 64bit / Core i5-3340M 2.7GHz / 12GB RAM / Avast 23 Free / Windows Firewall Control
Server: Win11 Pro 23H2 64bit / Core i3-4010U 1.7GHz / 12GB RAM / Avast One 23 Essential

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2017, 11:26:00 AM »
tested with Avast Beta 17.4.2294,
 :(Nothing is fixed the problem ( https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=199732.0 ).

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2017, 05:37:26 PM »
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Hi NON, seems you're on the right track. Cheers.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88791
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2017, 06:32:59 PM »
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Hi NON, seems you're on the right track. Cheers.

Mine appears fine as I hadn't done a context scan in some time.

I have however found another bug (the Invisible Smart Scan), after boot I opened the UI to check if the same issue as yours was present but mine was OK.

I did however notice that there was the Red circle with '1' over the Bell (notifications), clicking that it reports Smart Scan - 'We found some issues.' Well I never ran a Smart Scan and as per previous issue No Report in Scan History or entry in the log file.

The is getting frustrating avast fix something and seem to break something else, though I did find and report this in 17.4.2293.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2017, 06:47:21 PM »
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Hi NON, seems you're on the right track. Cheers.
Mine appears fine as I hadn't done a context scan in some time.
After rebooting the system, the entry/bug (Reply #6) is gone. (Didn't try to reproduce it yet)
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2017, 06:51:48 PM »
I have however found another bug (the Invisible Smart Scan), after boot I opened the UI to check if the same issue as yours was present but mine was OK.

I did however notice that there was the Red circle with '1' over the Bell (notifications), clicking that it reports Smart Scan - 'We found some issues.' Well I never ran a Smart Scan and as per previous issue No Report in Scan History or entry in the log file.
Hi Dave, can't reproduce this one. The funny thing is, I don't get any notifications after running a scan at all.
Wonder, if this is another bug or just a sloppy workaround for the smart-scan rescan issue...
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88791
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2017, 07:00:23 PM »
I have however found another bug (the Invisible Smart Scan), after boot I opened the UI to check if the same issue as yours was present but mine was OK.

I did however notice that there was the Red circle with '1' over the Bell (notifications), clicking that it reports Smart Scan - 'We found some issues.' Well I never ran a Smart Scan and as per previous issue No Report in Scan History or entry in the log file.
Hi Dave, can't reproduce this one. The funny thing is, I don't get any notifications after running a scan at all.
Wonder, if this is another bug or just a sloppy workaround for the smart-scan rescan issue...

Sloppy may well be the case in getting rid of one bug only to create another. Given that my test system is my XP Pro SP3 desktop, as it has the greatest protection and a really robust backup and recovery strategy. And some had been reporting issues with XP, but I didn't suffer with them.

However, I did experience this in the last beta and reported it also in the 17.4.2293 beta, https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201164.msg1389908#msg1389908.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.8821.762) UI 1.0.796/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76038
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
« Reply #14 on: April 29, 2017, 09:49:40 PM »
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Hi NON, seems you're on the right track. Cheers.
Mine appears fine as I hadn't done a context scan in some time.
After rebooting the system, the entry/bug (Reply #6) is gone. (Didn't try to reproduce it yet)
OK, just tried it again and this bug is reproducible.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0