Author Topic: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled  (Read 5948 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fssbob2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
"Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« on: December 17, 2019, 07:24:15 PM »
Under Preferences / Personal Privacy there is a setting "Allow usage data to be shared with 3rd parties for analytics". By default it is checked. I can uncheck it; however, as soon as I restart my Mac it is checked again.

Avast Mac Version 14.3 / MacOS 10.15.2

Offline guillaumelou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2019, 11:39:02 PM »
Hi,

I don't have this trouble with mine. Avast Security 14.2

PS : Sorry didn't see it was with 14.3....just have seen the release, will try this.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2019, 11:42:43 PM by guillaumelou »

Offline guillaumelou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2019, 12:13:42 AM »
SAme here with 14.3 / Mac OS 10.12.6

Offline fssbob2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2019, 12:33:50 AM »
The difference could be MacOS Catalina. I know there are increased restrictions about what can be saved where. It's possible that's resulting in the setting not getting saved.

Offline guillaumelou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2019, 02:05:08 AM »
The difference could be MacOS Catalina. I know there are increased restrictions about what can be saved where. It's possible that's resulting in the setting not getting saved.

I'm still running Sierra...

Offline lukas.hasik

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 865
  • Product manager of Mac AV and Cleanup
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2019, 10:38:43 AM »
Hi, thanks for the report. We'll test it. It looks like a bug.
Quality is also a feature.

Offline fssbob2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2019, 06:33:13 PM »
Thanks. Given the current controversy in this area, might be good to get it fixed before one of the computer mags misinterprets it as being intentional.  :)

Offline lukas.hasik

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 865
  • Product manager of Mac AV and Cleanup
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2019, 07:44:46 PM »
fssbob2, exactly! However, we were not able to reproduce it :( Any other hints that might help? Is it just this one checkbox that is reset after restart?
Quality is also a feature.

Offline fssbob2

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2019, 08:19:59 PM »
Were you using MacOS Catalina?

I tried checking "Open Avast Security when my computer starts up." It stayed checked after restart.

I tried removing/reinstalling Avast Security, and then unchecking "Allow usage data". Once again it was checked after restart.

By the way, I noticed that after the removal/reinstall, the Avast Online Security Chrome extension WAS NOT reinstalled. I had to reinstall it manually. I believe that previously the Avast Security installer had automatically done that. (It still has a step for Chrome Extension, but it didn't appear to actually work.)

Thanks.

Offline guillaumelou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2019, 10:14:33 PM »
fssbob2, exactly! However, we were not able to reproduce it :( Any other hints that might help? Is it just this one checkbox that is reset after restart?

Hi, no sorry no other hints.... it's the only checkbox that is reset after restart. Didn't notice an other bug !

Offline drake145

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2019, 03:44:21 PM »
fssbob2, exactly! However, we were not able to reproduce it :( Any other hints that might help? Is it just this one checkbox that is reset after restart?

Hi Lukas - I am also experiencing this in Catalina (Latest release 10.15.2). It appears to be the only checkbox reset after a re-start.

Edit: Added Catalina version number and additional details.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2019, 01:09:41 AM by drake145 »

Offline guillaumelou

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2019, 03:39:00 PM »
Not only with Catalina. I have the same with Sierra 10.12.6

Offline Maness

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2020, 10:24:27 AM »
Exactly same problem here, the option is enabled after each restart.
- Avast v14.3
- macOS Mojave v10.14.6


Given the current controversy in this area, might be good to get it fixed before one of the computer mags misinterprets it as being intentional.
Honestly, it could be. Especially when, for instance for their browsers add-ons, they clearly state they "need" to collect all kind of data amongst their users... Way more than what they really need....

Offline lukas.hasik

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 865
  • Product manager of Mac AV and Cleanup
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #13 on: January 03, 2020, 02:05:30 PM »
thx for your help with identifying the issue! Our QA found it. This will be fied into next release. Sorry for inconvenience.
This checkbox is used for turning on/off Google Analytics reports of UI usage.
Quality is also a feature.

Offline Dennis46

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: "Allow usage data to be shared" always reverts to enabled
« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2020, 01:18:15 PM »
Hi,

I have this same issue and I'm using Mojave 10.14.6.  By the way ... It's already hit the CNET newsletter and some other software newsletters I receive by email.  You may want to get this fixed in a hurry to protect your reputation.

Dennis