Author Topic: Automatic Updates  (Read 15080 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2004, 01:08:38 PM »
According to the Windows docs, error code 274D stands for "No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it". Interesting...

Can you manually access the server www.iavs.cz in your browser (i.e. does the link work)?

Do you use a proxy server while connecting to the web? Are the proxy parameters set up correctly?
« Last Edit: January 05, 2004, 01:09:22 PM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline b.j.

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #16 on: January 05, 2004, 08:20:25 PM »
No, I am not using a proxy server and yes, the link works in my browser.
Hope you can figure this out.

b.j.

Offline kubecj

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1123
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2004, 01:05:08 AM »
0x274D = 10061 = Connection refused
0x2AF9 = 11001 = Host not found

Both usually mean some serious problems with internet connection. Does it matter if you do a manual attempt?

Does Test button in proxy settings work as expected?
Jindrich Kubec

Offline Gaia Lives

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • In Wildness is the salvation of mankind--Thoreau
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #18 on: January 07, 2004, 06:06:23 AM »
This is getting a little confusing, with others who have a similar problem also responding.

Yes, I can connect to www.iavs.cz and from there manually download an update.
 
No, I can't get the downloard to work by manually starting from the Avast! icon-right click-select update approach, nor can I get it to work by starting Avast! and clicking on the lightening bolt icon.  (This did suceed a couple of days ago, however.)

I access the Internet via Earthlink, an ISP provider, on a dial up line.  I am not currently running a firewall.  There is no proxy server or network involved.   I don't know what you are referring to with the Test button, but if it has to do with a proxy server, perhaps it's not relevant to my situation.

Recently, I have been unable to SEND e-mail, though I can receive it fine.  I have no idea why this should be as I have not done anything that would change the e-mail settings that have worked fine for a long time.  Our outgoing phone line is dicey at times, but this has not been an issue lately.

Thanks for your continued efforts.

Offline luiss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #19 on: January 07, 2004, 06:24:12 PM »
hello friend. I cannot update avast, completes time was day 2, either today I can, I imagine that the problem was fixed as your you say we are patient, this text this translated automaticamente

 ::)

Offline Gaia Lives

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • In Wildness is the salvation of mankind--Thoreau
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #20 on: January 07, 2004, 07:16:33 PM »
The problem with my outgoing e-mail turned out to be changes in the smtp server settings required by the ISP.  That problem is solved, and my attempt at an  update just now got the same "server down" response.

My log file looks similar to the post from BJ, but here is a copy, in case it helps.

07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Started: 07.01.2004, 11:00:38
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Running setup_av_pro-121 (289)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 system: Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 1.0 [Service Pack 1]
07.01.2004 11:00:38 system: Computer WinName: DELPHI
07.01.2004 11:00:38 system: Windows Net User: SYSTEM
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Cmdline: /downloadpkgs /noreboot /silent /progress
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: DldSrc set to inet
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Operation set to INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Old version: 118 (280)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
07.01.2004 11:00:38 system: Computer DnsName: Delphi
07.01.2004 11:00:38 system: Computer Ip Addr: {removed--good idea BJ!)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 internet: SYNCER: Type: -1
07.01.2004 11:00:38 internet: SYNCER: Auth: 0
07.01.2004 11:00:38 package: Part prg_av_pro-121 is installed
07.01.2004 11:00:38 package: Part vps-31203 is installed
07.01.2004 11:00:38 package: Part news-29 is installed
07.01.2004 11:00:38 package: Part setup_av_pro-121 is installed
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Old version: 118 (280)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 file: SetExistingFilesBitmap: 182->110->79
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: GUID: 1b12af62-50eb-497d-ac24-bd6c9894b61c
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'mirror': 0 (maint:0)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 5 (maint:0)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: SelectCurrent: selected server 'Main AVAST server' from 'main'
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Entered SetupProcessPro::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
07.01.2004 11:00:39 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
07.01.2004 11:00:39 general: Entered SetupProcess::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
07.01.2004 11:00:39 general: progress thread start
07.01.2004 11:00:39 general: progress start - 1
07.01.2004 11:00:39 general: progress start - 2
07.01.2004 11:00:40 package: ERROR:HttpGetWinsock, WinsockTcpConnect() returned 0x0000274D
07.01.2004 11:00:40 package: ERROR:HttpGetWinsock, WinsockTcpConnect() returned 0x0000274D
07.01.2004 11:00:40 package: Tried to download servers.def but failed with error 20000004
07.01.2004 11:00:40 general: progress end - 1
07.01.2004 11:00:40 general: progress end - 0
07.01.2004 11:00:40 general: progress thread end
07.01.2004 11:00:40 general: Err:Server download1.avast.com (66.98.166.72:80) is down.
07.01.2004 11:00:40 general: errordlg: 375,187

It also suggests that it's not just www.aws.cz  since this attempt went to download1.avast.com.


Offline b.j.

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2004, 09:04:04 AM »
OK, this is a firewall issue.
I was running the XP firewall. I disabled it and installed ZoneAlarm as my firewall. Now all is well, and avast! updates proceed normally.
I don't understand this, as I had been using the XP firewall since I installed XP and also began using avast! at the same time. Something has obviously changed, but I'm not sure what.
b.j.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2004, 11:49:03 AM »
OK, this is a firewall issue.
I was running the XP firewall. I disabled it and installed ZoneAlarm as my firewall. Now all is well, and avast! updates proceed normally.
I don't understand this, as I had been using the XP firewall since I installed XP and also began using avast! at the same time. Something has obviously changed, but I'm not sure what.
b.j.

Hmmm  ::) I'm using both XP firewall and ZoneAlarm (togheter) and everything is working  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline Gaia Lives

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • In Wildness is the salvation of mankind--Thoreau
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #23 on: January 11, 2004, 06:14:17 AM »
I was not using a firewall up until a couple of days ago, so this doesn't explain anything in my case.

However, on the first try, I was able to update using the Avast system tray icon's update selection.  The report also indicated that I was one edition more up to date than the last time I looked.  I have to assume that the really automatic update worked sometime in the last couple of days.

I did just re-activate Zone Alarm, so like BJ, I have a different result with Zone Alarm running than I had before.

Have the geniuses at Avast fixed something without telling us, or is there something therapeutic about running Zone Alarm?  

Will we ever find out the answer to the mystery?

Will Ross and Rachel ever get together?

« Last Edit: January 11, 2004, 06:18:43 AM by Gaia Lives »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2004, 03:44:27 PM »
I have both avast and ZoneAlarm Free working fine together.
First I installed ZoneAlarm and then avast!
What are your versions for both programs?

The last build for avast is 4.1.319 and for ZoneAlarm Free 4.5.538.000

If your results are different with ZoneAlarm on, is it well configurated?  ;)
The best things in life are free.