Author Topic: [PROBLEM REPORT] Avast Internet Security is blocking our Windows server randomly  (Read 2520 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aibz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Avast Internet Security version 17.4.2294 (release date 5/3/2017)

We have a small Windows network, single subnet, Windows 2012r2 AD server.  This network/server has been running for the last 2 years. 

We have used Avast Internet Security on our desktops for 3+ years.

As of about 2 months ago: 

Randomly, server will "disappear".  No ping, no windows browsing, nothing.

Pinging all other devices works fine.  Server can ping everyone just fine except affected desktops.

Disabling Avast is the only way to bring it back. 

I have removed and re-installed Avast.  Version is current as of 10 minutes ago.

WTH else can I do?  Avast firewall CLEARLY does not like our windows server.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2017, 08:39:05 PM by aibz »

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37106
Re: Avast Pro is blocking our Windows server randomly
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2017, 05:42:08 PM »
Quote
Avast Pro version 17.4.2294 (release date 5/3/2017)
Avast free and pro does not have a firewall

Avast Premier and Avast Internet Security have firewall



« Last Edit: May 03, 2017, 05:54:31 PM by Pondus »

Offline aibz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast Pro is blocking our Windows server randomly
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2017, 05:55:59 PM »
Quote
Avast Pro version 17.4.2294 (release date 5/3/2017)
Avast free and pro does not have a firewall

Avast Premier and Avast Internet Security have firewall

Corrected.  We have Avast Internet Security.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37106
Re: Avast Internet Security is blocking our Windows server randomly
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2017, 06:00:12 PM »
Does it help if you turn OFF port scan?

Avast UI -> Protection -> Firewall -> Settings -> Advanced -> Uncheck "Enable automatic port scan detection"


Offline aibz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast Internet Security is blocking our Windows server randomly
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2017, 06:30:32 PM »
Does it help if you turn OFF port scan?

Avast UI -> Protection -> Firewall -> Settings -> Advanced -> Uncheck "Enable automatic port scan detection"

i'll try that.

Offline aibz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast Internet Security is blocking our Windows server randomly
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2017, 06:40:11 PM »
Here is the firewall log.

192.168.1.10 is the server (hosts DNS)
192.168.1.250 is the desktop system

These are the blocked traffic logs. 

192.168.1.0 - 192.168.1.255 is listed as a friendly network.  nothing should be blocked.

why is it blocking my server?


Offline aibz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast Internet Security is blocking our Windows server randomly
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2017, 07:04:53 PM »
Does it help if you turn OFF port scan?

Avast UI -> Protection -> Firewall -> Settings -> Advanced -> Uncheck "Enable automatic port scan detection"

i changed it and rebooted.  no good. 

still blocking our local windows server.

it "unblocks" when i disable all the avast shields/fw

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72204
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.9.6660.IBC [UI.670] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.15 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 94.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.13 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.85
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Online NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4904
  • Whatever will be, will be.
If you set Firewall profile to "Public", then try changing it to "Private". There was a case this solved similar issue.
Main: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 21 Premium Beta(Icarus) / Comodo Firewall (testing again)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-3340M 2.7GHz / 8GB RAM / Avast 21 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。