Author Topic: Runtime Error! (R6034)  (Read 23408 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2007, 07:15:51 PM »
1. No, Microsoft Visual Studio is not installed

2. If you mean clicking without visiting the website: there is no error.

3. will follow soon

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2007, 07:23:36 PM »
Here is the output of Process Explorer:


Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2007, 07:29:20 PM »
These are the foreign modules that are loaded in the process:

~DF6E71.tmp
DM2.dll
RollWindows.dll   

Do you know what they belong to? And can you please please send (the DLL files) them to my email address? (you can find out their full path by double-clicking on them in the Process Explorer lower pane).

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2007, 07:41:50 PM »
I do not know the first one (looks like a temporary one) the others belong to DM2 (http://dm2.sourceforge.net/)
With DM2 closed the Error still occurs, but the DM2.dll and the RollWindows.dll are not in the list.
The ~DF6E71.temp is in my %TEMP% folder.

Mail is sent

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #19 on: January 10, 2007, 09:52:32 PM »
Hmm, neither of the files seems relevant... :-\

What I'm looking for is someone that's loading the msvcr80.dll library. This library should NOT be there (and before the Runtime error message occurs, it's probably not - can you pls confirm?)

This is the Microsoft C++ runtime library from Visual Studio 2005. Any idea who installed it and how it got loaded to the avast process?


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #20 on: January 11, 2007, 12:23:27 AM »
Crazy, the dll is loaded from my TeX installation directory??

...TeX\texmf\miktex\bin\msvcr80.dll

I will rename it there and check for changes in reaction of avast.

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #21 on: January 11, 2007, 12:30:42 AM »
The Error is not displayed after renaming msvcr80.dll to msvcr80.dll.sv

So this dll is the reason for the Error. The TeX dir is in PATH variable so this could be a reason why it is found.

But what should I do now?
The dll is probably needed by at least one program of the MikTeX distribution otherwise it would not be there.

(after rerenaming the dll the error is displayed again)

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11811
    • AVAST Software
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #22 on: January 11, 2007, 12:52:27 AM »
The fact that it's in PATH doesn't explain why it's loaded there... the modules are loaded by name and avast! doesn't use msvcr80.dll at all (it uses msvcr71.dll).
I haven't been following MikTeX lately, but I wouldn't expect it to load into other processes... it's mostly a bunch of console apps ;)

Is there any reference to this particular path (miktex\bin\msvcr80.dll) in registry?
Is there actually any reference to miktex path in registry (except for the main miktex key, and maybe associations like Yap)?

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #23 on: January 11, 2007, 01:21:55 AM »
1. miktex\bin\msvcr80.dll is nowhere in the registry
(msvcr80.dll is found at [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\SideBySide\PatchedComponents] in 2 Keys starting with %windir%\winsxs\...)

2. as mentioned the MikTeX directory is in the PATH Variable
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment] "Path"

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #24 on: January 11, 2007, 01:25:38 AM »
As a brute force method, could you please try searching the whole hard drive for the occurences of files that have the string msvcr80.dll in them?

This should give us an idea about who might be loading it into the avast address space...

I know it's a bit of a nuisance (and time consuming) - but can be quite effective.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #25 on: January 11, 2007, 01:28:41 AM »
Here are all occurences for all drives:

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #26 on: January 11, 2007, 01:45:51 AM »
Well, I didn't really mean occurences of the file (i.e. search by file name) but occurences of the string "msvcr80.dll" inside any files (i.e. search by file contents)....

I hope I'm being clear. :-[

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #27 on: January 11, 2007, 01:48:15 AM »
Sorry, did not read well, it is late already. Search will last longer for string search, but it is in progress...

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #28 on: January 11, 2007, 01:49:35 AM »
You know what? Let's first try ListDlls... please simulate the problem once more and than run ListDlls (it's a command-line tool) http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/ProcessesAndThreads/ListDlls.mspx and post the output here (you can redirect listdlls' output to a file by typing something such as

listdlls > out.txt

and than posting out.txt).

Thanks
Vlk

Edit: if the search is already running, no need to abort it, it may be useful as well. ;)
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Quelb

  • Guest
Re: Runtime Error! (R6034)
« Reply #29 on: January 11, 2007, 02:10:01 AM »
The listdlls does not finish when Runtime Error is displayed!

It stops the listing. The last lines are
ashDisp.exe pid: 740
Command line: "C:\PROGRA~1\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashDisp.exe"

But after clicking "OK" the msvcr80.dll is not loaded by ashDisp.exe any longer.