Author Topic: Why is the update error panel being shown?  (Read 5733 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Why is the update error panel being shown?
« on: April 08, 2007, 03:40:04 PM »
I'm experiencing a problem with the red update error panel being shown when I go off-line (turning off the cable modem).
My settings seems to be ok for NOT showing this panel...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Why is the update error panel being shown?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2007, 03:10:11 AM »
Any help?  ??? ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89428
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Why is the update error panel being shown?
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2007, 03:58:32 AM »
I did start to reply but expanding the image left me wondering why it could happen when you specifically excluded it.

I don't know if your having it on Silent may over ride the other options, but then that follows if it were on silent mode, why isn't it silent.

I mean do the three option you have ticked work 'show update progress', Show icon in task bar' and ask for boot, etc I would have thought silent would mean silent.

I guess we will have to wait for some Alwil input.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3870
  • Just an avast user
Re: Why is the update error panel being shown?
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2007, 06:21:10 AM »
Tech,

it is Easter (Happy Easter to you).  I do not know how it is in Brazil (it is not a holiday here in the US) but for almost everyone in Europe (apart from avast addicts like David) it is a 4 day holiday ... so let the Alwil folks have their spring break.   

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Why is the update error panel being shown?
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2007, 02:47:57 PM »
I do not know how it is in Brazil
It's three days holiday, from Friday to Sunday.

P.S. Coming back to the subject: this problem started with the beta (as far I know) and when the 'priority' of the updates have been decreased.
The best things in life are free.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2247
Re: Why is the update error panel being shown?
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2007, 07:20:48 PM »
I run into that error too sometimes, and I think just in the last version or two, so I suspect it does have something to do with that priority change.

I'd commented in one or two other threads that maybe the update-icon doesn't appear (on my system, anyway) unless and until the updater has successfully connected to an update server.  So now before I disconnect, I'll open process manager (or equivalent) to see if Setup is currently running, otherwise I could run into all kinds of problems in addition to that error popup.  In particular, Disk Cleanup won't run (nor will a lot of other shortcuts), and disconnection takes forever.

(Edit) Actually Process Explorer says that Cleanup is actually running, but there's no button in the taskbar for it.  And "Bring to front" simply pops up a message that there's no window for it.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 07:24:41 PM by MikeBCda »
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Why is the update error panel being shown?
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2007, 07:35:17 PM »
I'd commented in one or two other threads that maybe the update-icon doesn't appear (on my system, anyway) unless and until the updater has successfully connected to an update server.
There is no icon on system tray...
Just the damned panel every time I disconnect from Internet :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Why is the update error panel being shown?
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2007, 03:39:58 AM »
 :'( :'( :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11655
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Why is the update error panel being shown?
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2007, 12:21:42 PM »
Will be fixed soon.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Why is the update error panel being shown?
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2007, 04:16:44 PM »
Will be fixed soon.
Good to know that the problem could be reproducible 8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Why is the update error panel being shown?
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2007, 07:06:08 PM »
If it helps, just to mention that the panel is not dismissable, I mean, it does not disappear at all: the user must click on it and then dismiss the message box with the error message that comes after it.
The best things in life are free.