Author Topic: Automatic Updates  (Read 15016 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gaia Lives

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • In Wildness is the salvation of mankind--Thoreau
Automatic Updates
« on: December 26, 2003, 04:57:29 PM »
Dobry Den!

I'm sorry if this has been addressed previously, but I have searched and been unable to find it.

When I right click on the Avast! circle icon, or answer 'yes' when the message announcing new updates comes up, I get the following error message:
 "Server www.asw.cz (195.70.130.34:80) is down"  followed by a list of explanations.

When I connect to www.avast.com, and manually download the update, it works fine.

Is there something wrong with the Czech address?  Is there a way to manually reconfigure the address automatic update is using?

Thanks.  

There are a lot of posts on this board, but I had no problems installing Avast! and it seems to be working flawlessly, except for this one minor problem.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2003, 06:18:37 PM »
Gaia,

Simple question, but not simple answer.
There can be many different reasons why the auto update does not work.
From the basic info you provided, I would not worry since manual update seems fine.

Exactly what was the content of the message?  Did it ONLY inform you that a new update was available?

Do you have Avast configured for Auto update of the database?

There is nothing wrong with the Cz server.  Avast will normally try each of 3 different servers for the update, and believe it or not can use more than one to obtain it.
(One server verifies an update is needed, then should Avast not be able to communicate, Avast moves to the next to actually obtain the data).  This is one reason why setting it to only one server would not be good.

Do you use a firewall?  It must be set to allow Avast access.

Lets start with the questions above first.  It should not be a hard thing to fix.

techie

Offline rudiger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2003, 08:45:41 PM »
I have exactly the same problem since 14 days.
I did -> Add Remove Programs -> Avast -> Change -> update
The log file gives an error 'HTTPGetWininet'

how to fix this?

Offline Pavel

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4305
  • Nostalgia isn't what it used to be...
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2003, 10:49:52 PM »
When I right click on the Avast! circle icon, or answer 'yes' when the message announcing new updates comes up, I get the following error message:
 "Server www.asw.cz (195.70.130.34:80) is down"  followed by a list of explanations.

When I connect to www.avast.com, and manually download the update, it works fine.

There might be a problem in reaching any of our server (www.asw.cz this time) from your place. This could have many reasons - problems on our side, problems on your side, problems of our ISP, problems of your ISP, problems somewhere between us :).

We use several servers so at least some of them should be reacheable all the time. And if sometimes some update does not make it through, please be patient and retry this soon - it should work then !!

Pavel
All of us could take a lesson from the weather. It pays no attention to criticism.

Offline rudiger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2003, 08:10:14 PM »
I can't get this ...
my update isn't work since two-tree weeks ...it tooks server by server (all tree of them) ..none of them are reachable ..there must be an other reason for the problem ..all other thinf function well (mail, server, http, ftp etc)

I believe if i'can't update the scanner ..i'm not good proteted,
I use the trial ..nothing tells me here when i buy one, the problem isn't still holding

do i need to get another one?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2003, 01:29:13 AM »
I can't get this ...
my update isn't work since two-tree weeks ...it tooks server by server (all tree of them) ...none of them are reachable

It's imposible, the updates are coming to everybody, each Tuesdays and Thurdays without any trouble. Could you ping the avast! servers?

 http://www.asw.cz/iavs4pro (IP: 195.70.130.34)
 http://www.avast.com/iavs4pro (IP: 64.246.6.135)
 http://www.iavs.net/iavs4pro (IP: 207.44.156.15)
 http://www.iavs.cz/iavs4pro (IP: 62.168.45.69)
The best things in life are free.

Offline rudiger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2003, 01:01:34 PM »
Hi,
for all the 4 ip's -> same ping error message:

transmit failed - errorcode 65

Offline bassbag

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2003, 03:12:11 PM »
Sounds like a firewall , or maybe proxy sever blocking the update requests.Do you use such programmes?.Also can you remember if you installed uninstalled any such prog in the last few weeks?
me

Offline rudiger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2003, 03:33:13 PM »
I have zonealarm somethimes on or off ... Avast did always the job well.
Win XP firewall is off

On install ..avast was detecting Internet Norton Security, that program was on this PC long time ago .. Avast did work before well. I have serach the win registry for norton keys on this .. i couldn't find one .

One off my last install programs are IE 6.1, Messenger 6.1, MDAC 2.8

Maybe i should take a look in the task manager ..but what/where do I looking for?

thanks in regards
Rudi

Offline bassbag

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2003, 03:41:24 PM »
I dont use ZA but can you check the application list that Nothing from avast is being blocked.Also i believe ZA has somesort of content sites/ads blocking features?.If so check logs that nothings being blocked there from avast.Also check in tools>internet options>security that no thing from avast is in restricted sites.
me

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2003, 06:36:05 PM »
Right now, my results were:

 http://www.asw.cz/iavs4pro (IP: 195.70.130.34) > 100% loss

 The others works perfectly without any loss:
 http://www.avast.com/iavs4pro (IP: 64.246.6.135)
 http://www.iavs.net/iavs4pro (IP: 207.44.156.15)
 http://www.iavs.cz/iavs4pro (IP: 62.168.45.69)

I use Windows XP Pro SP1, ZoneAlarm and XP firewall in ON.
So, I think you have a trouble with your connection... Maybe you can uninstall and install avast again but I can't think what is going on...  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline Gaia Lives

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • In Wildness is the salvation of mankind--Thoreau
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2004, 05:00:18 AM »
Gaia,

Exactly what was the content of the message?  Did it ONLY inform you that a new update was available?

It Says, "A new version of avast! is available on the web.  Click here to downloar."

When I "click here" it takes me to the www.asw.cz website but I get the error message, "Server www.asw.cz (195.70.130.34:80) is down."  I get this EVERY time.  

Do you have Avast configured for Auto update of the database?

I'm not sure.  Where would I check?

Do you use a firewall?  It must be set to allow Avast access.

No firewall.


Thanks for the help.  

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2004, 03:45:19 PM »
Do you have Avast configured for Auto update of the database?
I'm not sure.  Where would I check? Thanks for the help.

You can right click the system tray icon, Start avast antivirus, right click into the skin (main application), choose settings, than go to Update (Basic) page and choose Automatic for program updates and/or only database (VPS) updates.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Gaia Lives

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • In Wildness is the salvation of mankind--Thoreau
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2004, 07:21:59 PM »
That was fun.  I had assumed that Avast was always running in the background and I didn't need to "start" anything.  I did as you suggested and found I was not set up for automatic updates, and I reset it.  

Then I clicked on the little lightening bolt icon to "update" and got the same error message that says the server is down.  I did this repeatedly and eventually had received the same message with refererence to 4 servers (207..., 195..., 66..., 216...)

I have also been noodling around and looked into the log files and found that there have been nearly daily attempts to update that are not manually started by me.  One, on January 3, is different from the rest, and reports several files were downloaded and vps udated to 31203.  This one has the line "selectcurrent: selected source 'tmp.sfxstorage' from 'sfx.'  

All the others list other servers in this line, followed by the error message, "http get WINSOCK, WINSOCKTCPConnect() returned 0X0000274D" and a second line that is the same, or similar.  Then, "Tried to download servr.def but failed with error 20000004."

The 'returned' part is either 0X0000274D or 0X00002AF9, or both.  The error number is always the same.

FYI, I'm running windows XP with service pack 1, via a dial up connection.  I don't have anything other than my Mozilla browser running at these times.

Now I'm concerned I didn't set the software up correctly in the beginning and may not have been protected for the last couple of months.  HELP!

Offline b.j.

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re:Automatic Updates
« Reply #14 on: January 05, 2004, 03:24:46 AM »
I am having the same problems. It has been going on for weeks. Automatic updates fail with a "server is down" message. I cannot even do a manual update-- same results. I am running the built-in XP firewall only.
Here is the log for the last update I tried (for security reasons I have removed my IP address):

04.01.2004 18:15:54 general: Started: 04.01.2004, 18:15:54
04.01.2004 18:15:54 general: Running setup_av_pro-130 (304)
04.01.2004 18:15:54 system: Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 1.0 [Service Pack 1]
04.01.2004 18:15:54 system: Computer WinName: BLACK
04.01.2004 18:15:54 system: Windows Net User: SYSTEM
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Cmdline: /downloadpkgs /noreboot /silent /progress
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: DldSrc set to inet
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Operation set to INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Old version: 130 (304)
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
04.01.2004 18:15:55 system: Computer DnsName: black
04.01.2004 18:15:55 system: Computer Ip Addr: {removed}
04.01.2004 18:15:55 internet: SYNCER: Type: -1
04.01.2004 18:15:55 internet: SYNCER: Auth: 0
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: Part prg_av_pro-130 is installed
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: Part vps-31100 is installed
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: Part news-2d is installed
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: Part setup_av_pro-130 is installed
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Old version: 130 (304)
04.01.2004 18:15:55 file: SetExistingFilesBitmap: 182->103->103
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: GUID: aeb334b1-d6d2-4211-adfe-1a5ef7a56aa5
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'mirror': 0 (maint:0)
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 5 (maint:0)
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: SelectCurrent: selected server 'Secondary ASW server' from 'main'
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Entered SetupProcessPro::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32Avast::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Entered SetupProcess::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress thread start
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress start - 1
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress start - 2
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: ERROR:HttpGetWinsock, WinsockTcpConnect() returned 0x0000274D
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: ERROR:HttpGetWinsock, WinsockTcpConnect() returned 0x0000274D
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: Tried to download servers.def but failed with error 0x20000004
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress end - 1
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress end - 0
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress thread end
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Err:Server www.iavs.cz (217.31.49.10:80) is down.
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: errordlg: 375,181