Author Topic: Problems since downloading lastest Avast Anti-virus update (May 2019)  (Read 1572 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline payneboys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
My computer has been extremely SLOW booting up -- I think it has to do with the Antivirus, as my Windows 8.1 Action Center warns me that there is no antivirus protection on and asks me to choose it. Every. Time. Once I check the boxes, it gradually gets to where the systems run normally and I have no other issues. Is Avast not starting on its own when my computer turns on?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6079
  • When you think you know, Think Again
You have posted in the "BETA" forum. Are you running a beta installation?
If so is it the latest version?
The stable version forum and latest release is here:https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=227342.0
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premier 19.7.2388 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB/Mbam 4/Secureline b. 5.4/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premier BETA 19.8.2391 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB beta/Secureline b 5.4/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2000)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL>

Offline payneboys

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Not running Beta. Just couldn't locate the regular forum! Thank you! And I apologize!

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41482
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
It is most likely Spybot S&D that's preventing the change to occur.
Spybot has a module that prevents change from happening.
Disable Spybot the do the following:

Repair & Clean Install of Avast https://goo.gl/t7aJGq
Repair Avast:
Open the Avast User Interface > Menu > Settings > Troubleshooting > Repair App. > Restart the Computer or,
Control Panel> Program and Features (Add/remove program)>Select Avast> Select Repair. Reboot when completed
https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB204

If Repair doesn't fix the problem, try the following:
If your Avast settings are not the default settings and you want them restored after the Clean Install, follow this before removing Avast.
https://goo.gl/TXjM7h
Clean Install of Avast:
https://goo.gl/4Ptzkf
If you need additional help with the Clean Install, watch this:
https://youtu.be/p-h3myRD51A
After things are  back to normal, you can re-enable Spyboy.
I personally would simply remove that program. Avast already protects you against Malware.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6079
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Not running Beta. Just couldn't locate the regular forum! Thank you! And I apologize!

NO worries. ;)
I agree with Bob on Spybot SD. Not needed and can be troublesome.
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premier 19.7.2388 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB/Mbam 4/Secureline b. 5.4/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premier BETA 19.8.2391 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB beta/Secureline b 5.4/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2000)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL>