Author Topic: Create a Mobile Hotspot using Windows 10  (Read 427 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dean90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Create a Mobile Hotspot using Windows 10
« on: July 21, 2019, 05:51:04 PM »
Hi there,
I'm trying to extend my WiFi range by using my PC as a mobile hotspot.
These seems easy enough using Widows 10 as its just a question of turning the mobile hotspot on.
My phone can detect the hotspot and connect with no problem but comes up with a message saying the internet may be down.
After a bit of trial and error I've found that if I shut down the Avast firewall then I can connect to the hotspot and access the internet.
Does anyone know what I need to do to allow access past the firewall?
The only clue I have is that when I turn the hotspot on then "Host Process for Windows Services" pops up as being blocked under "Apps recently managed by your Firewall". I've tried to use my meager knowledge to unblock this but it still comes up as blocked.
Can some one help please.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36375
  • Weihrauch Airguns
Re: Create a Mobile Hotspot using Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2019, 05:57:47 PM »
Is your firewall network profilen in puplic or private mode?

If not already done, try setting it to private and reboot ..... did that work?






Setting up Firewall Application Rules in Avast Antivirus
https://support.avast.com/en-eu/article/Antivirus-Firewall-Application-Rules

=================================================================

NOTE:The Network profiles control the settings which determine how strictly Firewall protects your PC.

Private: a lower level of security suitable for when your PC is connected to a trusted network such as your home or work network.
This profile enables better connectivity, and permits all communication within the network.

Public: a higher level of security suitable for when your PC is connected to a public network such as in a cafe or airport.
Because public networks present greater security risks, no incoming communication is permitted when this profile is set.

=================================================================




« Last Edit: July 21, 2019, 06:06:55 PM by Pondus »

Offline Dean90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Create a Mobile Hotspot using Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2019, 09:54:25 PM »
Sorry for the delay in responding.
The network was set to public so I've set it to private, shut down the computer, left it a couple of minutes and resarted it again.
I've confirmed the setting still said private but it still not letting me connect to the wifi. The Wifi network is showing on my phone but when it tries to connect it just says 'Internet may not be available'.
When the fire wall was shut off, I could connect to the wifi network without any problem.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36375
  • Weihrauch Airguns
Re: Create a Mobile Hotspot using Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2019, 10:11:09 PM »
maybe some of the info posted here by @BWith can help

https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=227130.msg1505540#msg1505540



Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6205
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Create a Mobile Hotspot using Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2019, 10:13:18 PM »
Not to make to fine a point of it and may make no difference but a "Shutdown" is not the same as a "Reboot" ;)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premier 19.8.2393 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB/Mbam 4/Secureline b. 5.5/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premier BETA 19.9.2394 /VS 5.02(WC)/ASB beta/Secureline b 5.5/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION ALL>

Offline Dean90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Create a Mobile Hotspot using Windows 10
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2019, 10:55:13 PM »
@Bwith's instructions that Pondus pointed out seems to have worked. Thanks
Also thanks to schmidthouse for pointing out the difference between shutdown and reboot. I've always thought I was being more thorough when I shut down instead of rebooting.
Thanks for all your help, very much appreciated.